Todd Viney hands in his resignation.

Apparently gave a great speech at the B&F on thursday night for Melbourne. Always hoped he would come back to the dees but looks like he's going to Adelaide. Oh well, good luck.

Found out this information early this afternoon.

He is going back to his home state of SA.

Such a shame, seemed like he was a pretty good fit for the Hawks. Hopefully the family reasons are not to serious.

wow. I knew Todd personally, and he was a great bloke. I just lived behind him and me and his son Jack were great mates. I thought he was very happy at Hawthorn, and would only leave to
a) Go to Melbourne
b) get a coaching gig

eth-dog, is it true his son Jack is one of the best 14 year old footballers in the country? Do you reckon he would be a good father-son get?

Just going to throw it out there and I will probably get shot down in flames...

But how about Vanders?? Might be a gig to interest him or would Clarko be wanting someone with experience in coaching?

Just a thought.

This sort of thing worries me. Look at how Port Adelaide crumbled as the assistant coaches left.....

We need an A GRADE replacement IMMEDIATELY!

Great sentimental suggestions of Scott West and Vanders but we've got no idea about their coaching skills at all.

Question - does the midfield coach look after the ruck division as well? I assume they would.

I want someone who is an absolute mongrel as well. There are thousands of good thinkers out there but I want an animal telling our guys how to go about it - just a personal assessment.

I would have loved Burns as an Assistant Coach.

Now, who could replace Todd?

Havn't heard about this McGowan bloke before - is he a good sort?

Looking at recently retired players who might make decent coaches, maybe Lappin?

Michael Voss would have been nice for a year. :o

Thanks for your time and effort Todd, all of Hawthorn appreciate all you have done for our club.

As far as a replacement goes, Shane Crawford perhaps?? If he decides to retire of course. If not Scott West or Rob Harvey would be handy at the club, but as usual I am sure Clarko will pick wisely.

How about Paul Hudson? I know we were looking hard at him for the Box Hill coaching job, but we appointed that fella from the Geelong u/18 team.

One option could be appointing Hudo for Boxhill job and promoting Barry Mitchell to full time assistant.

Once again, Clarko seems to have a good eye for talent, in all aspects of the footy department.I'm sure he will pick the right man!

Pitty Scott Burns has already been snapped up; would have been a perfect replacement as Midfield coach.

Anyother names we can think of?

Why Scott Burns? Because everyone in the Media said "Scott Burns". Mark my word Scott burns will not be successful because he is an old fashioned philosopher educated by Malthouse.

Clarko is at the cutting edge using the Jack Oatley Methodology that he picked up when at Central districts.

It might not even be an ex footballer.

andrew mckay (carlton)

retired 5 years, smart lad, 4 times AA, club captain, been coaching at junior level, works on the MRP, excellent understanding of the workings of the AFL.

Choice out of left field, but I would see if Don Pyke (ex WC player) is available.

Has had stints at Claremont, West Coast and Adelaide and is very highly regarded.

Choice out of left field, but I would see if Don Pyke (ex WC player) is available.

Has had stints at Claremont, West Coast and Adelaide and is very highly regarded.

Many clubs except the 2 clown clubs over here have been after Don Pyke. He is very astute and has great grounding under Neil Craig. He is however a successful business man and is back based in WA for business reasons. I would not be surprised if we haven't already tried but I will ask a good mate of mine who is a good mate of Pykes and a bit of a abstract footy mentor to him.

Scott West would be a ripper I reckon. But whoever we get I'm sure it will be a good decision. Hawthorn are full of them.

Thanks Todd, good luck with the big job of plugging the leaks in the Adelaide midfield.

Todd Viney no longer a Hawk.

Source - The Sunday Age.

Just one line in the section which spoke of our B+F Results.

Quit for family reasons.

Re: Todd Viney no longer a Hawk.

Viney on the move

8:31 PM Sun 5 October, 2008 | Back

for hawthornfc.com.au
Blog Article Content
Hawthorn Football Club assistant coach Todd Viney has informed the Club that he will not be with the Club in 2009.

Viney, who coaches Hawthorn's midfield, helped the Hawks secure its 10th premiership last Saturday has decided to move on next season, citing family reasons amongst the reasons for seeking a new challenge.

Mark Evans, Hawthorn's general manager of football operations, said that Viney has been an outstanding servant to the Hawks as the Club rebuilt its playing list.

"Todd has made an outstanding contribution to the Hawks since joining the Club in 2005," said Evans.

"He has helped develop a talented list of young players, many of whom are now premiership players, and while we are sad to see him go we respect his decision and wish him well as he looks to his next challenge."

Would not be surprised if he gets a senior role with melbourne half way through 09.

Re: Todd Viney no longer a Hawk.

According to Chris McDermott in the Adelaide Sunday Mail, Adelaide Crows have "gate crashed" Hawthorn's premiership celebrations by luring Viney to West Lakes.

He claims he would have joined the Crows earlier but had to wait for Paul Hamilton's contract to expire.

I love those Crows boys, they still think the Crows are everyone's first priority. :)

a real shame to lose him. he was clearly well switched on and, I believe, one of the most important cogs in the hawthorn wheel over the last few years.

good luck to him...

Why Scott Burns? Because everyone in the Media said "Scott Burns". Mark my word Scott burns will not be successful because he is an old fashioned philosopher educated by Malthouse.

Clarko is at the cutting edge using the Jack Oatley Methodology that he picked up when at Central districts.

It might not even be an ex footballer.

Why was he highly regarded as a potential assistant by a number of clubs, then? I reackon I would take their words over yours, no offense.

Thank you Todd Viney for all your efforts with the Hawthorn Football Club and good luck in your future endeavours (except against the Hawks;)).

How about Paul Hudson? I know we were looking hard at him for the Box Hill coaching job, but we appointed that fella from the Geelong u/18 team.

One option could be appointing Hudo for Boxhill job and promoting Barry Mitchell to full time assistant.

Once again, Clarko seems to have a good eye for talent, in all aspects of the footy department.I'm sure he will pick the right man!

yeah, i thought that barry mitchell could be a possible replacement, but that thought was purely in fear.

provided we don't lose any other assistances or other staff, it's within expectations that you may lose someone.

hopefully we can find another ex-footballer or experienced assistant coach that can inject some some enthusiasm or new ideas into the club, game plan or tactics.

Whats John Barkers role at Saints?
Is he an assistant or just a fwd coach or something like that?
Might fit the bill.

I forgot about Lethal, interesting but maybe too big a name and too big an influence.

Probably need someone that is truly below Clarkson.