"Too many passengers"

• Thread starter Thread starter vealesy

Way too many.

But there's no forgetting Bomber Thompson re Ottens "For some silly reason, you people want to assassinate him. It's just rubbish. You people, all of you, ALL OF YOU, leave him alone!".

So much passion. Also, Christensen on getting a Rising Star nomination, "I don't really care. I play for Geelong, what more could you want?"

"We've said to ourselves that we don't, if we can, ever let Hawthorn beat us again because we still hurt from that. It's obviously in the back of our heads, but there's nothing we can do about it now.

Thanks Chappy , too many want to play the one week at a time card. He calls it tough , talks it , then walks it. The Geelong I grew up following would have been scared to make that statement , players like him have given us the best years of our supporting lives and this statement shows why.

Steve Johnson to Paul Chapman in the warm up of the '09 GF.
"Don't care if i don't get a touch today, i just want that medal"

Also Bomber to Cam Mooney at 3qtr time in the GF.
"Moons, don't come off this ground without a medal"

Stevie J in the 2011 GF - get f***d c**t ...
I like this one. Also, not so much a quote, but Jimmy thumping Dawes after kicking his 3rd in the last quarter was pretty good.

Ling to Hawkins pre 2011 finals - "You lead us to a premiership"

Whats your favourite club quote from over the years?

Nothing from the Cats here but some funny shit all the same.

"Nobody in football should be called a genius. A genius is a guy like Norman Einstein." Mick Malthouse - Collingwood

"I'm going to graduate on time, no matter how long it takes." Peter Bell - Fremantle - on his University Law studies

"You guys line up alphabetically by height." and "You guys pair up in groups of three, then line up in a circle." Barry Hall Sydney Captain at training

Brock Maclean (Melbourne) on whether he had visited the Pyramids during his visit to Egypt: "I can't really remember the names of the clubs that we went to."

"He's a guy who gets up at six o'clock in the morning regardless of what time it is." Kevin Sheedy on James Hird

Jonathan Brown, on night Grand Finals vs Day Games "It's basically thesame, just darker."

Ron Barassi talking about Gary Cowton "I told him, 'Son, what is it with you. Is it ignorance or apathy?' He said, Barass, I don't know and I don't care.'

Barry Hall (Sydney) when asked about the upcoming season: "I want to kick 70 or 80 goals this season, whichever comes first."

"Luke Hodge - the 21 year old, who turned 22 a few weeks ago"(Dermott Brereton)

"Chad had done a bit of mental arithmetic with a calculator." (Mark Williams)

"He scored that goal after only 22 seconds - totally against the run of play." (Dermott rereton)

"We actually got the winning goal three minutes from the end but then they scored." (Ben Cousins, West Coast Eagles)

"I've never had major knee surgery on any other part of my body." (Luke Darcy)

"That kick was absolutely unique, except for the one before it which was identical." (Dermott Brereton)

"I owe a lot to my parents, especially my mother and father." (Shane Wakelin)

"Sure there have been injuries and deaths in football - but none of them serious." (Adrian Anderson)

"If history repeats itself, I should think we can expect the same thing again."(Andrew Demetriou)

"I would not say he (Chris Judd) is the best centreman in the AFL but there are none better." (Dermott Brereton)

"I never comment on umpires and I'm not going to break the habit of a lifetime for that prat." (Terry Wallace)

Garry Lyon: "Have you ever thought of writing your autobiography?" David Swartz: "On what?"

"Well, either side could win it, or it could be a draw."(Dermott Brereton)

"Strangely, in slow motion replay, the ball seemed to hang in the air for even longer."(Dermott Brereton)

I think a lot of those are misplaced, because they pop up all over the place, attributed to all manner of different sportspeople. Though, Dermie's seem about right.

Reporter to Jimmy Bartel after 2011 GF win..

" So is Geelong's Premiership window closing now with the retirements and list changes at Geelong?"

Jimmy's response " You obviously haven't seen any of the guys Steven Wells has recruited to the club in the last few years"

Just luv the view of a current champion of the club and the game of our new recruits being so high... :D

Go Catters

ha ha, nice work YPO

Where is couch quoted as saying that Bobby?
I was sure that was much earlier than 89, in fact I reckon Turner was still playing.

The post-match interview with John Barnes Billy Brownless' goal after the siren in the 1994 finals stands out to me...something like "Mate, we're going to get so wasted tonight." Ah, the good old days, when such shenanigans were accepted and encouraged.

I never heard it, but someone brought a Bob Davis quote up around the time he passed away (i'm quoting from memory, so apologies if I get the order wrong: "Newton had his gravity, Einstein had his relativity, Pythagoras had his angles and Ablett kicked that goal."

Where is couch quoted as saying that Bobby?
I was sure that was much earlier than 89, in fact I reckon Turner was still playing.

Read his latest book release which features a great deal of scrap book material and old Drouin photos and you'll find a section on quotes from over the years...but the Couchy quote really stuck in my mind as he would go on to have a memorable 89 final series.

anyone have a quote on Rooke :D.....surely he has a few quotes someone must remember.

Also heard a rumor about Scarlett against Didak as a Collingwood teammate mentioned to stay away from him as he's a gifted karate expert and Scarlett's response was to practice kicking before talking himself up...or something along those lines

anyone have a quote on Rooke :D.....surely he has a few quotes someone must remember.

Also heard a rumor about Scarlett against Didak as a Collingwood teammate mentioned to stay away from him as he's a gifted karate expert and Scarlett's response was to practice kicking before talking himself up...or something along those lines
Max Rooke

2006:

During last weeks game, 2nd quarter, he was concussed, but they didn't realise.

During the third quarter while on the bench sitting next to Wojac, he was commentating on the game. Wojac asked him if he was alright, to which Rooke replied 'shut up, this is an important part of the game.'

After the game, Rooke broke down and began to vomit everywhere.

He is one tough mofo.

And from Pure_Ownage's signature:

"I'm right to go Kenny, I just can't see"

"We Are Geelong"

Tom Harley, just before lifting the 2007 Premiership Cup to end a 44 year drought. Fair dinkum goosebumps with that one.
Totally with you on this one - " been a long ride" " boys played with plenty of spirit" and WE ARE GEELONG !! Felt 10 feet tall and bulletproof when Harls said all that - has also set the tone since that day

"We've said to ourselves that we don't, if we can, ever let Hawthorn beat us again because we still hurt from that. It's obviously in the back of our heads, but there's nothing we can do about it now.

Thanks Chappy , too many want to play the one week at a time card. He calls it tough , talks it , then walks it. The Geelong I grew up following would have been scared to make that statement , players like him have given us the best year of our supporting lives and this statement shows why.
THIS!!! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

But I'd qualify with "years"..!

Mackie to Fasolo, late last qtr 2011 Grand Final: "You wanna have a crack, mate? Who the F*&& are you anyway? Who the F*&& are you?"

Links or it didn't happen :D

Jeez didn't know Mackie was a good sledger. Sure doesn't look like one