Training Training Reports, Pics 2017

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

No it's not.

Play him on his own in the VFL; Kreuze did fine on his own in the AFL and is extremely deserving of his spot. They both took a grab or two when all was said and done, but one put a lot more pressure on the ball carrier and (through that, aerial and ground work) secured more clearances for his team than the other.

25 is young for a ruckman, should be hitting his prime next couple of seasons, needs to be played.

kreuz not in the best 15 rucks in the league, how is he extremely deserving of a spot? Maybe he needs a run in the twos.

He's not in the best 15 rucks in the league, how is he extremely deserving of a spot?
The likely way you came to that conclusion is based on average hitouts, where he was 19th while regularly splitting time with Phillips (who played 16 games).

He was 12th on total hitouts, and that's just one statistic that makes up a ruckman's efforts (remembering that the point of them hitting the ball is to help deliver a clearance for their team). I believe he actually outpaced Hawthorn's best hitout accumulator in their 'much-vaunted' 2-man setup.

Oh, and based on your likely reasoning, Shaun Hampson is a top 5 ruck; Leuenberger top 10.

Not sure what Bolton will do but must be tempted to develop Marchbank Weitering Plowman G-Mac Macreadie etc together as a group
That's more like it, Plowman - Marchbank - Simpson
Docherty - Weitering - Byrne *
That's a cracking start with a very handy, youthful defence (with enough experience to build off to be regular starters this year) subject to staying fit.
Question will be who will start in Byrne's position at the start of the season (Marchbank may float up to the HBF with a senior head like Rowe/A. Silvagni/White in a key post or Sheehan to fill the HBF gap).
Simpson will then be the next position to replace, which will have to be quality.

That's more like it, Plowman - Marchbank - Simpson
Docherty - Weitering - Byrne *
That's a cracking start with a very handy, youthful defence (with enough experience to build off to be regular starters this year) subject to staying fit.
Question will be who will start in Byrne's position at the start of the season (Marchbank may float up to the HBF with a senior head like Rowe/A. Silvagni/White in a key post or Sheehan to fill the HBF gap).
Simpson will then be the next position to replace, which will have to be quality.

Agree. A fit Sheehan could be a huge bonus. Gibbs could play off HB as well. G-Mac is developing plus Williamson looks a modern day hbf and a left footer. Lots of very good options

The likely way you came to that conclusion is based on average hitouts, where he was 19th while regularly splitting time with Phillips (who played 16 games).

He was 12th on total hitouts, and that's just one statistic that makes up a ruckman's efforts (remembering that the point of them hitting the ball is to help deliver a clearance for their team). I believe he actually outpaced Hawthorn's best hitout accumulator in their 'much-vaunted' 2-man setup.

Oh, and based on your likely reasoning, Shaun Hampson is a top 5 ruck; Leuenberger top 10.

Hawthorns much vaunted setup??? My likely reasoning?? We're too far apart on this 1 :) I'll just say that I don't read stats, I just watch the game. Final thing I'll say is if Kreuz had more than 2 - 3 above average games a year then I wouldn't be looking to try Phillips.

Disagree laDispute. Jones is meak out there.

Agree both are likely in last years but there are clear reasons why they pick Casboult over Jones - marking is a big one. Ask why they dropped Jones given those stats?

Anyway doesn't look like we'll agree. I just think it is fanciful to quote parallel world type rubbish. The fact is the MC choose Casboult over JOnes repeatedly.

Disagree on Casboult's 2016. Pre knee injury he was filling a role.

Preferring one average forward over another average forward isn't parallel world type rubbish.

I'm not in disagreeing than Casboult is preferred by the MC, that much is obvious. I just don't think keeping him in the team is in any way setting us up well for the future and his one-dimensional gamestyle is actually all that's allowing him to retain his spot. We'll be much better off with him playing at VFL level.

Hawthorns much vaunted setup??? My likely reasoning?? We're too far apart on this 1 :) I'll just say that I don't read stats, I just watch the game. Final thing I'll say is if Kreuz had more than 2 - 3 above average games a year then I wouldn't be looking to try Phillips.
I watch the game too mate, and I look at rucks for more than their ability to get first hands on the footy at the ruck contest and take the odd mark.

If Matty had a smidge more of a leap on him and was hitting FA at the end of this year instead of the end of last, we'd have lost him to a club pushing for the top 4. Most clubs would think they could get that extra reach out of him with specialised training.

When you look at their overall impact on the game, Kreuzer and Phillips are a long way apart.

Neither Kreuzer or Phillips are forwards by any useful measure. Having at least one of them in the forward line at all times really stifles our ability to score.

Unless they learn to mark the ball and lead to space, we cannot afford to have both in the one team.

Great. Let's stay stuck in the 90s

Yeah, coz last season was 1993!! :huh:o_O

Tie yourself in knots if you like but the guy running the show showed that, when fit, their preferred combo was Krooz and Phillips . Maybe it will change but don't hold your breath.

I reckon it was developing pretty well last year.

if you like but the guy running the show showed that, when fit, their preferred combo was Krooz and Phillips . Maybe it will change but don't hold your breath.

i saw last season as bolton trying to be as competitive as he could with a poor list. it was about development and seeing who was up to it.most players got games. he had no real option but to play both as it's all we had. rowe need to be in defence, everytime casboult went into the ruck he really struggled and bolton obviously wanted another tall up forward. mckay was never fit and gorringe got injured after having a go.

next year is different. we have defensive options, rowe could go forward, mckay will be fit as will gorringe. we also will have a much better midfield that will help with clearances.

bolton strikes me as a modern day thinker and coming from hawthorn he will want the flexibility. personally, watching games last year with both made us look slow and very predictable going forward. i expect 2017, given our list, to be a lot different

I've got high hopes(ridiculously high) Marchbank can be our Rance & JGM our lock down. JGM has got all the physical attributes just needs to learn the game. Its bloody exciting either way, hopefully these kids get a clean run.
I'm unconvinced JGM will make the grade.

Saw plenty of him in the twos this year and was rarely impressed.

Are Kreuzer and Phillips training as forwards???

They have shown as much promise up forward in pre-season training as they did in the whole 2016 season.

As far as I am aware, no one has witnessed any pre-season training....