Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 5 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

Walking Dunkley to the psd draft and losing him for nothing would be the dumbest move Sam Power could make. 100% would rather have 2 first rounders next year than nothing. You would be insane to think losing Dunkley for nothing is the right move.
Would it not be equally stupid to hand over an asset for a completely unfair price? I can understand why you might opt to take the shitty offer but to call the alternative ‘dumb’, is a little shortsighted.

Power is right to sit on his hands until the very last moment and hope the right offer comes in. If it goes **** up then I’ll still back him and understand why he’s done it. The Lions are the ones who should be getting the abuse here.

Would it not be equally stupid to hand over an asset for a completely unfair price? I can understand why you might opt to take the shitty offer but to call the alternative ‘dumb’, is a little shortsighted.

Power is right to sit on his hands until the very last moment and hope the right offer comes in. If it goes **** up then I’ll still back him and understand why he’s done it. The Lions are the ones who should be getting the abuse here.
They’ve got what they wanted by having us now resigned to getting a shitty deal because hey it’s better than the original deal.

Too bad they need to fool Sammy P too

Sending a message here isn’t at all dumb. It’s a message to all future players, other clubs and managers that we will insist on equitable deals and we are comfortable for both parties to lose out should they not be reached.

Predatory behaviour in any context should not be facilitated or accepted.

I think it’s an appropriate price to pay.

Totally agree. This is all on Brisbane's list manager, Ambrogio. If we walk him and get nothing and you are angry then vent on Ambrigio because he caused it.
This is not Sam or the Bulldogs board's fault at all. It is 100% on Brisbane so make sure we are all clear on that.

With less than 24 hours to go and Bears still been difficult time to revisit a Veal deal scenario

Power start talking to North about a deal to ensure we make sure Dunks gets to PSD and they pick him.

Say the above agreement with a late 3 Rd round pick for Hunter and we cover some of his $

Sell it to North they would be the biggest winners of the draft period in the history of it

Dunkley Hunter pick 2 3 Logue Tucker

Cunning enough plan?

They have plenty.
Not only that, if that’s the case then why did they waste everyone’s time? Was their intention to rip us off from the outset?

They shouldn’t have been in his ear in the first place when they knew they couldn’t facilitate it.

David Noble and Barrett were setting the narrative tonight on trade radio:

"Brisbane can only offer what they have".
Yea heard that.
If Brisbane really wanted him they would be making some moves to pay the price.
They are going to run out of time.
The Bulldogs Board has ratified walking him if the deal doesn't improve...
tick, tock, tick

David Noble and Barrett were setting the narrative tonight on trade radio:

"Brisbane can only offer what they have".

You notice in none of these kind of discussions do they mention Bears players. Nothing at all stopping them from offering players up. They got plenty of them.

Totally agree. This is all on Brisbane's list manager, Ambrogio. If we walk him and get nothing and you are angry then vent on Ambrigio because he caused it.
This is not Sam or the Bulldogs board's fault at all. It is 100% on Brisbane so make sure we are all clear on that.
I reckon most see it that way mate, provided we have done the math and don’t think there is a chance Brisbane can get him in either draft.

Jay Clark reporting there has been a ‘compromise’ and Lions are willing to trade 21 and F1 for Dunkley and 39.

It's absolutely Pickering leaking to journos that Brisbane are just so willing to find a middle ground and are being so nice that they're demanding points back for the reigning B&F winner.

What is it with the Bears and their pissy 'getting something back' garbage?

They give us picks, but have to get Judas and a pick or picks back. Tossers.

Not only that, if that’s the case then why did they waste everyone’s time? Was their intention to rip us off from the outset?

They shouldn’t have been in his ear in the first place or they knew they couldn’t facilitate it.
True. And even worse, after getting him to commit, they set about trading out their best assets, putting his trade at risk to prioritise other needs. So arrogant.

Pickering is an incompetent that needs to be called out.

What kind of manager arranges a contract that finishes one year before free agency?

He’s failed Dunkley.

Walking Dunkley to the psd draft and losing him for nothing would be the dumbest move Sam Power could make. 100% would rather have 2 first rounders next year than nothing. You would be insane to think losing Dunkley for nothing is the right move.
I follow footy to be entertained. Seeing Dunkley at North would be entertaining. Well worth my membership costs

What kind of manager arranges a contract that finishes one year before free agency?

He’s failed Dunkley.
Its worse than that.

What kind of manager fails not once but potentially twice to walk his client to the club of his preference?

Dunkley's team must be fretting at the prospect of the only walk he may end up doing being from the PSD to the shitshow that is Norf.

That would be unbearably s**t haha surely not, we’d take him before them if he somehow slipped through to us in PSD but main draft could be interesting
Main draft is literally impossible for the lions.

basically they would need to do a trade on draft night after ashcroft has been bid on. Plus that pick would have to be before our pick 11.

So basically a pick between 3-10. All they have is a future first. All their other draft assets are dried up. And a future first ain't going to get them in the top 10.

Basically if the lions **** this they only have themselves to blame by not trying to get a player to move that has some currrency. Dev Roberton the obvious choice.

He’s failed Dunkley.

Don’t think it would have made a difference, we’d have wanted more than the compo pick for him and would have matched the offer, forcing the Lions to trade and putting everyone in the exact same position as we are now.