Top 5 picks - How many has your team got?

Ablett was in the 2001 draft, no way he would have been top 5. He would have been in other years, but not 2001.

As for Hawthorn, we had one really awful year (2004), the Hodge priority pick was aquired from trading with Freo. We built the team by firstly trading a load of old players while they still had value for solid draft picks. As a result of this, we were always going to have a few really bad years. The system is actually designed to encourage this, not tanking, but accepting that your team is going to spend time near the bottom of the heap.

Geelong have well and truly offset the lack of high picks using the father son rule.

no point in trying to guess when Scarlett and Ablett would have gone without the father son. My guess is High both were very good juniors especially ablett who is my age.

Your guess would be wrong. Ablett was considered by many as a second rounder and Scarlett wasn't highly rated at all. The wonders of hindsight.
The only one of our father-sons who was considered a top 10 draft pick was Hawkins and he was not even part of out Premiership team.

just out of interest where was andy mcleod 'officially' drafted at?

He wasn't drafted, he was picked up before the draft by Fremantle and on-traded to Adelaide immediately. Freo were allowed some concessions prior to the draft as a new team (although they'd already completed their first season in the competition by this stage). I guess it's similar to the way Adelaide recruited guys like Ricciuto and Modra, or Port when they compiled their initial list and included guys like Tredrea, Burgoyne, Dew, Lade, Wilson, etc.

Startup concessions is probably a good term for it.

Top 5 picks since 1997 that are no longer on a list

Mark Bolton (pick #4 1997 essendon)
Justin Longmuir (pick #2 1998 Fremantle)
Ryan Fitzgerald (pick #4 1998 Sydney)
Michael Steven (pick #5 1998 Port)
Luke Livingstone (pick #4 2000 Carlton)
Tim Walsh (pick #4 2002 Bulldogs)

I think thats right.

Some clubs have the luxury of picking up genuine top 5 picks later on in the drat due to the now extinct father/son rule....

Some clubs? Try all clubs.

I'd have loved the "luxury" of having two picks inside the top 5, hell, i'd love to have had even one.

We didnt need any top 5 picks because we got these gems from the father/son!!
Tim Callan, Marc Woolnough and David Clarke.

You forgot the biggest gem of all, Simon Fletcher.

My guess is High both were very good juniors especially ablett who is my age.

Neither were even on the radar early in their time at the Falcons.
Both improved and played for Vic Country late, but neither had stellar junior careers.

That's not a criticism, that was the system and took advantage of it. Good on them.

We didn't take advantage really, we simply adhered to the exact same rules every other Victorian club had.

Your guess would be wrong. Ablett was considered by many as a second rounder and Scarlett wasn't highly rated at all. The wonders of hindsight.
The only one of our father-sons who was considered a top 10 draft pick was Hawkins and he was not even part of out Premiership team.

i dont understand why so many geelong people are still trying to explain this? let it go cause these are probably the duds that think freo had a chance to get loyld and lucas.......no matter how many times they been told..

Tigers haven't done too badly out of the father-son - two All-Australians - Richo and Bowden.

Of them, there's no doubt Richo would have been a top-5 - he had massive wraps - not sure how Bowden was rated.

We've had quite a few father-sons as well since - David Bourke, Tom Roach - none being anywhere near Top 5 material.
In recent years we have tried picking up 'Famous sons' with late picks as a 'flyer' - it worked OK with Raines (pick 70-ish), not so well with Simon Hart (50-ish).
I reckon there should be some sort of Father-son 'rookie' pick available - if no other club wants him in the draft, and he's not worth a real draft pick, you should be able to take him as an extra rookie. It would have worked for Raines - maybe Shane Tuck could have stayed at Hawthorn.

anyone saying Ablett was not on the radar when he was at the Falcons is deluding themselves. he was clearly a talent even then.

would have been an interesting draft in 2001 if an unnamed player i played junior footy with had chosen footy instead of cricket at 16. he may have been picked up in the top 3 in the draft that year. he was as good if not better than Luke Ball at 16.

can anyone name him he played for the Aust U19 side with Cam White, also played cricket for Victoria at 19 but injuries have wrecked his cricket career.

Quote:
Originally Posted by trumby
W Bulldogs 5 - McDougall, Cooney, Ray, Griffen, Grant

ROFL :D

How can you, and eagles fan, laugh when you idiots took him that high? we took him in the 30s if i recall correctly, which is still embarassing mind you

anyone saying Ablett was not on the radar when he was at the Falcons is deluding themselves. he was clearly a talent even then.

would have been an interesting draft in 2001 if an unnamed player i played junior footy with had chosen footy instead of cricket at 16. he may have been picked up in the top 3 in the draft that year. he was as good if not better than Luke Ball at 16.

can anyone name him he played for the Aust U19 side with Cam White, also played cricket for Victoria at 19 but injuries have wrecked his cricket career.

Don't know who you are talking about but am tipping if his cricket career was ruined by injuries he wouldn't have lasted too long on a footy field either...

It makes Geelong's premiership in 07 all that more remarkable. The reality is Geelong has not had a Top 5 pick in over a decade. I stand corrected, but wasn't Hooper, the ruckman, the last? That was in the 80's.

Quote:
Originally Posted by trumby
W Bulldogs 5 - McDougall, Cooney, Ray, Griffen, Grant

ROFL :D

How can you, and eagles fan, laugh when you idiots took him that high? we took him in the 30s if i recall correctly, which is still embarassing mind you

I was going to bring this up until i saw your post, as you mentioned, that funny part was that West Coast got him for pick 4, we got him for next to nothing really, he was really a sweetener for another trade, cream on top, cherry on top trade, free set of steak knives trade sweetner.

:D:D:D

I was going to bring this up until i saw your post, as you mentioned, that funny part was that West Coast got him for pick 4, we got him for next to nothing really, he was really a sweetener for another trade, cream on top, cherry on top trade, free set of steak knives trade sweetner.

:D:D:D
would be a sweetner for WB if he actually played a game. hes a sweetner for ur vfl affliate. number 4 pick should be dominating in the vfl i would presume

DO a search and find the 2001 phantom draft that was done on these very boards. Ablett was rated by the folk on here who did it at the time as a late first rounder at best, and even then only because his name was Gary Ablett. There were plenty of questions being asked as to whether he had what it took to make a player.

I'll tell you whats funny though. If Adam Donohue goes on to be even a decent regular senior player for us, people from other clubs will still have a cry about us getting him with a fourth rounder using the father son rule. This despite the fact no other club wanted him at the time.

Don't know who you are talking about but am tipping if his cricket career was ruined by injuries he wouldn't have lasted too long on a footy field either...

He is a prime example of doing to much to young. could bowl 130kph at 16. played way to much cricket. went under the knife three times before finishing school. played for Victoria at 19. from memory took 4 wickets in his second one dayer.

his body would not have stood up to footy. but boy could he play.

DO a search and find the 2001 phantom draft that was done on these very boards. Ablett was rated by the folk on here who did it at the time as a late first rounder at best, and even then only because his name was Gary Ablett. There were plenty of questions being asked as to whether he had what it took to make a player.

I'll tell you whats funny though. If Adam Donohue goes on to be even a decent regular senior player for us, people from other clubs will still have a cry about us getting him with a fourth rounder using the father son rule. This despite the fact no other club wanted him at the time.

Yeah that will be mega funny :thumbsu:

He is a prime example of doing to much to young. could bowl 130kph at 16. played way to much cricket. went under the knife three times before finishing school. played for Victoria at 19. from memory took 4 wickets in his second one dayer.

his body would not have stood up to footy. but boy could he play.

Well, give over.

Absolutely.
Picked up their best player (Ablett), their Premiership and AA Full-Back (Scarlett), their Premiership CHF (N Ablett), a bloke some say would've gone at #1 (Hawkins)...I'm sure I'm missing someone too.

That's not a criticism, that was the system and took advantage of it. Good on them.

yeah missing Tim Callan, Marc Woolnough, Mark Blake, David Clarke, Simon Fletcher, Adam Donohue :thumbsu:

See I love how people call Nathan Ablett a hack who only got picked coz he's an Ablett, then have a sook because we drafted him with an FS pick and he played in a premiership side. When people want to whinge about that he's suddenly a good player.

From memory:

-White was #1 a while back but we got him with a teens pick I think off Fremantle because he wanted to come home. He's turned out to be in the top handful of ruckmen in pretty much every year of his career and has had 1 AA year.
-McLean was #5 and is almost in the star catagory and is our next likely captain
-Sylvia was #3 in the same draft and has been handy on and off but is yet to explode, largely due to injuries.
-Morton was #4 last year and has shown some very promising signs despite his skinny frame. Looks very good so far!

It makes Geelong's premiership in 07 all that more remarkable. The reality is Geelong has not had a Top 5 pick in over a decade. I stand corrected, but wasn't Hooper, the ruckman, the last? That was in the 80's.
Steven King should be counted as a top 5 - he was selected at number two in the compensatory preseason draft of 95 which allowed teams affected by Freo to select players who were eligible for the following year's draft.

Top 5 picks - How many has your team got?