Training Tomorrow

• Thread starter Thread starter atcocc

Thanks to CG, stabby, James_37, anyone who posted reviews. :thumbsu:

You seriously, seriously overrated Jacky.

I don't get what you see. This hitting a leading player rubbish, when's he ever done this? Probably once and you've ran with it. Most players to have ever played footy can pull this off, me for example, I'm a gun kick to a leading player. Sign me up, I'm on a par with Jacky.

Oh boy! I HATE that player, I mean how dare he take time to development, oh and if he doesn't what a piece of shit. Totally deserving of bitter vitriol.

Thanks to CG, stabby, James_37, anyone who posted reviews. :thumbsu:

You seriously, seriously overrated Jacky.

I don't get what you see. This hitting a leading player rubbish, when's he ever done this? Probably once and you've ran with it. Most players to have ever played footy can pull this off, me for example, I'm a gun kick to a leading player. Sign me up, I'm on a par with Jacky.

I'm saying that he weights the ball beautifully which is actually a very rare trait mate, and something we have lacked in our side for a while. Assuming he gets through the PS unscathed he'll line up in the first NAB Cup game - watch his delivery by foot. He does miss a few targets but the way he gives his team mates the advantage when he gets it right - either by drawing them away from their opponents to approach the footy or by allowing them to make full use of an advantage in a body on body contest - is outstanding. It is just about his best trait imo.

Drum - you'll probably recall that I've not rated Jacky in the past, and I'm not going to be fully swayed by one training session either. But what I saw out there yesterday was chalk and cheese from what I saw last preseason. He had real presence, never looked like getting caught, and hit targets most the time (other than one absolute shocker where he kicked to a lead with a ball that went higher than the goal posts :o).

However, hitting a target wasn't even what I was interested in seeing. He was practising his shots on goal, and getting most of them - last season I reckon he'd have been lucky to slot 25%. I really only think he can make it at AFL level as a small forward, so hitting targets on the lead is only going to be a small part of his game. Not getting caught with the ball, and then turning it into a goal is what I want to see, and he did that yesterday.

He's still got a long way to go, and I'd at least like to see him make this role his own at league level before I start trumpeting that he's going to make it. But unlike last year he at least appears to have gone forward :p

However, hitting a target wasn't even what I was interested in seeing. He was practising his shots on goal, and getting most of them - last season I reckon he'd have been lucky to slot 25%. I really only think he can make it at AFL level as a small forward, so hitting targets on the lead is only going to be a small part of his game. Not getting caught with the ball, and then turning it into a goal is what I want to see, and he did that yesterday.

I disagree Stabby, I'd give him buckly's at making as a traditional crumbing small forward. Sitting around the packs and crumbing is not his natural game and he doesn't seem to have any sort of innate goal sense.

What good stuff I have actually seen him do, has actually been done out on the HFF/Wing area, where he's the one receiving the ball(is a pretty good mark, as well as a good leap, likely thanks to his B'ball background) and delivering to the forwards. He's quite smart when he's got the ball, has pretty good awareness to know where opposition players are and how to sidestep them(which is what we saw at training), he also generally puts to ball to the right spots. He's also the type that would flourish in our side due to his willingness to play on quickly and take the opposition on with his agility and fleet footedness, similar to the way Otten did this year.

For mine, if he puts all this together I think he could give us a pretty good outside style midfielder/deliverer, not sure he's good enough to make it, IMO he has got something and in his 3rd AFL match back in 08 he certainly didn't disgrace himself at AFL level. Last year, from memory, he had a few injury and personal issues which wouldn't have helped, so hopefully he can get back on his bike this year and show us why Rendell initially rated him so highly. The club clearly see's something in him, otherwise he wouldn't still be here.

you forgot a mostly!

Mostly they come out at night ... mostly

If you're in the city of Melbourne, I work there. Com up and ask if I post on BF.... I'm wearing a suit.

You must know my sister, she works there too. Just ask her if she has a brother that posts on BF.

I disagree Stabby, I'd give him buckly's at making as a traditional crumbing small forward. Sitting around the packs and crumbing is not his natural game and he doesn't seem to have any sort of innate goal sense.

Don't get me wrong, I think his natural game is as a winger or a nippy mid. I just don't see him pushing others out of the squad to make his mark there. Similar to Douglas - he's not really a small forward but if he's going to make it at AFL level he's going to have to play somewhere and I reckon small forward is Jacky's sole opening, which is why I was so glad to see him working hard on his goalkicking, because as you say his kicking for goal has been pretty much awful to date.

I can see where you're coming from, he currently looks a long way off selection, but I don't think he's capable of playing as that permanent small forward, we might as well be asking him to ruck or play FB.

If he's going to survive as a footballer, he'll have to maximise his strengths and IMO that will be as a midfielder type and its his challenge over the next year or so to prove that he is more deserving of a spot than say the likes of Petrenko, Cook, Armstrong and Martin, or perhaps one of the older crew. He's probably at the back of the line at the moment and when I project forward I don't see him in my first 22, but that's going on what he's done so far. Fortunes can change very quickly in footy though and if Jacky proves himself to be good enough he'll find himself a spot in our side.

Ok, what’s the deal for Thursday’s training sessions?

Start and finish time and where is a good place to park the car?

Ok thanks and in case I don't see ya at training, good afternoon, good evening, and good night

I was too busy smashing down my Hungry Jacks for lunch to talk to people. I was only there on my lunch break so it was just a quick visit, if I got chatting I never would of left.

Ok, what’s the deal for Thursday’s training sessions?

Start and finish time and where is a good place to park the car?

Ok thanks and in case I don't see ya at training, good afternoon, good evening, and good night

Generally warm up starts around 9.30ish, training should then be done by 1ish, it all depends on how long the meeting is pre-training and what they end up doing etc.

Are we expecting the draftees to train on Thursday?

train - probably
train outside - possibly
train with main group - unlikely

They will be in the gym or on the bikes
almost certain of that, and they'll slowly be put into the main training group.

dont want to put them in and burn them out early, that line of thought came in last year to help out Davis, McKernan, Young, Lee and Sloane, after the draftees of the prior year got burnt out early.

Yes, last time they only released the draftees to train once they were physically ready. Sloane was first in, then McKernan from recollection. Young spent almost the entire preseason on the bikes.

Shaw would be probably the most physically ready to go, but I keep forgetting if it's him or Gunston that's injured.

Yes, last time they only released the draftees to train once they were physically ready. Sloane was first in, then McKernan from recollection. Young spent almost the entire preseason on the bikes.

Shaw would be probably the most physically ready to go, but I keep forgetting if it's him or Gunston that's injured.

Well, there's an article on the website about how Gunston thought he's injury would prevent him from playing AFL - so I assume it's him, not Shaw, that's injured...:confused:

Nah, he injured his elbow early in the year, however managed to recover extremely well and play 6-8 games at the end of the season, during which time he convinced us to take him with a 2nd rounder, so if he's the injured one, its for some other injury, not the one the articles about.