Top 4/Top 8 thread

• Thread starter Thread starter footy75

Expect Blues, to make a late push.
Starting to get some injured players back and a softer second half draw
Really need to win today. Unfortunately I think Carlton have had a tough start and probably a bit too far back now. I don't think Carlton have been as bad as it seems losses to Richmond, Port and Brisbane were probably expected but I think they will lament on the on that Collingwood loss come years end. Looking at the draw I reckon 11-11 which is why that Collingwood loss may hurt.

End thread. We saw a really ordinary bulldogs last night, should be an interesting next 3-4 weeks as we’ve seen a number of teams start the season well only to die in the a$s.
Writing off teams after one game. The classic BigFooty comment. I should’ve written Richmond off completely after getting destroyed by Adelaide in 2017, GWS in 2019 and Hawthorn in 2020.

Expect Blues, to make a late push.
Starting to get some injured players back and a softer second half draw

Possibly, would imagine we would be playing much better in second half and the top 8 sides would be gettable...
we have been missing some crucial best 22 players long term.. (Yes, same as everyone else)
Shows our depth has been competitive against top 4 sides Richmond, Brisbane & Port

* Bolded Players best 22 when fit

Back This Week
De Konning
(VFL), Newman (VFL), Parks (AFL)

Back Short Term
Williams,
Murphy, Silvagni, Carroll , Kemp, Martin

Second Half of Year
Curnow & Fisher

Long Term
Marchbank,
McDonald
Well I wish you luck but It's tight, 16 games left and only 2 wins so far so probably need 10 or 11 wins to make it which means you can only afford to drop 5-6 games. I guess I'm looking at it from Melbourne being in a similar position last year and just missing out.

More the way you lost, mate. Pea hearted, and the same old suspects not showing up.
Thanks for the expert analysis, I was at the game. I knew we were going to lose at half time.

Seen plenty of performances like that from multiple clubs that have made it to prelims and grand finals.

Brisbane

Port Adelaide
*GWS
*Saints
*West Coast Eagles
* These positions are up for grabs for a few also rans to make a charge, Swans, Dockers, Bombers, Suns forget the rest...

Richmond will win the flag, it's a matter of who will they beat up in the Grand Final?

Top 5

Bulldogs
Brisbane
Port

Next 2

Fighting for 8th:

Sydney and GWS

Then:

Freo

Then:

Gold Coast
Hawks

Fight for Spoon:

Pies and Roos

I've only got us on 13 wins end of year. Don't think we are much chance of top 4, our best bet is to hope finals match ups fall our way, get healthy and try and win 4 in a row with our best 22 hopefully on the park.

I feel about the same, too hot and cold at the minute so I wouldn't put us in the Top 4.. maybe somewhere like 6th.

I've only got us on 13 wins end of year. Don't think we are much chance of top 4, our best bet is to hope finals match ups fall our way, get healthy and try and win 4 in a row with our best 22 hopefully on the park.
Just goes to show how hard it is to be right up at the top for a long period of time

Being up there for 4 years is a mighty effort

1. Western Bulldogs
2. Brisbane Lions
3. Richmond
4. Melbourne
5. Port Adelaide
6. West Coast
7. Geelong
8. Fremantle/Gold Coast/Carlton/Sydney (one of these as it'll be a bottleneck for that last position).

Prelims:

Western Bulldogs vs. Richmond (MCG)
Brisbane vs. Melbourne (Gabba)

Hopefully it'll be a ripping finals series.

1. Melbourne
2. Geelong
3. Port Adelaide
4. Brisbane
5. Richmond
6. Bulldogs
7. West Coast
8. GWS

I think that'll be the top 8. Sydney and GWS to battle for the last spot.

Every team below St Kilda is now out. Sydney, Giants, Freo, Saints are competing for 8th spot, the others are all set for the top 7.
We are in that mix as well. Only in the 8 because those teams have horrid percentage but lose to gws this week and we swap with them and I dont see us getting back

Haha I know it never really ends up happening because you finish 5th for a reason but how stiff would ya be feeling losing a qualifying final by a kick and then getting the Tigers in a semi lol

Imagine Melbourne go 22-0, lose the qualifying final, then go out in straight sets against Richmond.