Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 5 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

I’d be considering VDM for a small defender role. With West, Weightman and JJ forward plus Toby McLean coming back and the rotating mids (plus McNeil can’t play anywhere else) I don’t see an opening for him.
I feel he plays a bit rushed and lacks composure which may hold him back.

If we're going in with Lobb, Naughton and Bruce we will need a few zippy smalls around them though, and he'll likely pick up games even if next in line as a small forwards.

Could Bruce legit play back next year?

That didn't really work out at GWS or Saints. At GWS he wasn't given much chance forward because of Cameron, Patton, Boyd and Lobb so was played back and was traded. At the Saints he started down back, but was then pushed forward and only started playing good footy when forward.

Mate I’m just about ready to throw Naughty back (and I’ve been the single biggest advocate of keeping him forward here) - if we’re going to play the way we do and allow teams to walk the ball inside 50 we might as well put our best player back there. Our forward entries suck but if we can limit the opposition to under 15 goals a game we may be able to scrap through enough out of our mids to win more often than not. Marras coming on quickly too.

Round 1 next year -

Doc Keath Darcy
Dale Naughty Richards

Williams Libba Hunter/Bedendo
English Bont Macrae

West Jamarra Baz
Lobb Bruce Cody

Daniel, Dunks, Treloar, JJ

Give Naughty 2 All Australian jackets at CHB whilst putting literally all our resources into tall defenders, then swing him forward again at 25 to dominate for the rest of his career

Weird out there opinion basically no one is going to agree with. Not saying I would do it.

But if I had to choose one of them to go back I'd push Jamarra back instead of Naughton. Naughton back is robbing peter to pay paul. Jamarra despite showing some nice signs forward isn the proven A grader key forward Naughton already has demonstrated. Not to mention Naughton was already a significantly better key forward in his 2nd season than Jamarra.

And if the logic for "move Naughton back cause of his goalkicking" is the main consideration, well Jamarra doesn't exactly set the world on fire in front of goal either.

It's not going to happen and of course the smart thing would be to develop JUH, Darcy, Naughton as the tall forward options (with Bruce to provide short term option) and not trade lobb in but actually grab a decent KPD from somewhere. But I'd rather Naughton forward and Jamarra back rather than vice-versa if I had a gun to my head and was forced to make a call.

Naughton is a match winner and one of the best forwards in the comp already. I don't think Bevo has any plans to move him back tbh. Putting him back improves our backline obviously, but then our fwds are Lobb, Bruce and JUH which is ok, but not great and none of them are reliable #1 talls who will win you a game.

At most maybe it allows us to swing him back more late in games or at the end of quarters when we are trying to protect leads, bit more of a swing man but I think he is locked in FF for the rest of his career.

Really, we just need to clone him and then we are laughing.

We should absolutely not be ruling out recruiting good players because Bruce, a 30 year old coming off an ACL who immediately did a hamstring on return, exists, or because JUH or Darcy might be good one day.

Literally 3-4 months ago it was all about how we need another ruck and English can't do it alone and how did it come to this etc. We lost a grand final because of our ruck situation according to some. A handful of good games from English along with multiple injuries hasn't just made that not a need anymore.

We need good, mature players in multiple positions. At the moment there are too many players that aren't up to it in the side, which is a bigger problem than particular types of players. Lobb walks into that side tonight and goes a long way to helping (1) make their defenders more accountable; (2) giving Sweet a breather without giving up substantial size; and (3) giving us a more mobile option when Sweet wasn't working.

If someone like Lobb is available, interested, and affordable - yes. It doesn't matter if ideally another position is more of a need. Realistically we need to address multiple positions. We can't be afraid to make some players work harder or have more competition for their spots.

Mate I’m just about ready to throw Naughty back (and I’ve been the single biggest advocate of keeping him forward here) - if we’re going to play the way we do and allow teams to walk the ball inside 50 we might as well put our best player back there. Our forward entries suck but if we can limit the opposition to under 15 goals a game we may be able to scrap through enough out of our mids to win more often than not. Marras coming on quickly too.

Round 1 next year -

Doc Keath Darcy
Dale Naughty Richards

Williams Libba Hunter/Bedendo
English Bont Macrae

West Jamarra Baz
Lobb Bruce Cody

Daniel, Dunks, Treloar, JJ

I don’t mind it but we’d still need to clean up our structure and setup. I’ve had a gut full of our back 6. I know it’s not solely on them as players but Jesus some of our one on ones in the air are insipid.

We should absolutely not be ruling out recruiting good players because Bruce, a 30 year old coming off an ACL who immediately did a hamstring on return, exists, or because JUH or Darcy might be good one day.

Literally 3-4 months ago it was all about how we need another ruck and English can't do it alone and how did it come to this etc. We lost a grand final because of our ruck situation according to some. A handful of good games from English along with multiple injuries hasn't just made that not a need anymore.

We need good, mature players in multiple positions. At the moment there are too many players that aren't up to it in the side, which is a bigger problem than particular types of players. Lobb walks into that side tonight and goes a long way to helping (1) make their defenders more accountable; (2) giving Sweet a breather without giving up substantial size; and (3) giving us a more mobile option when Sweet wasn't working.

If someone like Lobb is available, interested, and affordable - yes. It doesn't matter if ideally another position is more of a need. Realistically we need to address multiple positions. We can't be afraid to make some players work harder or have more competition for their spots.
As long as it doesn’t stop us getting a KPD I’m fine with chasing Lobb. A KPD has to be the priority though.

Just can’t see anyone really good being available and gettable. Maybe getting Lobb will force us to swing the magnets..

Keath has been so bad one on one.
Gardiner has been serviceable but lacks mongrel and O’Brien hasn’t been great.

I get what you’re saying but we only have a limited amount of resources available to improve the list - I mean if it’s Lobb or nothing then sure we take him but surely there’s a defender we could target with the cash/picks? I dunno who and by all means if we try and there’s no one available who wants to come then agree take Lobb and improve the side - but yeah wouldn’t be my highest priority

Not a fan of Lobb, I don't think he is a great player. Has been decent the last two years after stagnating massively after his breakout 2016 year. His bad is still very bad, I went to the Carlton-Freo game last week and he was probably WOG. Young gave him an absolute bath.

Still he is better than our other options currently and would be playing every week without a doubt if he was with us this season. It could potentially stagnate the development of Jamarra and Darcy if we brought him in, it depends how much that really matters in the next two seasons.

Probably concerning that he made himself available at the trade table last year and no one was interested.

Just can’t see anyone really good being available and gettable. Maybe getting Lobb will force us to swing the magnets..

Keath has been so bad one on one.
Gardiner has been serviceable but lacks mongrel and O’Brien hasn’t been great.
He’s not going to help one on one but Darcy at least looks like he can naturally read the play whilst Gardner & OBrien have half a football brain between them. I think he can find himself in the right positions to chop off a few entries and provide a decent contest aerially - I think we see how he goes in place of O’Brien in the next few weeks

Lobb for this year would’ve been a great fit but definitely not comfortable at his price for next year and beyond. This year Bruce was injured, Darcy wasn’t ready and Schache/Cordy/Khamis simply not good enough in that role.

Next season I’d be comfortable with a healthy Bruce, slightly matured Darcy or Schache filling the backup ruck/forward role. Lobb is a solid player but not at the expense of a Dunkley type or filling a KPD role when we have options that I believe would fill that role adequately.

**** Lobb I want some god damn ****ing developed KPD's and a defensive coach who knows what the hell his doing.

Last thing we need is another KPF when we have Naughton, JUH, Schache, Bruce and Darcy coming up.. It's the one position I feel that we have completely covered.

Keath was originally bought in to be our intercepting defender, his turned into our number 1, outside of that we have spuds who wouldn't get a game at other clubs as 2 and 3, I hate, HATE the thought of us blowing 1.5mil on a forward when that money could be better spent on a KPD.

I’d love to move up the draft order to get Busslinger and play him with Keath and Darcy as the tall defenders in 2023 (disclaimer: I also advocated trading up to get McAsey)
Why not both? Our time is now would go all in like Melbourne to get the final few pieces in place. Change of environment might be what McAsey needs, and he wouldn't be an expensive pick up I would think. Busslinger would be more difficult but worth it as I don't reckon that there is too many quality KPD that are ready to go that could be pried out. Would be asking Ben McKay the question though the opportunity to be part of a flag might entice him to move.
Need to do something to shore up our defensive stocks!!

Issue is we don’t just need one KPD. We almost need an entire new backline.
Keath looks like he’s about to fall off a cliff.
I don’t care what anyone says, Gardner is below average and would be in the bottom handful of KPDs across the league.
O’Brien has been below average and has little defensive instinct

So that’s our KPD stocks. With only Cordy in the cupboard and Buku who I would honestly start playing as at least he can defend a 1 on 1.

Then we have no mid sized defenders of any quality - Crozier has also dropped off significantly and can’t stick tackles.

We only have Duryea as a lockdown small defender who will be 32. Richards can play that role but is better in a attacking role.

Our backline is then rounded out by Dale and Daniel who are very poor 1 on 1 defenders.

Almost the entire backline needs to rebuilt which can’t happen in one off season.

Issue is we don’t just need one KPD. We almost need an entire new backline.
Keath looks like he’s about to fall off a cliff.
I don’t care what anyone says, Gardner is below average and would be in the bottom handful of KPDs across the league.
O’Brien has been below average and has little defensive instinct

So that’s our KPD stocks. With only Cordy in the cupboard and Buku who I would honestly start playing as at least he can defend a 1 on 1.

Then we have no mid sized defenders of any quality - Crozier has also dropped off significantly and can’t stick tackles.

We only have Duryea as a lockdown small defender who will be 32. Richards can play that role but is better in a attacking role.

Our backline is then rounded out by Dale and Daniel who are very poor 1 on 1 defenders.

Almost the entire backline needs to rebuilt which can’t happen in one off season.
We clearly need 2 KPD 's plus another 2 developing in the VFL.

With Darcy showing signs he could follow the English path we really need another young ruck forward to develop through the VFL with Sweet just being the break glass ruck through injuries.

That is 2 trades and 3 draft picks that are clear structural issues with our list that we need to ensure we have the currency for if we wish to keep our window wide open.

We can also add class obviously but a blind person can see these deficiencies

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Wouldn’t be against getting Nathan Broad, free agent I believe.

Surely McKay wants out of Nth and if not I would go hard at Logue he has mongrel and can lock down a fwd.

Why not both? Our time is now would go all in like Melbourne to get the final few pieces in place. Change of environment might be what McAsey needs, and he wouldn't be an expensive pick up I would think. Busslinger would be more difficult but worth it as I don't reckon that there is too many quality KPD that are ready to go that could be pried out. Would be asking Ben McKay the question though the opportunity to be part of a flag might entice him to move.
Need to do something to shore up our defensive stocks!!
I wouldn’t be against getting McAsey now. My comment was I advocated for trying to get McAsey in his draft year which would have cost us Weightman plus the costs to upgrade … so maybe ignore what I want.

The inclusion of Rory Lobb clearly makes us a better side. I’m all for it. But that’s not to say that our recruiting at the end of the year begins and ends with him. Why should recruiting Lobb come at the expense of filling other areas of need? There is no reason why we cannot also target a KPD. Bold list management decisions are needed. It’s not either/or.