Gogeelong

Observations from todays practice match

1/ Djerrikurra showed blistering pase and has a great second and third effort
He is the sort of player that we needed. Hard as nails. After the game he was mobbed by well wishers and was the last player of the ground. If he stayes sound he will set a great example. When asked how he had settled in at Geelong his reply was "It's great mate" Will play early on in the season

2/Tenace showed blistering pace and continually boke the lines. He was the best player on the ground

3/Ling seams to have been stung into action. He was the general on the park. With a different kicking action he seemed to find players down the ground with penetrating kicks all of the time

4/Monica showed flashes of brilliance. Ottens palmed the ball to him in the middle. A great run long bomb

5/Ottens, Mooney, Ablett's are in good form

6/ Selwood had a large cut to his for-head in the first quater Did not have time to show his stuff

7/West and Varcoe have put on a heap of weight

Players who did not play included King, Harley, Milburn, and Gamble

Did not see Hawkins at the ground.

These are my observations for those of you who were not at the ground

Great to hear about Djerkurra, you guys got a genuine steal there IMO. Could well be one of, if not, the best player to come out of the '06 draft. What's wrong with Gamble? I reckon he'll be a very good player also.

How'd Kelly go btw?

Gamble's nursing an ankle injury from the last training session.

And thanks for the report, and yes, how did Kel go?

just wanted to no if someone could tell me how Joel Reynolds went today? and also where we played?

No good. Dud.

Other lowlights
Shannon byrnes wasn't much
Hunt got beaten
Varcoe shirked a contest

More highlights
Prismall was tough and played well, faster than Bartel
Varcoe is like a ferrari, did a few good things
Nathan Ablett is big, very big. Don't worry about the chicken arms. Team looks WAY better when they actually kick to him.
Tenace looks about 5kg heavier through the legs and is just as fast
Kelly didn't turn over the ball with his lazy kicks. Didn't get tons of it but was solid

I was just checking the goal kickers as I didn't keep track of them, but it felt like Otto and N.Ablett kicked more than two each.
Anyway some of the players that stood out to me were:

- Ottens: Looking very fit and very sharp. Excellent ruckwork (against Blake tho) and pushed forward and back to lend assistance.

- Ling: Just kept getting the ball. Looked a lot more mobile and skilled than last year.

- G.Ablett: Got the ball a lot as well. Hasn't dropped off.

- Djerrkura: Kicked a ripper goal on the run, got a bit of it.

- N.Ablett: When the kicked it to him, they didn't let him down.

Other players didn't disappoint either: Mackie, Wojcinski, Mooney, Kelly, Tenace.

Unfortunately Reynolds is the new Kent Kingsley. Lead well but when it came to taking the mark, failed miserably.

Absentees included: King, Harley, Scarlett, Milburn, Chapman, Rooke, D.Johnson, Playfair, Lonergan and Gamble.

I was at the game this morning and there were some good signs especially some of the youngsters.

Djerrkura looks like he will be a great addition to the team.

Otto, Ling and Mooney all looked good and played well, as did the Ablett's brothers.

Wojcinski looked like the player he was before the knee injury.

There is still a bit to work on, but for a first up hitout it went well.

Thanks for the reports fellow cat fans.Great news about Wojcinski, am a huge fan of his. I believe he's a vital cog in the team, has great pace can break the lines and penertratng kicks are a huge weapon to the side moreso than J.Hunt's :thumbsu:

Ling, Ablett and Ottens were best for my liking. All won plenty of the ball, Ling was sensational. Rarely missed a target, Ablett, was well, Ablett, continually aware of his surrounding and hitting targets.

Ottens dominated the centre, marked and kicked well when forward.

Djerrkura looks great, as did Selwood prior to heading off the ground. He looks a very hard player, likes hitting the packs hard and carrying the ball.

Mackie, Kelly & Tenace were also impressive today. Mackie espicially. Was great and coming from me (one of his harshest critics), that is a compliment.

Another shining light was Spencer, his 3 stats consisted of a headbutt, a mis-directed handball and a 50m penalty! How this guy is on the list is amazing.

I took a number of photographs (including the great man Gary Ablett Senior who made an appearance and wonderful to all posingfor photographs and signing jumpers). Where would you guys like me to post the pictures (when i get a chance)?

Another shining light was Spencer, his 3 stats consisted of a headbutt, a mis-directed handball and a 50m penalty! How this guy is on the list is amazing.

I took a number of photographs (including the great man Gary Ablett Senior who made an appearance and wonderful to all posingfor photographs and signing jumpers). Where would you guys like me to post the pictures (when i get a chance)?

Who'd he manage to headbutt? I'd be quite impressed if he managed to headbutt himself.

Yes, please to the photos.

Hopefully it was C.Gardiner under instructions from Scarlett.(Payback).:D

Ling, Ablett and Ottens were best for my liking. All won plenty of the ball, Ling was sensational. Rarely missed a target, Ablett, was well, Ablett, continually aware of his surrounding and hitting targets.

Ottens dominated the centre, marked and kicked well when forward.

Djerrkura looks great, as did Selwood prior to heading off the ground. He looks a very hard player, likes hitting the packs hard and carrying the ball.

Mackie, Kelly & Tenace were also impressive today. Mackie espicially. Was great and coming from me (one of his harshest critics), that is a compliment.

Thanks heaps for that. Some hopeful signs.

www.imageshack.us for the images. They give you a link to paste into your post after you've done it.

I was watching Selwood closely and he looked very good until Callan dropped his knee when Selwood went in hard and caused a gash to his head...

Callan got a great serve from Jnr too...

They looked rusty, seemed like concentration was on ball movement and most guys didnt go up hard in contests, especially defensively...

This question was asked by Catsrule in the locked thread
As a cats fan living in Melbourne, I noticed on the front cover of today's Geelong Advertiser someone taking a great grab from Saturday's intra club match can anyone let me know who it is (I saw it on their website pic only small). Thanks

It was Joel Reynolds