Tom Swift vs Steele Sidebottom

• Thread starter Thread starter TradeDraft

It was in answer to Dave asking whether the poster thought that we should have gone with someone else at 11 because Steele will only be an "average" player. I responded with the comment that if we could be guaranteed an average player with pick 11 (like O'Bree for instance) then we would do it.

Although I totally get what you're saying, with our list and depth, I'd take a 30% chance at a star rather than a 100% certainty of "above average" player.

I agree was because a Star wins you Flags.

Swift will be a star and perhaps suited our inside midfield needs more than Steele, but with one final's performance, Steel convinced me of his worth. Don't care now what happens competitively with these two in the future. We made a safe choice in the circumstances + it's difficult to pass over someone who has kicked 10 goals in a grand final. The important thing is that we did not recruit a dud.

I don't think he is saying that mate. He is merely saying he won't be a superstar like some are suggesting. He is entitled to his opinion, but I think he's wrong. I think he will be an A grader.

Though he is right about the Williams comparison.

Right in what respect?

He is in a similar mould to Williams, both aren't bursty players, both are duel sided, both capable goal kickers, both inside, both great with their hands, both classy....

am I missing something, I'm not saying he is at Williams level but as a player he reminds me of him...

I agree with this post.

By way of comparison on our list, he is looking like a Lockyer / O'Bree type. Won't be a superstar, but should be a long consistent performer.

WTF do you guys watch footy or just look at stats when doing comparisons?

He is already a class above those 2, and with time will be getting the numbers and size to have a massive influence on games.

Swift will be a star and perhaps suited our inside midfield needs more than Steele, but with one final's performance, Steel convinced me of his worth. Don't care now what happens competitively with these two in the future. We made a safe choice in the circumstances + it's difficult to pass over someone who has kicked 10 goals in a grand final. The important thing is that we did not recruit a dud.

Why would Swift be better Suited to us then Steele? Just Wondering

I think he is suggesting Swift is more inside than Steele. If so, being an area we are light on for talent, her thinks Swift might have been the guy. I don't think many would be worried though based on what we have seen of Steele.

Swift did not look great at all the times I saw him play, his kicking and decision making were poor at best, however his last game was good albeit his kicking was still below average but I think he will still become a good player.

I'm very happy with Sidebottom, you cannot teach kicking, and Sidey is a brilliant kick off both sides of his body, he also has footy smarts and inside ability that is needed of a great midfielder.

Swift did not look great at all the times I saw him play, his kicking and decision making were poor at best, however his last game was good albeit his kicking was still below average but I think he will still become a good player.

I'm very happy with Sidebottom, you cannot teach kicking, and Sidey is a brilliant kick off both sides of his body, he also has footy smarts and inside ability that is needed of a great midfielder.

Agreed. I think Swift is a very ordinary user of the ball. Saw him twice in the same game spray the ball on the full under little pressure.

Sidey = Darren Jarman. :)
Swift = Kane Tenace. :o

was that his debut on a friday night against carlton?

because of that, he is now condemned to be forever average.

if you guys had foxtel and had watched swift in the last 6 rounds of the season...

That is a Stupid Comment about Steele,

Well that is the bad thing about the Eagles, That most games are on Foxtel and on at funny times to watch Footy

Agreed. I think Swift is a very ordinary user of the ball. Saw him twice in the same game spray the ball on the full under little pressure.

That is a Stupid Comment about Steele,

i was talking about swift, and being sarcastic. as one poster stated he was a poor user of the ball based on his debut.

Others have answered the question for me. Swift struck me as being an extractor of the ball more so than Steele. This does not mean that I am in any way disappointed that we took Steele. The question mark over Swift's knees were enough to scare me away from him.

Out of all our 2008 draftees we expected Swift to be the last player to debut, we were hoping just to get him on the training park, take it slow and get some WAFL games under his belt in the second half of the year.

He was in fact the first to debut and exceeded all expectations.

Yes his first few games were horrible but he was close to our best away in Adelaide when we got thumped in Rd 21, which is telling of a first year player and he had another great game against Richmond in Rd 22.

Will be very interested to see what his Rising Star odds open up at...

in all honesty i think swift will be the better player with steele more known if that makes sense?

Quoted for evidence!:)

Sidebottom will be great, absloutely no doubt about it!
BUT Swift will be a player like that thing you get when you look up into the sun and are blinded by just how bright and captivating and amazing it is! A burning ball of fire ready to EXPLODE into awesomeness - Tom Swift ladies and gents, remember the name!

thats all...

Sidebottom showed what he can do in that game against Adelaide. If he can consistently play like that he'll quickly shrug any doubts of being a star. I can't recall the last young talent we had that played a game like that so early in their career.
Even with Pendlebury it was always flashes of brilliance that alluded to the fact he was gifted, but Sidebottom owned that Adelaide game, it was ridiculous.

Comparing him to O'Bree in any way is laughable, the kid shows significantly more poise in a final, on the MCG in front of 80k as an 18 year old than O'Bree has ever shown in his career.
For a kid who is widely known as not being overly quick, he manages to find himself with oodles of time every instance he has the ball in his hands.

It is an impossible comparison only a year on from when the choice was made, but needless to say we won't be letting go of Sidey too soon.

On a side note, what is the stuff about Sidey acting like a clown? I obviously missed that?

Edit: I'm guessing it was in reference to him going home and getting on the juice with his mates from back there? Pfft, pull your head in if you see the need to whinge about shit like this, seriously.

Kid works his arse off for 10-11 months of the year, I think he is entitled to let his hair down in the off season and engage in the same shit we all did at that age. Heroes from behind their computers criticising 18 year olds for returning to their home towns and drinking with their mates :rolleyes:
Shannon Brynes is a bloke who regularly heads back in the off season and is seen on the gas around Shepparton, anyone reckon it has gotten in the way of his 2 premiership medals? You should go advise him that you know better.

He is a top bloke FWIW and the crowd around Shepparton loves him, so it is no surprise to hear him living it up with them. You'll never hear of him fighting or doing drugs or anything of the sorts, but don't be surprised when the club puts him into a leadership position in the future though.
If drinking in the off season makes you a worse prospect, then we better try trade half/all our list... too bad we'll only be trading them for a bunch of blokes who do the exact same thing.
Tom Swift graduated in the top 1% though academically though so he probably doesn't drink :rolleyes: Obviously the Melbourne Uni kids haven't cottoned on to the fact that being intellectual and drinking are mutually exclusive.

BUMP!

Another great call from Hine.

Swift is a butcher, Sidey a gem and would have won this years RS if he wasn't so good last year.

Swift will come good, don't count him out.
Fair Enough - Swift has the More Upside but also has the Bigger Bust Factor.

Very Good Bump

I confess to not knowing much about this Swift guy, I have barely seen him play, but Sidey is a very special talent and to put it into context, from my perspective, there is daylight between he and Beams. This comparison should be valued as there is no bias. I love them both.

I believe Sidey could well be the best player in the superdraft. I'd take him before Rich, Ziebell (unfortunately has had two broken legs the poor guy) and absolutely before Yarran after 18 months in the system.

Knight wanted to go for Sidebottom at pick 5 over Hurley interesting enough... We all know Hurley is a talent, but if you go onto Bombers boards they are frustrated with him, granted KPP's take longer but you see only praize for Sidey amongst Collingwood bretheran.

Yep, if the draft was done again, Sidey I believe, would be right up there in the top 5, and may well be the best out of the batch.

Fair Enough - Swift has the More Upside but also has the Bigger Bust Factor.

Very Good Bump

Sidebottom's breasts not good enough for you, TradeDraft, that you have to search for a better set in the far west! Perhaps we could pool our money to get implants for Sidey - a week in Bangkok will see the job done! Sidey's bumps will then be worth a second glance too!

That is just a Stupid Post