Roast The WCE Subi Experience

I don't think the atmosphere is anything special at all, and to be honest a lot of our members are just embarrassing - but people get carried away when comparing us to the crowds of other teams. I've been to plenty of Freo games, as well as footy games outside Perth plus other sports in Perth and elsewhere. You'd think Freo home games were like Anfield before and during Liverpool vs Manchester City a month or two back. They aren't.

Remember when we beat Geelong and North? According to the Scott sisters our crowd is the most parochial in the country. Subi Oval is not somewhere you want to bring your children! Fast forward and we're playing like arse again and we're back to being champagne sipping theatre goers who only clap if Naitanui takes mark of the year. FFS.
Completely agree with everything you said.

Back in 2004-2007 the Eagles crowds were vocal and intense. Each game had a real must-win feel to it, because obviously the higher on the ladder you finish the more likely you are to get 2 home finals. So at the beginning of the match just as the siren sounded before the first bounce, you could hear the crowd getting wound up and excited. The games against the big teams, derbies and finals all had an electric atmosphere. And the noise that was made in round 11 against Carlton after being 44 points down was deafening as Embley kicked the goal to put us in front. Even a Carlton workmate of mine who was there said its the loudest crowd he had ever heard.

Fast forward to this season and there is hardly a whimper around the ground. The reason - Eagles fans arent fake. We are not going to buy into the stupid SGIO chants or the Rick the Rock 3 quarter time rev up crap. If we know weve got a shit hopeless team that are getting pumped, we will attend the match and cheer when the team actually gives us something to cheer about. But were not a bunch of brainwashed hippies at some backwater religious cult that will mindlessly behave the way people think we should. We went into Sunday nights game having lost 5 out of the last 6 matches, with our only wins being against lowly bottom 4 teams. Our membership base knows exactly whats happening this season, so you could excuse the lack of roar before the game started. The last 3 quarters were a blight on our teams history and successful winning culture that we have developed over 25+ years, and there was little to cheer about. We were playing embarrassing football.

So its unfortunate that you didnt enjoy yourself on Sunday night thorne and werent able to take part in a raucous, vibrant and enthused atmosphere that you obviously want when you only get to go to games once in a blue moon. But our team has been playing shit, they played like shit that night, and our fans behaved accordingly. The best thing about AFL matches is the atmosphere is REAL and not some fake basketball crap with someone on a loudspeaker telling us when and how to cheer or clap.

If you want someone to be annoyed with - direct it at the players, admin and coaches. At least our crowds are more loyal than those Port Adelaide flogs who dropped to sub 15k attendances when they were crap and had to use bay covers, but now have suddenly ballooned up to 50k this season. Ive been a member since 1998, and anyone who was there during the finals window between 2002 and 2007 can vouch for how enjoyable the atmosphere was at the home games in that era. And what else do you expect? Win = happy, vocal, fun. Lose poorly = quiet, unhappy, not so fun. Its simple emotion.

Fast forward to this season and there is hardly a whimper around the ground. The reason - Eagles fans arent fake. We are not going to buy into the stupid SGIO chants or the Rick the Rock 3 quarter time rev up crap. If we know weve got a shit hopeless team that are getting pumped, we will attend the match and cheer when the team actually gives us something to cheer about. But were not a bunch of brainwashed hippies at some backwater religious cult that will mindlessly behave the way people think we should.

So much this. I find myself pretty much entirely unable to enjoy attending any sports games in the USA because of the ridiculous amount of staged chants or forced singing. Why on earth clubs decide to treat their audiences like preschoolers is beyond me.

Some valid points.

Have to admit I did prefer attending Eagles games in Melbourne, even though we did lose most of them for the 5 years I was there.

This.

I really rate the WCE expat crowd (must be ~5K of us) who go along to the away games here. We're quite dispersed around the ground but seem a pretty passionate bunch, in most cases out vocalising the home crowd.

Another cherry on top of the thank-heck-i-live-in-melbourne-not-perth-anymore cake.

This.

I really rate the WCE expat crowd (must be ~5K of us) who go along to the away games here. We're quite dispersed around the ground but seem a pretty passionate bunch, in most cases out vocalising the home crowd.

Another cherry on top of the thank-heck-i-live-in-melbourne-not-perth-anymore cake.

Each to their own. City v City debates are kinda stupid, it is what you make of it.
But saying that...

Wednesday Sunny. Max 22
Thursday Partly cloudy. Min 10 Max 23
Friday Sunny. Min 11 Max 23
Saturday Mostly sunny. Min 12 Max 24

Wednesday Showers developing this afternoon. Max 17
Thursday Morning shower or two. Min 11 Max 17
Friday Partly cloudy. Min 9 Max 16
Saturday A few showers. Min 11 Max 16

Know where I would rather be. Golf this Saturday sounds nice :)

I have to say being an Eagles supporter in Melbourne is actually more enjoyable than being in Perth. The crowd is very predictable in Perth. We lose, we ark up, we win, we remain mildly polite.

At least there's a bit more dynamics here, and honestly being a Vic-based supporter I get to watch the game with less rose-coloured glasses around me and actually can assess how shit we're playing.

I've been going to the Eagles games since 1995, when I was 10 years old, and to be honest, nothing has changed. They have tried a few different things over the years as far as half time entertainment etc but it just doesn't work.

For me, espeicially these days, I go to watch the footy, I don't go for cheap laughs (although of late the team gives me that) or to be "entertained" by some hack from a singing contest, we watch the game, cheer and clap, yell things, boo people:D and then at the end of the quarter, stand up, stretch your legs, try not to spill your beer down the backs of the people in front of you, and then do it all over again. Come half time, a masisve chunk of the crowd get up, go down to get food and drinks, take a piss, go outside and have a smoke etc, so I reckon half time entertainment is not really worth it. We usually just watch the auskick kids run around and fall over each other and then before you know it, it's the teams turn to come back out and run around, and fall over each other!

As far as the atmosphere goes, it's hard to be fired up after the last few years, and going to the game, basically knowing we are going to put in an insipid performance makes it hard to be enthusiastic and loud. I got the worst death stare from an old granny late in the last when Lecca took a mark in the forward line, and I said, now watch him miss. It's like I killed her dog!! He missed, I laughed and said well that's what we do at the eagles, we miss easy goals.

In the end the whole experience is stale and getting old, but subi oval has little to do with it for mine, the utter shit that the players are dishing up it was ruins it for me.

I have to say being an Eagles supporter in Melbourne is actually more enjoyable than being in Perth. The crowd is very predictable in Perth. We lose, we ark up, we win, we remain mildly polite.

At least there's a bit more dynamics here, and honestly being a Vic-based supporter I get to watch the game with less rose-coloured glasses around me and actually can assess how shit we're playing.

Have to agree with this. I've only been to a few games in Melbourne the last few years, a few of my mates have moved over in the last 2 years, so I will most likely go over at least once or twice a year now. It's nice to be able to walk to the G and almost be the odd one out in your eagles gear, and then go into the G and sit basically anywhere you want and watch the team amongst opposition & also a fair few neutral supporters too.

Seeing the boys play live in the wings also helps!!!

It's going down-hill. I only get to a couple games at Subi a year, 1~3 or so, so I only get a partial view of the season's games, but its been going downhill over the last few years from what I can see. Only been to the Doggies game so far this year and there's just no life in the crowd.

Now, I know, the team has been overpromising, underdelivering in terms of its potential, and putting a poor team to the sword means little when we're unable to get the job done any time the heat is on. But come on, when your team is rolling late in a game, surely you can get excited... Becoming a very desultory experience.

I was at the Saints game at Etihad last year; that was a pretty good performance from the local supporters. Our end went out of their gourds in a most satisfactory manner when E-Mac kicked that final goal. ;)

Each to their own. City v City debates are kinda stupid, it is what you make of it.
But saying that...

Wednesday Sunny. Max 22
Thursday Partly cloudy. Min 10 Max 23
Friday Sunny. Min 11 Max 23
Saturday Mostly sunny. Min 12 Max 24

Wednesday Showers developing this afternoon. Max 17
Thursday Morning shower or two. Min 11 Max 17
Friday Partly cloudy. Min 9 Max 16
Saturday A few showers. Min 11 Max 16

Know where I would rather be. Golf this Saturday sounds nice :)

Yes Perth has infinitely better weather, on that point there is no debate.

As for the rest.....well..... ;)

The general lack of knowledge from the crowd was staggering. The lady behind me was very harsh on 'Xavier Clarke' all night, especially when he was subbed out for 'Tony Hill'.

My favorite part. This happens at every ground though. Its one of the worst and best things at the same time!
:D

Agree with a lot of the OP except for Rick the Rock

He isn't there for the adults, he is there for the kids. I took my 6 year old and he loved it.

The whole 50+ is becoming an issue. My old man had a crack at me for jumping out of my seat and celebrating a goal.

This a bloke who grew up with country footy sinking beer at the bar and yelling out at the SWFL.

Needless to say I ignored him.

I will say though, I'm fairly loud, however from the first bounce I'm pretty quiet as the game starts - a combination or nerves and wanting to see the game unfold

I've been going to the Eagles games since 1995, when I was 10 years old, and to be honest, nothing has changed. They have tried a few different things over the years as far as half time entertainment etc but it just doesn't work.

For me, espeicially these days, I go to watch the footy, I don't go for cheap laughs (although of late the team gives me that) or to be "entertained" by some hack from a singing contest, we watch the game, cheer and clap, yell things, boo people:D and then at the end of the quarter, stand up, stretch your legs, try not to spill your beer down the backs of the people in front of you, and then do it all over again. Come half time, a masisve chunk of the crowd get up, go down to get food and drinks, take a piss, go outside and have a smoke etc, so I reckon half time entertainment is not really worth it. We usually just watch the auskick kids run around and fall over each other and then before you know it, it's the teams turn to come back out and run around, and fall over each other!

As far as the atmosphere goes, it's hard to be fired up after the last few years, and going to the game, basically knowing we are going to put in an insipid performance makes it hard to be enthusiastic and loud. I got the worst death stare from an old granny late in the last when Lecca took a mark in the forward line, and I said, now watch him miss. It's like I killed her dog!! He missed, I laughed and said well that's what we do at the eagles, we miss easy goals.

In the end the whole experience is stale and getting old, but subi oval has little to do with it for mine, the utter shit that the players are dishing up it was ruins it for me.
This and only this. I'm in the same boat, joined up by my parents as a lil tucker. I've seen cheerleaders, Eddie the Eagle, the leaping eagle and now rick the rock. From Slim Jim and the Phatts to Slim Jim screaming "Who Wants a DVD PLAYERRRRR!" to Langdon trying to introduce a shitty GO EAGLES GO Chant that just doesn't work (the crowd would be better of chanting EEEEEEEEEE-Agles).

The Subi experience sucks because the stadium is out dated and old and the team is under performing. I'm not too fussed with what goes on at half time or pre game, So long as the team puts in effort. Yes we have an old crowd but these are some of the most loyal fans. Yes they don't know whats going on sometimes and they are getting a bit old but they are coming week in week out at an average crowd that is still higher than some clubs get in a good year.
we have to applaud their dedication to the club. The club doesn't help itself though, it doesn't engage the crowd properly (know your demographic and how to motivate them) and Langdon definitely doesn't know how to do this.

Personally at the new stadium I think there should be the cheer squad behind the goals, but there needs to be blocks sprinkled throughout the crowd of rowdy sections, that the eagles encourage fans to dress up and be as noisey as possible.

From the perspective of someone who is getting old (already is) and has been to games irregularly since 1987 until 2012. When the team is up and about so is the crowd but when the team is shit the groaners take over

Personally I was guilty of carrying on like a pork chop when I was younger but as I've gotten older I made a conscious decision to dial it back a few notches and concentrate more on watching the game and less on embarrassing myself. Yep I'd cheer goals and jump to my feet at times when we kicked one but gone was the uncontrolled fervour that probably contributed to the atmosphere.

We need more young people there less concerned with how they carry on as older people are naturally more reserved

The only entertainment I need at a footy game is from the players. That is all I want and expect.
Unfortunatly our players are crap so not much entertainment on display.
I have been to many Eagles games where the house has been rocking, swings and roundabouts. We are down as a club in general.

But don't understand what other entertainment you are expecting when you go to a footy game???

From the perspective of someone who is getting old (already is) and has been to games irregularly since 1987 until 2012. When the team is up and about so is the crowd but when the team is shit the groaners take over

Personally I was guilty of carrying on like a pork chop when I was younger but as I've gotten older I made a conscious decision to dial it back a few notches and concentrate more on watching the game and less on embarrassing myself. Yep I'd cheer goals and jump to my feet at times when we kicked one but gone was the uncontrolled fervour that probably contributed to the atmosphere.

We need more young people there less concerned with how they carry on as older people are naturally more reserved

When you look at the distribution of Eagles access memberships across Adult, Concession and Junior, it is completely out of whack with other clubs. There's a lot of fresh blood we're missing.

Totally agree with the OP.

ChampRevesby and I were at a game a moth or so ago and we actually got a dressing down from the lady in front of us along the lines of:

"Why are you so critical"
"You should blindly follow the club"
"Go Priddie, Go"

To which Champ responded "You do it your way and we will do it ours"

Shut her up pretty quick!

Most of the people in our block are either knitting or asleep! (I am not joking about the knitting!) We have been seated members since 2008 and I think that I would have spoken to the nanna next to me about twice!

Apologies if some of these points have been raised in the past, but given I don't attend many games, I was shocked by how lame the experience was.

First of all, the crowd. I have been to local footy games with more atmosphere than that. I understand the crowd being deflated late when we were being pumped, but the start of the game was so quiet and flat that you could have heard a pin drop. It was pathetic. Compare it to the noise levels and excitement you get at Dockers games and it is even more humiliating.

The average age must be about 50. Surrounded by a bunch of old fogies who shook their heads when I yelled and tried to get into the game, half had their headsets in and just sat there for the whole game. It may sound incredibly harsh but the games will be much more fun when the generational changeover is complete at the new stadium.

The general lack of knowledge from the crowd was staggering. The lady behind me was very harsh on 'Xavier Clarke' all night, especially when he was subbed out for 'Tony Hill'.

What's the Eagles name? Rick? That shit they had him doing at 3/4 time on the big screen was laughable. Dancing like an absolute dick and making an absolute fool of the brand.

'GO EAGLES GO' had about as much success as playing hip hop at an old folks home.

As for the cheer squad, they were easily drowned out by the Norf counterparts for the whole night. The one time they tried for more than one minute to pump up the crowd was at the start of the 4th, when the game was gone, but the fearless leader obviously got tired from all that banging after 20 seconds and gave up.

It honestly felt like amateur hour. Nothing about the night got me excited for the game and while I was there, the atmosphere was more like a funeral than a football game. Won't be upset if I don't return this year because it was a pretty horrible night.

Security walking up and down my row every two minutes didn't do much to add to the welcoming feel either.

/rant

So what can we do to improve the match experience? Can we actually get some decent pump up music? Get a mascot who looks better and doesn't prance around like a twat? Any ideas?
totally agree...hate our crowd.

When you look at the distribution of Eagles access memberships across Adult, Concession and Junior, it is completely out of whack with other clubs. There's a lot of fresh blood we're missing.
The problem is people have to stop thinking it's these 'old' members fault. When really it has been the stadiums fault. Macroscopically it has been great for WA football (allowing Freo to grow) but from a West Coast perspective this new stadium can't come soon enough so we can start growing our membership again.