Social Science Things that please me - Part 3

Not really sure that it pleases me but not sure where else to put it.

Yesterday morning just after I arrived at work I had a phone call from somebody claiming to have found my keys in the Bunnings car park. I asked him how he knew they were mine. He said that they had my name and phone number on them. I was a bit puzzled because I have never put my name and number on a set of keys. I guessed it was a scam and told him that I didn't think they were mine and hung up. About five minutes later I get a call from Bunnings customer service saying that someone has handed in a set of keys that belong to me. I told her that I didn't think they were mine but would come and have a look after work. About five minutes later I get a call from someone claiming to have found my keys in the car park at Stocklands (a local shopping mall). I was getting a bit annoyed by this stage, convinced it was a scam, and told her that they weren't mine and hung up. I told a workmate when he came in and he couldn't help but smile. I then knew that he had something to do with it. He then confessed that before work he had driven around town randomly dropping off old sets of keys that he had put my name and number on. I had about 8 more calls during the day. This workmate and I prank each other frequently and he said that this was payback for an April Fools prank I played on him, which worked surprisingly well as I thought he would have clued on to the fact that it was April the 1st but didn't.
Thats gold. :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy: :thumbsu:

During the Big Lockdown I found a set of keys just down the road from our local (closed) gym. Obvious business keys, car key, two fitness club tags.

Neither of the fitness clubs were open (surprise!) so I left voicemails and sent them facebook messages. Eventually one got back to me, I explained, and asked them to contact the member and get them to ring me to have them returned.

A few days later they rang back, said they were old keys and the member didn't want to talk to me and wanted the keys destroyed. Which I did.

Then I wondered if they'd done something to piss off that gym, and it occurred to me that they were probably an instructor that had left them and gone elsewhere. Oh well, I tried...

Prompted by utility in another thread.

Death Race 2000.

It has everything!

Bigger and cheesier than Fat Pizza. Sly Stallone racing in a pink silk tie. Boobies! Lulz! Laffs! Carradine vs Stallone in a fight! More boobies! Jawdropping puns! Visual gags! Boobs! And the kind of ending that makes Game of Thrones Season 8 look great.

One of the greatest things to come out of 1975. Highly recommended.

Just got my shutters and blinds put in....it looks fantastic
I helped the guy so it saved him 3 hours (saved me 3 hours too)

When the guy first came round to measure he was a pedantic OCD prick who hoped he was retired before he had to come back and do our job and so did we

Today he was lots of fun, we got on real well...... but its nice to not have men in the house

and he was a Hawthorn supporting regional Qlder who was born and bred here

Only the sparky 2 more times (last call is for the chandelier in the hallway) and the plumber (who is a mate to go)

Then I can get on with my hermit lifestyle

Im currently getting quotes for shutters - did you use a National company or small business

can you fix the insulation ?
I knew it would be a lot better than the old one but I'm amazed at how well the new heater holds water temp.

If I eventually get solar panels could definitely just heat up the 200l in the middle of the day and it would easily last right through.

I knew it would be a lot better than the old one but I'm amazed at how well the new heater holds water temp.

If I eventually get solar panels could definitely just heat up the 200l in the middle of the day and it would easily last right through.

just put your house on stilts so youre closer to the sun that will keep your water warm

Insulation is your usual yellow batt around the outside with a thin sheet steel outer.

It might as well be on all the time, being 40 litres it has next to no thermal mass and keeping it at 70deg takes an inordinate amount of power.
Isn't 70 a bit high?

Prompted by utility in another thread.

Death Race 2000.

It has everything!

Bigger and cheesier than Fat Pizza. Sly Stallone racing in a pink silk tie. Boobies! Lulz! Laffs! Carradine vs Stallone in a fight! More boobies! Jawdropping puns! Visual gags! Boobs! And the kind of ending that makes Game of Thrones Season 8 look great.

One of the greatest things to come out of 1975. Highly recommended.

tenor.gif

I WFH today and tomorrow.

Went to log in this morning and couldn't get in. Thought it'd be back about 9.

Manager called at 3.15pm saying the computers aren't gonna be working. So I have essentially had a day off without having to use annual leave.

The only drawback of all of this I need to go into the office tomorrow. Could be worse I suppose.

Picked up a whole lot of strawberry plants ready to plant out my Mexican pyramid of Strawberries

They grow most the year up here except wet season

Just have to watch out for the cockchaffers