Training Training Reports and Updates

• Thread starter Thread starter Jen2310

Look I really love Ginni too. I see his smarts as being elite. For instance i love the smart little things he does like knowing when to hold on to the ball and take a tackle to protect the lead, rather than take a wild shot and give up the ball. I love the way he knows when to block for others. etc

But I also see a player that isnt quite quick enough to lay tackles in the fwd line, and I also see a player that often gets tackled with the ball because he isn't quite quick enough, and some scoring opportunities definitely go begging.

So while I am bullish on him overall, I just am not sure that he is a total "lock" the way some see it. Although I really hope he gets to that point.

The other thing I see is that having a very fast forward line may be our best overall approach, where the total exceeds the sum of its part. So even though Ginni is a better forward than say Mcreery, having a combo of all our fastest forwards may still be the best for the team
Jack's fabulous, but like an undersized tall, he's certainly not physically ideal for his role. Long term, I wouldn't be surprised to see him in the midfield.

He’s still young and will develop more physical strength. His smarts and football brain will likely take him a long way. Leg speed isn’t everything.
The block he laid in Round 23 for Jamie Elliott is now part of club folklore & a great example of his footy smarts.
He already seems stronger this year.

Jack's fabulous, but like an undersized tall, he's certainly not physically ideal for his role. Long term, I wouldn't be surprised to see him in the midfield.
He’s great as mid! Really good awareness and execution, he’s a natural footballer…not your athlete prototype of today.

Really looking forward to this hitout v the Blues. Although a little rusty at times our transition work seems like it’s got even faster.

Would love to see McStay towel up Weitering, and Frampton (if playing) and Moore hold their own v Curnow/McKay.

Hopefully the Messiah gets a run in the midfield. The prospect of 3 bulls in Goo, Titch and TA plus the Daicos boys on the receive is mouth watering.

my pref would have been to take Cats 1st for Ollie
Then
  • Allen at 19 R1
  • Barnett at R1 (Ollie pick)
  • hopefully get Ryan R2 at 30 or move up
Allan was a great get at pick 19
IIRC, trading Ollie basically gave us both Ryan & Mitchell in the 3 club deal with the Hawks & Cats. I liked Barnett, but give me Ryan & Titch anyday.
Hind stated that clubs had interest in Ryan at live pick 28 & it was unlikely he would still be there at pick 30.

Really looking forward to this hitout v the Blues. Although a little rusty at times our transition work seems like it’s got even faster.

Would love to see McStay towel up Weitering, and Frampton (if playing) and Moore hold their own v Curnow/McKay.

Hopefully the Messiah gets a run in the midfield. The prospect of 3 bulls in Goo, Titch and TA plus the Daicos boys on the receive is mouth watering.

Looking forward to it as well. But pre-season games fill me with anxiety due to possible injuries. I get more anxious than season proper.

I'm surprised how bullish you are already based on draft pick. In terms of history, he went in a speculative hit and miss range
He is in a pick range better than hit and miss. I hope he becomes a player and he has traits that could be exciting. My point is more that if he is the player we are hopi g for he will play in 23 and hopefully a bit. For a goodish mid to be thats not a very high bar.

If he doesnt play in 23 i reckon his chance of being a miss becomes quite high.

Allan was a great get at pick 19
IIRC, trading Ollie basically gave us both Ryan & Mitchell in the 3 club deal with the Hawks & Cats. I liked Barnett, but give me Ryan & Titch anyday.
Hind stated that clubs had interest in Ryan at live pick 28 & it was unlikely he would still be there at pick 30.
My main gripe was on trading pick 30, effectively gifting Cowan to the Bloos for their future 2nd. We can only hope they stink it up in 2023.
Who knows what we might have been able to orchestrate if we’d got the last pick if R1 for Ollie on the first day of trading
We might have been able to swing deals to bring in Mitchell for late picks / move from 30 to 28 to grab Ryan

I like the trade to get into 2nd round of 2023 and the flexibility it provides
This prob wouldn’t have been possible if we’d done the early trade for the Barnett pick

Who knows what we might have been able to orchestrate if we’d got the last pick if R1 for Ollie on the first day of trading
We might have been able to swing deals to bring in Mitchell for late picks / move from 30 to 28 to grab Ryan

This prob wouldn’t have been possible if we’d done the early trade for the Barnett pick
You have to give to get.
IIRC, Ryan was in Hine's thinking even for our 1st round pick.
Allan would have been in top 10 contention if he'd played a full season, so to get him when we did was a bonus.
Plus he has already committed to another 2 years.
He seems like a quality young man.

Yeh, things could have gone differently for sure.
The Scats certainly made it a lot harder when they "strategically" sold off most of their picks to the Brions

Yeh, things could have gone differently for sure.
The Scats certainly made it alot harder when they sold off their other picks to the Brions
They undoubtedly did that to back us into a corner & force us to accept less for Henry than we wanted.

It didn't work out to well for them in the end, tried to get to smart & they gave up a lot when the dust settled.
Happy with Ryan & Titch

He'll be back

Interesting to see Ginni claim that this was his either his first illicit drug use while at the club, or that he normally does drugs on the field. Not clear about which…

Look I really love Ginni too. I see his smarts as being elite. For instance i love the smart little things he does like knowing when to hold on to the ball and take a tackle to protect the lead, rather than take a wild shot and give up the ball. I love the way he knows when to block for others. etc

But I also see a player that isnt quite quick enough to lay tackles in the fwd line, and I also see a player that often gets tackled with the ball because he isn't quite quick enough, and some scoring opportunities definitely go begging.

So while I am bullish on him overall, I just am not sure that he is a total "lock" the way some see it. Although I really hope he gets to that point.

The other thing I see is that having a very fast forward line may be our best overall approach, where the total exceeds the sum of its part. So even though Ginni is a better forward than say Mcreery, having a combo of all our fastest forwards may still be the best for the team

The guy is a FWIT who drinks his own bath water and believes what he reads in the media - couldn’t careless about someone who disrupts my team’s preparations for the coming year.

Time to grow up mate you aint done shit yet to think you are bigger than the game

There I said it.

Well it didn’t work. We basically ended up getting Mitchell for free and on a subsidised salary… a far better deal than we were asking for, which was moving up the draft order by 6-7 spots…instead we got a Brownlow medallist as steakknives….

Come visit the preview threat MM.

He's always been a forward from what I understand. And I doubt he has the engine to play in the midfield. He's all smarts and not that much athleticism.

He was pick 19, that range has historically been pretty much exactly hit and miss, with half of them playing 100 games.
Fair call. I like to look at it 1-10 having excellent chances. 11-20 reasonable expectations , as you say 1 in 2 get to 100 games, 20 to 50 as speculative,not big difference seen in those 30, and and about 1 in 3 hit 100.

So the pick range Allen comes in at no certainty but good hope. Now he has been mentioned by some senior players as impressing in the pre season and the club now has extended him so early our expectations rise.

Fair call. I like to look at it 1-10 having excellent chances. 11-20 reasonable expectations , as you say 1 in 2 get to 100 games, 20 to 50 as speculative,not big difference seen in those 30, and and about 1 in 3 hit 100.

So the pick range Allen comes in at no certainty but good hope. Now he has been mentioned by some senior players as impressing in the pre season and the club now has extended him so early our expectations rise.
Given he is now essentially on a 4 year deal, the club clearly value him highly. He has some tools, add that to his frame. I reckon we'll see him play some games this year.

The guy is a FWIT who drinks his own bath water and believes what he reads in the media - couldn’t careless about someone who disrupts my team’s preparations for the coming year.

Time to grow up mate you aint done s**t yet to think you are bigger than the game

There I said it.

are you talking about Ginni or about me?
I didnt realise you knew me so well!;)

What a stupid act, and to do it while your on a club training camp, like wtf!

Hopefully Hill or even Carmichael make it hard for Ginnivan to come straight back in, and make him work hard for his spot through the VFL.

I hope he works hard then comes back and blitzes it.