Tom Swift vs Steele Sidebottom

• Thread starter Thread starter TradeDraft

I still think Swift has a Bigger Ceiling then Steele but I that Means Swift has more chances of Not Reaching his Potential where Steele does not to do as much
I consider Swift just as certain to make it as an AFL player as Sidebottom.

Both will be AFL players, it's all a matter of how good they'll be at their peak.

Swift is not an outside mid, have a look at his tackle count and clearances in his last two games.

He is genuine inside mid with some serious pace to use the ball outside too.

His kicking has no penetration at the moment due to being out of the game for so long but a pre-season under his belt and this will improve. Can kick both sides of his body and vision/evasion is first class.

Nobody at the Eagles excites me more but everytime he falls over or gets tackled I hold my breath...
Yep, that's the impression of Swift.

In the NAB Cup against Collingwood my initial impression was that he was pretty similar to Pendlebury with a bit more pace and slightly lesser skills by foot.

Certainly not an outside player.

i actually think swift will be the better player, has more upside with his physical capability, dont think steele will ever have the body type to dominate games, whereas swift has that potential.
sidey was the safe, calculated bet, people saying he'll be a superstar are misguided, as i said doesn't have the body type and explosiveness to be a superstar, will just be a good player for us.
It's not really worth comparing though because as previously stated in the thread it was too big a gamble for us to take him, he was the ideal pick for WC with the priority selection.

i actually think swift will be the better player, has more upside with his physical capability, dont think steele will ever have the body type to dominate games, whereas swift has that potential.
sidey was the safe, calculated bet, people saying he'll be a superstar are misguided, as i said doesn't have the body type and explosiveness to be a superstar, will just be a good player for us.
It's not really worth comparing though because as previously stated in the thread it was too big a gamble for us to take him, he was the ideal pick for WC with the priority selection.

Deisel Williams says high!

Sidebottom reminds me of him in almost every aspect.

Not just the crows game but Sidey against the Saints was also our best mid, in a losing midfield he stood out.

Yeah and that was his 1st 2 games in the 2 Floggings we got he was 1 of the Best Players

The poise he showed, decision making and the ability to hit targets nuder pressure has me thinking Matthew Knights was right when he was mulling over Sidey or Hurley. He has Jimmy Bartel written all over him.

Swift could be Judd like if he can replicate his u16s form into AFL.

Both will be very good players for their clubs. I'm happy with Sidey now then when we drafted him. Loved his finals performances.

Ask me this question two weeks ago and it would have been Sidebottom hands down. But the way Sidey has been behaving like a clown around town lately I think Swift is the better get.

The praise Sidebottom is getting is ridiculous. He's a solid player and will likely be a very good player for Collingwood in the future, but a superstar he is not, nor will be be. I guess it's the one eyed Collingwood thing showing. The Diesel Williams comparison has got to be one of the most ridiculous I've seen. I don't think he will be anywhere near as good as Bartel, but at least there is some cause for the comparison.

So you are saying it was a Mistake to take Steele so Early at pick 11 because to you he is just an Average Player?

Ask me this question two weeks ago and it would have been Sidebottom hands down. But the way Sidey has been behaving like a clown around town lately I think Swift is the better get.

Lot's of Young Players would be doing that in the Off-Season before the Pre-Season starts.

I have not heard about Swift but what not to say he has had been a Clown this Pre-Season

So you are saying it was a Mistake to take Steele so Early at pick 11 because to you he is just an Average Player?

I don't think he is saying that mate. He is merely saying he won't be a superstar like some are suggesting. He is entitled to his opinion, but I think he's wrong. I think he will be an A grader.

Though he is right about the Williams comparison.

Most footballers would be making ********s of themselves, especially the younger ones... Just how it is.

Sidebottom==Swift

I don't think he is saying that mate. He is merely saying he won't be a superstar like some are suggesting. He is entitled to his opinion, but I think he's wrong. I think he will be an A grader.

Though he is right about the Williams comparison.

Fair Enough and I do agree the Diesel Comparison might be going over the top

Lot's of Young Players would be doing that in the Off-Season before the Pre-Season starts.

I have not heard about Swift but what not to say he has had been a Clown this Pre-Season

I don't know Swift personally but from what I've heard he's a bit of a goodie goodie. He was in the top 1% of the state academically and both his parents are doctors IIRC.

I agree with this post.

By way of comparison on our list, he is looking like a Lockyer / O'Bree type. Won't be a superstar, but should be a long consistent performer.

If you could get a long term average player at 11, most clubs would do it. Steele looks like he could be an player of slightly above average ability for a long period of time (see Lockyer, O'Bree, etc).

Superstars are 1 in 50 in the AFL.

He'll be better than O'Bree which throws out the O'Bree type call. He's got better skills and can kick a goal.

O'Bree has played 200+ games and has been a clearance machine for the club. O'Bree is competent in front of goal. Don't forget, O'Bree was taken at pick 10 in his draft, and has been a consistently good / average player over a long time.

Sidebottom may well be better than O'Bree, but people need to realise that just because someone is taken around the pick 10 mark, he will not necessarily be a superstar. If you could guarantee an O'Bree type contributor with pick 11, you would more often than not go for it.

O'Bree has played 200+ games and has been a clearance machine for the club. O'Bree is competent in front of goal. Don't forget, O'Bree was taken at pick 10 in his draft, and has been a consistently good / average player over a long time.

Sidebottom may well be better than O'Bree, but people need to realise that just because someone is taken around the pick 10 mark, he will not necessarily be a superstar. If you could guarantee an O'Bree type contributor with pick 11, you would more often than not go for it.

Fair Enough that Steele will be a Good Contributor, I just think he Offers More then OBree

What has where he went in the draft got to do with anything? Are people excited about Beams because pick 29 is such a great pick? People are basing their judgment on what we've seen so far. For someone who was underage [I'm pretty sure he was?] in his first year to come in and be one of our best performers in the finals, being our best mid against the Saints and BOG in a winning final... that speaks volumes. Extremely classy, can win his own ball, great disposer off both feet, great footy brain... he has the makings of a potential star.

What has where he went in the draft got to do with anything? .

It was in answer to Dave asking whether the poster thought that we should have gone with someone else at 11 because Steele will only be an "average" player. I responded with the comment that if we could be guaranteed an average player with pick 11 (like O'Bree for instance) then we would do it.

Ah okay no worries.