Training Training Reports and Updates

• Thread starter Thread starter Jen2310

That must be embarrassing for you, as they’ve made a spelling mistake.

It’s antidisestablishmentarianism. Your old fella is missing an “e”…….

Hmmm bugger. He will need to get super excited before visiting the tattooist to fix that error.

I don't agree.
Neither were ever quick, were both slow in fact, nor could either kick for s**t.
They did their jobs better than most though.
See ball, Get ball, give ball to team mate.
Anyone gets in your way steamroll them.

A smart coach would configure the game to advantage them.
Swan was like a tortoise at times.
The 2010/11 Pies were lightening quick on the rebound.

Lol Swan was very quick not sure where you get he was like a tortoise. He was a burst mid…

Crossley is a legit talent. It’s almost criminal that he was discarded from the system for an indiscretion that has been committed by hundreds of players before him. I hope he’s got the drive to try and get back and we offer him a shot. He could be the steal of this years SPP imo.

Half the AFL is on it or more…been a issue for decades.

Usually when we use the word elite in terms of AFL player's athletic attributes, we're talking elite in terms of the AFL. Blicavs was on a whole level above - he was an elite runner in running circles.

How do you rate him as a player though, feel like he’s being talked up a bit here well above his output.

I remember the years when they tried to settle him into one position and he was never really anything special. It's his versatility that makes him a valuable player. The last few years they've used him where required and it's made him a super valuable player.

yeah but like Goldsack was with us he still is a jack of all trades master of none for mine.

AFL scouts love mr versatile over role specialists. Imo having the odd versatile type is good but certain positions give me a bonafied gun at the role. Hine with KPF is a good example he’s always looking for a ruck forward as that 2nd tall, rather then just a straight up gun FF and CHF combo.

yeah but like Goldsack was with us he still is a jack of all trades master of none for mine.

imo AFL scouts love mr versatile over role specialists. Imo having the odd versatile type is good but certain positions give me a bonafied gun at the role. Hine with KPF is a good example he’s always looking for a ruck forward as that 2nd tall, rather then just a straight up gun FF and CHF combo.
I agree but being 200cm tall and super athletic sets him aoart from the others. As far as being a specialist in one position, he's just another Goldsack

Crossley is the one. There isn't a better performed ruck in the state leagues. He is ready made and a serious physical presence. Athletically good when he was in the AFL system. Can go forward too. I would take the punt he can regain his fitness in an AFL system. There isn't a lot to lose here, but the payoff could be big.
Hasn’t it been repeatedly stated that Crossley is very happy at Southport, and is not the least bit interested in returning to Victoria to play football?

Where? First I’m hearing of it.

But surely if he has a shot at getting back on a list... its worth the risk. Unless of course, he has no interest in coming baack to the afl

I reckon the Big Chopper Cross loves the beers more than he loves footy.
That's one of the two reasons I didn't make it.

I thought we were focusing on recruiting footballers.

At least we've dropped that silly idea of recruiting athletes, and just gone straight to the top of the talent list, for a volley baller!!!!
Not many footballers available as Cat B rookies that are worth selecting. The only ones eligible are the ones that chose to go professional in another sport over footy. E.g. Alex Keath, Tom Wilson, Hugh Greenwood

In all fairness, he might have played as a youngster, but coming in as a 26 year old, 204cm beanpole, I suspect we won't see much of him.