Tim Notting

• Thread starter Thread starter irel

I would like to pose several questions in relation to Tim Notting staying on our list.

The club earlier decided that Tim was trade bait and obviously had some plans to free up some salary to sign the uncontracted players and perhaps gets the list to 38.
It has been announced our list will be 37 and we will not be participating in the Pre Season Draft.
With some very good management and negotiation all the uncontracted players have been signed for next year and Simon Black has committed for further 3 years. Brilliant outcome. Kudos to all concerned. No one of note has been lost from the list. Also several additions to the list from the national draft show great potential for the future.

Back to Tim Notting. Has Tim made a mistake by choosing to stay? His loyalty and determination has been exemplary. However for his benefit would Tim be better off in another team where the competition for places is not as intense? With the younger group such as Hadley and Ash coming on so strongly and the return of the injured Scott bros. and Aaron, Tim may find himself in the QAFL more often than not.
Can he resurrect his career? Can he turn himself into a "run with midfielder" in the mould of Brett Kirk from the Swans, or is he too tall at 188cm to play the ultra defensive role and still get enough of the footy to hurt the opposition?
I see no significant role for Tim with the current list.
He may surprise and put in a great year. I hope for his sake and the Lions, certainly.

Possums been a good player for us and it would have been easy for him to head south and get an easy gig in a different team. He has room for improvement this season but lets not forget he carried a few injuries last season. We may find we might need him. And he is starting to kick with both feet. We all loved him a couple of seasons back.

He's the only player of his type we have. Can't think of many teams which have players of his type.

I'll make my decision when he has a season uninterrupted by injury.

For the time being, I like Tim Notting. He adds versatility to our team. I doubt we've seen the best of him yet.

I reckon he should have a look at Pike's game. Pikey's been just about everything - attacking half back, wing, CHF. He plays tall and small and is a great mark, as well as a 'burst' player - and he's tough as. His timing and poise are superb. Tim's game v Pies in R4 was fantastic - he snagged 3 goals and could not be matched up. I've noticed that he's not really a goto player as his overhead marking is suspect - in fact it's an indicator of his confidence - but now that Bradshaw has shown great flexibility, it opens up spots for tall running players who can snag goals outside 50. I'd like to know what the coaching staff think, but if he toughens up and is more consistant with his skills, he is a danger. I can't get the memory of his game at the G out of my mind when he kicked 5 and just looked made for that ground, swooping around packs, burning off opponents and launching the footy.

Finding a spot for everyone in the squad is the 'thing' ....you can't. From a supporters point of view, or the clubs, its great to have a number of players vying for positions, all worthy of one...this depth and pressure adds to the culture of competition and success. Tim Notting at his best has got a position in the best 22 IMO, so he just has to avoid the injuries, regain his confidence and form. The result can only be good.

He'll have a big year as soon as the coaching staff show confidence in him.

FOUR quarters on the wing and half forward rotating these positions. We will then see the real Tim Notting. He will resurrect his career if he is able to. Lack of confidence and injury is letting him down. I mean, what does this do to your confidence? Playing brilliantly, then getting dropped for no apparent reason, then getting injured in the reserves. I guarantee that if he wasn't dropped earlier on in the year, he would have come at least top 8 in our Best and Fairest and had a superb year.

Tim Notting will be the biggest improver next year. Watch out for him. He is going to be very valuable. It's time that the coaching staff show faith in him.

Tim Notting had one good game early in the year and was reasonably quiet for the others. I'm not sure how you can suggest he didn't deserve to be dropped SB.

Tim has to take this opportunity for all it is worth. Granted he has had injury concerns, especially in 2003, but his time is now. He needs to work much harder on the defensive aspect of his game. I can still clearly remember the game at Princes Park where Tim took an in form Kouta to the cleaners. he needs to work both ways and hurt the opposition with his own athleticism. Physically he is more than capable of taking his game to the next level, but I'm not so sure about his attitude.

He's the only player of his type we have. Can't think of many teams which have players of his type

excuse my possible ignorance..but from an insider looking in. Aaron Shattock is almost a carbon copy of Notting IMO - unbelievable similarities.

Notting is like a school report card - 'Capable of more, he only has to apply himself'.

He has moments and when he has them, I am glad he is wearing our jumper.

He is most capable, and when he can get through the season injury free......we then can make a judgement call with facts, but I like him and he is one of a few that doesn't mind taking a spekkie.

Originally posted by theorangeapple
excuse my possible ignorance..but from an insider looking in. Aaron Shattock is almost a carbon copy of Notting IMO - unbelievable similarities.

I think it was Mr Ripper, or one of the other BRITS, who nicknamed them the Shattings.

My opinion of Notting is that he lacks concentration skills. He seems to only be able to focus for short spans. When he's firing he's great but leave him out there for awhile and his mind seems to wander. Maybe they need to encourage to take up reading - or study of some kind.

Perhaps that is why he may not be used consistantly. As a burst player he has his uses.

Also if I had to choose between him and Shatts I'd pick Shatts every time.

Originally posted by cjwalkley
Tim Notting had one good game early in the year and was reasonably quiet for the others. I'm not sure how you can suggest he didn't deserve to be dropped SB.

He had more than one good game, he played excellent on the times he was given, which wasn't much. Then got dropped after an excellent game by him and a few solid games before that one.

Originally posted by theorangeapple
Appearance wise they are a dead ringer... the biggest differences are that Notting is quicker across the ground and is a much bigger kick. Shattock struggles to kick 50m I've noticed. Shatts is much more consistent though, seems to have a better footy brain (whereas Possum is more of an athlete), and he is one of the unusual Lions players who seems to have a liking of the turf underneath the roof... Well, until he did his ankle there in round 22 :mad:

If it's true about Possum insisting on staying with the Lions when his name was being bandied about as tradebait - then it could be a strong indicator that the boy is more than keen on making amends for a couple of so-so years.

Everyone knows he can play. I'm worried his days as a four-quarter player could be numbered though, due to his wonky knees. He's no longer the spring-heeled jack he was in his earlier days - and that limits what was one of his greatest assets.

His other problem is that he tries too often to kick the footy too hard. More often than Nott he shanks the damn thing. Correcting that flaw would go a long way to cementing a spot in the seniors. He's way too good for the AFLQ.