Toddy says Suma's the man

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

I definetely agree with the comment that FFC is becoming overrun with Victorians at an off field level.
Sorry GJ. I thought you said the above. Clearly I'm mistaken.

It must have been someone else. It was that other other GJ I was responding too by saying its baseless.

Your opinion harks back to the parochialism of the 50's and 60's. It has no rationale related to performance. In the modern corporate world it makes you look like a goose.

It also flies in defiance of the history that in both WA clubs it took someone from the East to come and save their sorry arses. The Eagles were rorted into the ground by the states finest and had to be bailed out by the WAFC. And John Todd was shown up to be silly old duffer he is by the professionalism of Malthouse.

In Freo's case, WA best and brightest turned the club into a basket case. That was the AFL's semi-official opinion as accidentally leaked from Head Office. Schwab was head hunted by Demetriou's as preferred option because the Board and the WAFC who had the final say could no find a better option.

The final arrow in your agreement with old duffer is that the Board and WAFC who are responsible are for the club are chock full of West Australian's. They signed off on both Connolly and Schwab.

Since I joined the membership has gone from 17,000 to 40,000 under Eastern states under the Scwab administration. I've met the guy, chatted with him and he seems pretty switched on. But his results are oustanding.

Of course, when you spend your whole life with your head up your jacksie, most of this history will have passed you by. Not that facts have much sway with you.

In article in the Worst today, John Todd argues that we are over run with Victorians in the coaching and management areas, Chris Connolly won't take us to a premiership but is a "Bonza guy" and Peter Sumich should be the next coach to get some Fremantle culture back into the club, which would be a "marketing coup"
...oh and our recruiting has been crap.
Interesting read...
totally true read!

I definetely agree with the comment that FFC is becoming overrun with Victorians at an off field level.

Obviously you hire the best man for the job, but when you have a bunch of vics on masse running the show, I think it starts to take the soul out of the football club.

What soul? that's one of things it's never had let alone any culture not to mention a Fremantle culture whatever that is.

Suma a marketing coup? If the Freo fans on these boards are a reasonable representation of opinion then it would be anything but. The only advantage Suma would bring is the eagles loving media in this state might lay off the club for a while. If you want a real marketing coup go after Sheedy.

If our recruiting has been so crap then why were we one of the premiership fancies before the season started? Was it because we have such a fantastic coach that he was expected to take this poor bunch of recruits further than could otherwise be expected? Another example of contradictory arguments from the media.

Like someone said our players are from all over the country so why should they need a West Aussie coach to inspire them? And if our Vic management team are doing such a bad job maybe we should ship them back over east and rehire the good, wholesome local boys that managed to drive our club into millions of dollars in debt in the early years. Yep, that's the sort of local knowledge we need guiding the club. We might have been bankrupt but at least we didn't have Vics hey?

Methinks Todd is still bitter about being dumped for a Victorian. Welcome to the brave new world Toddy, where people are hired on ability not on their place of birth.
Hired on ability? Are you joking? Freo need a complete overhall and start again.
I'm an ex vic and I'm telling you I reckon Chris would not be there if Schwabb
wasn't there, then a long comes Essendon's future coach and Shaw to make sure there is no down turn in the coaching area, get to the finals and now have a look 2007 ,2 games out of the eight and every game is a grand final
and they have to hope that some teams above them have lousy runs as well.
Well Todd is a smart man and give the man some respect ,saying he is bitter still, about being dropped for a Victorian is typical rubbish .Todd has been talking about Victorian enthusiasm for footy for years he sees the good parts but he also sees the parts that don't work and that is at Fremantle right now.
I shuddered with fear when Connolly's contract was being discussed last time and Peter Schwabb was going to leave Hawthorn at the end of the season,
it was suggested that Hawks might have had eyes on Connolly, I'm not joking
I would have been infuriated if he had have gone to Hawthorn.
Bonza bloke maybe a coach who's strong and a tough diciplinarian just plain NO!

Toddy might be a footy legend but by and large he is yesterdays man and still lives in the era of them and us eg., Victorians and West Ausies. That aside, a lot of what he said in his article is fairly accurate and should be taken on board but not necessarily the idea that Sumich should be the next Coach.

who do you think should be the next coach mick?

I would like to see more West Aussies given senior off field roles at the club. I think there are alot of sandgropers involved in football administration who could do a great job at FFC. Whats wrong with wanting to give a few locals a shot?

Name some names. Guy McKenna? Glen "Slappo" Jakovich? Chris Lewis? I can't think of any with a better resume than Harvey and German.

Steve Malaxos and Earl Spalding are WA boys currently working as assistants at Freo, but I don't rate either of them. Is Broadbridge a sandgroper, he played for swannies so I assume he is. Either way, I don't rate him either. Waterman I liked, but has been average since he started coaching at WAFL level. Scott Watters would be a possibility in a couple of years.

Woewodin is a part time coach and will probably be offered a fulltime role when he retires.

Ash Prescott and Chris Bond are two ex-Freo boys with fantastic coaching credentials, but both are Victorians.

Name some names. Guy McKenna? Glen "Slappo" Jakovich? Chris Lewis? I can't think of any with a better resume than Harvey and German.

Steve Malaxos and Earl Spalding are WA boys currently working as assistants at Freo, but I don't rate either of them. Is Broadbridge a sandgroper, he played for swannies so I assume he is. Either way, I don't rate him either. Waterman I liked, but has been average since he started coaching at WAFL level. Scott Watters would be a possibility in a couple of years.

Woewodin is a part time coach and will probably be offered a fulltime role when he retires.

Ash Prescott and Chris Bond are two ex-Freo boys with fantastic coaching credentials, but both are Victorians.
Poor guy having to coach peel thunder..

Todd has been talking about Victorian enthusiasm for footy for years he sees the good parts but he also sees the parts that don't work and that is at Fremantle right now.

If there's parts at Freo that aren't working at the moment it's because they are not good enough. Not because they happen to be Victorian. If there's people that need to be replaced then let's replace them with people who are better, whether they be Victorian, West Australian, Tasmanian or Guatemalan.

Todd blaming our woes on the fact that we have a few Victorians running the club is complete rubbish and he'll get no respect from me for spouting his xenophobic 1960's crap.

I shuddered with fear when Connolly's contract was being discussed last time and Peter Schwabb was going to leave Hawthorn at the end of the season,
it was suggested that Hawks might have had eyes on Connolly, I'm not joking
I would have been infuriated if he had have gone to Hawthorn.
Bonza bloke maybe a coach who's strong and a tough diciplinarian just plain NO!

That's all well and good but it's nothing to do with the fact that he's Victorian now is it. (In fact he's originally from NSW). If we sack CC it will be because he's not good enough, not because some rusty old barnacle thinks the club needs to clear out the evil eastern staters and replace them with sandgropers.

who do you think should be the next coach mick?

For a start it must be someone who has coached succesfully at AFL ideally Malthouse or Sheedy and even Toddy would agree with that. The chances of getting either of them is probably somewhat remote so it wont be easy, Eade would be an interesting prospect but he is committed to the Bulldogs. It is imperitive that whoever he is he must be a no nonsense disciplinarian and commands respect certainly someone who has no special relationship with the CEO or any member of the Board.
Overall, the field is fairly narrow and they may well have to resort to appointing someone who has had senior experience but has not achieved a Premiership. It goes without saying that the appointment of a new Coach must go hand in glove with some adjustments to the list with major input from the new appointee.
I would be prepared to give some consideration to Laidley who is very much a Malthouse clone and has done well thus far with the Kangaroos.

Also let's not forget the fact that most of these WA identities that people think are going to come in and save our club with their local passion couldn't actually give a flying f**k about the Fremantle Football Club. They are nothing more than a west coast eagles old boys club - from Suma to Todd to the entire WA media.

But in typical condescending eagles fashion they have the arrogance to think they can tell us how or how not to run our club. Well I'm sure Schwabby and Harvey are more committed to our club than any west coast fanboy who thinks they have a connection to us purely because they are from the same state.

Are you sure Worsfold is on the outer? I know there are massive discipline issues at west coast, but I'll be surprised if Nisbett sacks him this year.

Nah mate, don't think he'll be sacked. Discipline issues? ROFL

How about this

<Insert pic of 2006 premiers> :D:D:D

Also let's not forget the fact that most of these WA identities that people think are going to come in and save our club with their local passion couldn't actually give a flying f**k about the Fremantle Football Club. They are nothing more than a west coast eagles old boys club - from Suma to Todd to the entire WA media.

But in typical condescending eagles fashion they have the arrogance to think they can tell us how or how not to run our club. Well I'm sure Schwabby and Harvey are more committed to our club than any west coast fanboy who thinks they have a connection to us purely because they are from the same state.

What he said!!!!!!

Seconded!! How ironic is Toddy casting doubts on Freo's trading when He gave the boot to;

Gastev - 30 games at WC - 143 total
Zannotti - 26 games at WC - 157 total
Iskenko - 30 games at WC - 142 total

Talk about giving other clubs access to young players with a couple of year in the system under their belt. :eek: