Should Tom Harley play on?

• Yes, still has it in him

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No, should go out on a high note

Votes: 0 0.0%

Re: Should Harley play on?

I have just received news that tom harley was seen leaving bombers place at about 3pm today which i believe is near the water front, in tears. the source was heading back to his parked car and ran in to him. what this means who knows?

Got the distinct impression Tom has made the decision to retire from one (there's been so many) of his interviews. He said he didn't want to distract from the players victory celebrations by saying too much now but would make a statement when he returns in late October.

Also, when Bomber said he would get him on the 200 Honour Board by playing for 2 more games Tom was reported as saying that being twice on the premiership captains Board meant more.

Digressing for a moment. Wasn't it fantastic that the club provided the players with security during mad Monday celebrations. The sort of thing you'd expect from a well run club.:thumbsu:

... if he gets to play on to get to 200 games that would be a fairytale.

And being a dual premiership captain in charge of one of the 'great' teams isn't?

If it is thought this year is an aberration and he can repeat his 07/08 levels in 10, then ok, play on. If all he wants is to play 3 more games to reach 200 for the cats, then it is time to retire.

And being a dual premiership captain in charge of one of the 'great' teams isn't?

If it is thought this year is an aberration and he can repeat his 07/08 levels in 10, then ok, play on. If all he wants is to play 3 more games to reach 200 for the cats, then it is time to retire.

I thought the coaching panel were trying to hide him in the GF. Reckon it's in his and the clubs interests for him to retire. What better way than with a premiership medallion.

Agree, thought the way Crawf went out last year was enviable

Tom Harley needed to retire- earlier this week!

I think that Tom Harley needed to announce his retirement at the start of this week. This way, it would free up the salary cap, and maybe we could have offered more to Shane Mumford.

Don't get me wrong, I really respect Tom Harley. He is a great captain. But he must retire for the following reasons:-

1) His body keeps breaking down. He was in and out of the side due to injury.

2) It's a good note to go out on. How many players end their career captaining a premiership side? The best way to go out is on top.

3) He's getting married. His wife is living in Sydney, and he doesn't want to get on the wrong side of the missus.

4) It would free up salary cap pressures. If Harley retires, then it could save a player or two needing to be let go. Come on Tom, it's the team thing to do. Now with Milburn staying, it is more vital then ever.

Ending a footy career is never easy, but I would hope that Tom does the best thing for the club. If he goes around and plays well next year, that is great. But if we want to retain teammates, Harley's retirement may be required? Thoughts?

Re: Tom Harley needed to retire- earlier this week!

I think he is out of contract now so, technically we aren't paying him anything at the moment. He got married last weekend so I am sure he couldn't give a stuff about what you think at the moment. Bomber Thompson has been vocal in saying that he would like to see Tom play 2 more games next year to reach 200 games and then retire. I think that is what will happen and I can't imagine Tom just leaving the club in the lurch on his plans. I can bet you the Coaching Dept know exactly what he is doing next year.

Who knows he might have already told the club he is retiring.....doubt the club would announce it during trade week when it would completely overshadowed.

I think that Tom Harley needed to announce his retirement at the start of this week. This way, it would free up the salary cap, and maybe we could have offered more to Shane Mumford.

Tom is out of contract and on base wage anyway so him retiring wouldn't have changed a thing this week.

The only list management issue surrounding Tom's decision is about drafting.
If he plays on, we draft one less kid at the end of the draft.

4) It would free up salary cap pressures. If Harley retires, then it could save a player or two needing to be let go.

Tom's salary wouldn't even cover the wage of one of our likely delistings, let alone two.
As i said before, Tom is on the minimum wage so the only thing his retirement will do is free up a spot at the end of our list.

Agree agree agree, it is time for Tom to retire. He has struggled this year and must be remembered for what he was not what he may become. Why he needs two more games is bizarre, he is already a member of the 200 club.
Announcing his intentions before his wedding would have put that part of his life behind him whatever his decision prior to his big day.

was on the vet list anyways..... i rekon he should go another yr :)

Tom isn't on the veterans list.
Once we added Matthew Scarlett to the veterans list prior to this season it became pointless (and actually counter productive) to also add Tom.

He is on such a low amount we wouldn't have kept Mumford anyways. Honestly if we did have even the little bit extra then i don't think it would have gone to Mummy.

“It’s well known that we want to keep our group together and all of the players have accepted that to do that they have to forego bigger offers from other clubs to achieve that goal. Shane has chosen not do that that, and while we are disappointed to see him go, we will not deviate from our philosophy.”

I don't think they would have given him top dollar just because he wanted it when so many others are sacrificing to keep the team together.

I still see Harley retiring either with or without playing the 2 games next year. There is no way i can see he will play all year next year.

The more I think about it, the stronger is my opinion he should retire.

Our defence, in general, is aging. We don't want to lose too much experience in one go - and we don't want to be blooding too many raw defenders in one go either.

Harley should retire this year. The game has gone past him. That means next year we can slot another defender in without too much hassle, allowing him to be covered by the experienced defence whilst also learning greatly at the same time.

The year after, Milburn retires. Then we slot the next defender in.

Then a year or two later, Scarlett.

We need to stagger the retirements of our current defenders and the inclusions of new defenders.

So the rest of the playing group has been sucking on a lemon for 2 years not taking too much cash and you think the cats should havve dropped their pants to pay him??????????

Errrrr.........NO!

You don't do that to people.

Bye bye moneyford

There is nothing to be gained by Tom going on. In fact the more convincing arguments are for him to call it a day.

1) He is physically at his limit, his best days are well behind him and I question whether he is able to go through another pre-season, yet alone a season in it's entirety.

2) We need to get game time into Gillies and Laidler, particularly while Dash and Scarlett are there to show them the ropes.

3) Although Tom was/is a great leader, we are far from wanting in the leadership department; either in the B/L or the club more broadly

4) I would've though that going on simply to rack up 2 more games on a personally tally is going against out recent ethos. But anyway.....

We love you Tommy, but it's time to go.

He has had to regain some pace this year with his knee being cleaned out. I think you will find that with no required preseason ops and one last preseason he will go out on a high note after several games in 2010, barring injuries although I won't be suprised if he does a hammy at some point. For what its worth having Tom on the field makes the rest of the team play more gutsy football and i think that alone is worth it.

was on the vet list anyways..... i rekon he should go another yr :)

Milburn and Scarlett are our Veteran list players

if thats the case then why does bomber want him to play 2 more

if thats not the case, then my respect for bomber goes up in higher

I think Bomber mean't either 200 H&A [plus final] games or 200 GFC games,which would have Harley finishing on 201 [played 1 game for Port]

i would love to see harley play another couple of games and reach 200. i really respect bomber for recognising this. hopefully we will remember harley in years to come as a champion bloke, solid player, dual premiership player and 200 gamer.

i would be willing to accept the consequences (not draft one more player or whatever - i'm not exactly sure) to give Tom this and as i said before i have a lot of respect for bomber for encouraging this as well.

of course he would play on next year on minimum wage wtih the expectation of once he reached 201 games he would make way for gillies.

to all those that say the club is more important than the player: i think you all will agree that a key to geelong's success has been the loyalty / devotion / comittment of the players. by the cats giving harley this it will demonstrate to the players even more about how important they are to the club - and how we're not gonna flog them off, drop them, etc.