Seattle SuperSonics
We all love Tom. Great club captain and probably one of the best ever.

What does everyone think about his lack of comment whenever it appears Geelong has been hard done by?? It seems as though he tries to pander to Leigh Matthews; who never lets his bias against Geelong go without a comment.

It seems like Tom is trying to be overtly androgynous, just does not want to take a side.

Thoughts?

I think Tom Harley is biased towards Geelong and a poor special comments man. Helped us win 2 premierships but I gotta say it as I see it. Cameron Ling is a much better interviewer/special comments man.

I love Tom for what he has done as a player but I dont want to see him on TV anymore.
Hes bland and useless IMO and is so conscious of his biased towards the Cats (seriously who could blame him!) that he goes the COMPLETE opposite and sounds more like David King and Derm rolled into one.
Like I said I love what he did for us BUT please can he go. Actually can all of the channel 7 commentary go? I'd rather listen to Richo and Lingy commentate than the CRAP they have now...
My last few posts on BF have been a bit angry, so sorry guys I'm just so frustrated with the AFL lately, all parts from that ugly fat egotistical Vlad to the umpiring to the coverage to the fans.
Just over it.

I think Tom Harley is biased towards Geelong and a poor special comments man. Helped us win 2 premierships but I gotta say it as I see it. Cameron Ling is a much better interviewer/special comments man.

You mean *against* Geelong, right? He is so wary of his lineage as a Cats player he goes overboard to compliment (and almost barrack!) for the opposition team - often for things that don't really justify it. Then he is silent when Geelong deserves a compliment or even finds some kind of problem or negative in what should be positive commenting on Geelong. I agree that Lingy is a much better special comments man - at least he tends to call it as he sees it rather than worrying about if he's being to "pro-Geelong."

Agreed, Lingy is heaps better & does not try to hide his bias.
And why should they?! Every commentator has a bias for and against sides so why wouldn't recent club premiership captains?!

I'm sure no one would begrudge him if he didnt try to hide his bias!

Harley doesn't really add anything special to the commentary team. He is a bit like Luke Darcy in that he just points out the obvious and what everybody already knows. And agreed that he appears to barrack for the opposition team in trying not to be pro-Geelong.

Buckley was good, as is Lingy, in pointing out interesting parts of the game or gameplan that aren't obvious to the average observer.

It's annoying how quick he is to jump to the side of the opposition whenever there is a point of contention regarding us, just so he doesn't sound bias.

However, the entire commentary team is already completely against us, so it would be kind of nice to have a different perspective once in a while, as opposed to three men bleating that Geelong are always in the wrong.

I have commented in a number of posts that much and all as we love him his commentary is now cringeworthy and almost disrespectful. I am sure he does not mean this but it's how it sounds. Put him, Confetti and Special together, throw in a bit of Lethal bias and it is an utter mess. It is not just Cats supporters who think so either. We should replace him with Malthouse - carrots rising in throat, gagging taking over ...

Just hard to sit through. Is as bad as the actual ch7 camera work and advertising.

I really admire Tom's approach to a lot of his work, but special comments should probably be left to someone else.

In saying that, i felt like I wanted to walk through the TV last night and punch both Dennis and Tom for some of their calls.

Harley doesn't really add anything special to the commentary team. He is a bit like Luke Darcy in that he just points out the obvious and what everybody already knows. And agreed that he appears to barrack for the opposition team in trying not to be pro-Geelong.

Buckley was good, as is Lingy, in pointing out interesting parts of the game or gameplan that aren't obvious to the average observer.

Spot on! I love Harls for everything hes done for our club, but as the seasons gone on he's become increasingly bland with his comments. He's almost too nice, like he doesnt want to say anything that may offend anyone. He's also a bit over exposed (friday nights, sat arvos, game day).

And yeah his bias against Geelong is to the point of being cringe worthy. We know you love the Cats Harls, you're not gonna get the sack if you show a little bit of love for them every not and then!

Listening to Cam Mooney on SEN this morning and on AFL 360 thursday nights, would love to see him some bigger media gigs like Harls. He's honest, smart, and shows his love for the club without coming off completely biased.

Moons>>>Lingy>>>>Harls

Not only does Tom go way to far in over compensating with his opinion in all matters Geelong, he seems to be overly PC and follow the party line when it comes to the AFL. I know he is in tight with Vlad and the boys and is on the payroll for AFL NSW, but sometimes I'd rather he just say nothing as opposed to being the Henry Kissinger of footy.​
Starts to wear thin after awhile, and really I think it is hard to value the opinion (especially when you just know he is going to go the safest path every time).​

Appalling commentator. Presents like a Ken doll - stilted and rehearsed presentation style. Only states the bloody obvious. Can't bare listening to him.

I agree with that - where as i thought Buckley was excellent and good to listen to . Mathew Knights when on ABC last year was another one who was good to listen to . Tom -you can be critical of players mate -say something controversial for god sake -you add absolutely nothing to the broadcast

I thought Leigh Mathews made a great comment about Joel Selwood at the half time break -he said some blokes are still boys at 30 -and some blokes are men at 20 -and in Leighs eyes -Selwood was definetely a Man AT 20 years of age

Watch it with zero volume, seriously peaceful way to go. I DETEST it that these clowns seem to determine what will go to MRP and how many weeks. Are they instructed to do so?

And Cam Mooney has the head and opinions to be a GREAT TV special comments man.

I think Ling is more personable, and has more to say. Tom tries hard to 'sound' impressive.

Have a look at the out of bounds play, where the Eagle caught it well over the line. Tom states, well the umpire maybe blind sided there. What??

Well over the line?! He was right on the line. Take your blue & white glasses off

He is so wary of his lineage as a Cats player he goes overboard to compliment (and almost barrack!) for the opposition team - often for things that don't really justify it. Then he is silent when Geelong deserves a compliment...

I wish he'd become 'former Port Adelaide player Tom Harley' as far as these things are concerned. Kicked his first goal in league footy AGAINST Geelong, so why dosen't he just embrace the Power?;)

I think Harls is totally looking at the big picture.. his big picture.
Bruce, Dennis. Lethal etc are all getting on. Harls is in the door and could be there for the next 30 years.

As such, he is the beige curtains in the room - he just doesn't stand out.

He could be a great comments / analysis man but he tows the party/AFL to stay bland.

I get it for ensuring his future.

That said, he should be more biased to Geelong as it would make him a better commentator. He would call it in a non Geelong game so call it now.

And yes, it is infuriating to listen to.. hence me on KROCK all the time...

GO Catters

He's a geelong great but I can't stand listening to him. Like others have said; too bland- he never wants to put himself out there with comments that aren't afl friendly. He's too conscious of being biaised for geelong he goes too far the other way. I dont understand why though; dermie always js biaised towards hawks. I guess tom is keen on being the afl golden boy all the time.

Very vanilla.