Training Today (10/1)

I posted this on Cats Claw.

Went to training today.

They had a mini match type exercise. The players that stood out to me were:

- Tom Hawkins: Was on Spencer at the start but Harley was moved on to him. Took a fair few marks and presented well.

- Joel Selwood: Had quite a few possessions and was good in traffic.

- Joel Corey: Was the go to man at the stoppages.

- Charlie Gardiner: Play more as a half forward that a key forward, found the ball a bit.

- Nathan Ablett: Was played on Scarlett yet still took some marks.

- Henry Playfair: Played in the ruck and a bit down back. Did pretty well.

- James Kelly: Got a lot of the ball and liked to play on as well.

There were probably others but they are just a few off the top of the head.

There were a few players who didn't play in the this. King, Ottens and Owen were riding bikes and a few of the younger guys were doing running exercises. Mackie ran laps and Mooney did some boxing, which he probably already new how to do well.

They were training hard. A lot of running and a lot of skill work.

Yeah, extremely tough opponent.

Tom would have thought he was playing junior footy again.

Unfortunately we've only got one Scarlett, and it seems they want him to work with (or work over) Nathan Ablett, at least for now anyway.

Ease up on Spencer, he could spoil with his face! He's the only player I've ever seen who runs with his shoulders.

Nice introduction to competitive footy for Tom matching up on Spencer!!! Any sign of Djerkurra?

Yeah Djerrkura, being one of the younger players didn't get a huge amout of the ball, but he showed that when it was close he'd go in hard.

Thanks buddy. Any news on Chapman after he was walking laps last update we had?

I thought I saw him run out at the start but don't think I saw him during the simulated match. I heard his name get called but that was when David Johnson had the ball so I'm not sure if they got 'em confused or it was just a coincidence.

Unfortunately we've only got one Scarlett, and it seems they want him to work with (or work over) Nathan Ablett, at least for now anyway.

Ease up on Spencer, he could spoil with his face! He's the only player I've ever seen who runs with his shoulders.

How do you reckon Spencer went in the agility test at draft camp?

Thanks c_t_c. No G.Ablett?

He was there but he didn't play in the simulated match.

Their was a tall guy with blond hair training. At first I thought it was Reynolds but it wasn't. So, I thought it was Ryan Gamble as I hadn't seen him at all, but when he stood next to Henry Playfair, he wasn't much shorter. So unless Vegas has had a massive growth spurt, we have a mystery player training with us.
Maybe he's someone from the AIS.:confused:

Edit: I also recall some other players I didn't recognize so maybe they were trying out for the VFL.

He was there but he didn't play in the simulated match.

Their was a tall guy with blonde hair training. At first I thought it was Reynolds but it wasn't. So, I thought it was Ryan Gamble as I hadn't seen him at all, but when he stood next to Henry Playfair, he wasn't much shorter. So unless Vegas has had a mssive growthe spurt, we have a mystery player training with us.

You sure it wasn't Mooney after his hair-cut?

Yeah, I'm sure. Mooney was doing some bike riding and boxing.
It may well have been Gamble, as i saw him over xmas when he was home and he has grown (heightwise) a little more since last year !! I don't think it'll be to far away & hard for him to add a bit of strength and muscle to himself either

Excellent!!

Every club has young guys from the AIS accademy training with them.

Their was a tall guy with blond hair training. At first I thought it was Reynolds but it wasn't. So, I thought it was Ryan Gamble as I hadn't seen him at all, but when he stood next to Henry Playfair, he wasn't much shorter. So unless Vegas has had a massive growth spurt, we have a mystery player training with us.

Edit: I also recall some other players I didn't recognize so maybe they were trying out for the VFL.

I believe there are about 5 players from the Geelong Falcons (If I recall correctly) who have been selected to do pre-season with the club. If they impress they may get a shot at playing in the VFL team as emergencies.

Thanks for the training updates. It's good to hear what they're up to.

When is the first intra-club game or whatever? Do they have any practice matches against other clubs or is it straight into the NAB thing? I can never remember quite how they do it these days.

Today at Geelong Football Clubs training session, there was a noticable Absentee, JAMES KELLY, while we are unsure for the reason, expect him to be suspended till atleast round 6, and be banished to the VFL, oh wait, thats already happend,:D just stiring guys, no hard feelings

As usual mate you're just about as funny as a funeral. I bet you're one of those guys who, when driving past a cemetary, points to it and says to the other occupants of the car "there's the dead centre of town" :rolleyes:

Some may have thought it was funny if you got the right player but you didn't....idiot.

Also I was just wondering how the trade with Jonothan Hay is turning out for you?

F**k off

I believe there are about 5 players from the Geelong Falcons (If I recall correctly) who have been selected to do pre-season with the club. If they impress they may get a shot at playing in the VFL team as emergencies.

OK, I though so because I thought I saw Michael Rockefellar at the start but I didn't see him later on.