Things that please me - Part 5

Part 6 is over there:

Clarkson's Farm is a good eye opener to how tough farming is. I know its in England but the same weather issues and lack of government assistance is very similar. Dairy farming is even more razor thin profit margins

As someone who knows nothing about farming, **** farming for a joke. I have a mate that does it here on a small farm by WA standards and the money involved is insane. Hey would you like to borrow $1m so that in 6 months time if the weather is right and the market is good you might make more than $1m back? No, no I would not.

Clarkson's Farm is elite. I know our conditions even in prime farming areas are not like the UK but if I had a hobby farm here I would be as useless as he is.

Clarkson's Farm is a good eye opener to how tough farming is. I know its in England but the same weather issues and lack of government assistance is very similar. Dairy farming is even more razor thin profit margins

And lots of things you can and can't do.

Seems to be alot of red tape.

Farming is hard yakka not just in the paddocks.

That's everything now.

Growing up we had chooks. Pretty common in a semi rural area. I looked up the rules and regs of having them where I live now and if everyone followed every single rule no one would be able to do anything let alone have a couple of hens pecking around. I know they are more like guidelines and if you have 11 chooks and the council says you can only have 9 no one is really going to care compared to if you have hundreds but there are so many policies and procedures.

That's everything now.

Growing up we had chooks. Pretty common in a semi rural area. I looked up the rules and regs of having them where I live now and if everyone followed every single rule no one would be able to do anything let alone have a couple of hens pecking around. I know they are more like guidelines and if you have 11 chooks and the council says you can only have 9 no one is really going to care compared to if you have hundreds but there are so many policies and procedures.

Speaking about chooks.
Eggs seem to be on the shelves now.
After the bird flu.

How much people take thing for granted

Same few year back with the potato shortage.

Eales was captain for 55 tests, Gregan 59. That was the era 1996-2007. Since then 14 players have been captain for 10 tests or fewer. After Michael Hooper finished up (dumped by Eddie Jones) in 2023 with 69 tests as captain there have been 8 captains with no one doing it for more than 15 tests. What a shit show. The All Blacks by comparison have had 4 captains since 2006.

Rugby has fallen apart here on many levels. Super Rugby debacle (3 to 4 to 5 to 4 to 5 and back to 4, RIP Force, welcome back from the dead Force, RIP Rebels, bye South Africa). It's always been a sport with a limited talent pool (private schools and Islanders, that's where 100% of players come from) but at the professional level RA are cooked. The TV rights deal starting next year is worth up to $240m over 5 years which is where they have got back to after initially signing for $100m over 3. Their deal with Fox Sports signed 10 years ago was $285m over 5 years. Could you imagine the reaction if the AFL lost 40% of the TV rights from one deal to the next?

The reality is that 10, 20 years ago rugby was equivalent to footy and league in that playing here was the elite level. These days Super Rugby is more like the A-League/NBL in that the opportunities to play elsewhere are so lucrative. Still a very high standard but you never used to have players in their prime buggering off to play in France or Japan every other year. Much easier to build cohesion when 99% of the best players are split across 3 teams that play each other multiple times a year. RA totally cooked the timing of the Force/Rebels exits too. Like GWS and GC it takes years to see the fruits of your labour in player development etc.

Bit of an unpopular opinion thread thing but I also don't think Australians will get behind a team if it becomes full of Islanders the way they did the Wallabies teams of previous eras. I don't mean players of Pacific Islander background either, the Wallabies weren't just a team of hyphenated private school flogs. I mean specifically players like Daugunu who is Fijian, grew up in Fiji and played for Fiji under 20s. Doesn't have the same feeling of a national side when you are poaching players from other countries like it's a club side. At least try to be subtle about what you are doing and give scholarships to teenagers. Certainly not isolated to rugby (Socceroos convince players based on heritage, Boomers have always had naturalised Americans, athletics we'll give any medal chance a passport) but rugby does sometimes give off a John Elliott Carlton vibe that developing players is too hard so they will just buy them from elsewhere. IMO anyway. But I am salty they let Mark N go to the Roosters in the NRL.
The Rock Clapping GIF

Wonder if any will stay on illegally.

Did you have non rugbys yell out ball or too high during the match?
Yes. And others like that’s a 50 and he’s kicked it out of bounds on the full. I’m very witty.

I managed to get a few uninterrupted hours in the garage to sort, tidy, clean and throw things away.

Quick trip to the chartiy bin, another to Bunnings for storage. Spent the entire day listening to the Tomorrowland live stream which kept the tempo going.

I still can't fit my car in the garage but there's progress.

I managed to get a few uninterrupted hours in the garage to sort, tidy, clean and throw things away.

Quick trip to the chartiy bin, another to Bunnings for storage. Spent the entire day listening to the Tomorrowland live stream which kept the tempo going.

I still can't fit my car in the garage but there's progress.
Cleaning out garage is such a great pastime. Especially the Bunnings run. The measuring planning purchasing execution is the best