Toast Travis Varcoe

Whoa there Nelly. Shannon did his job but "awesome"? Awesome is 3 Brownlow votes. Awesome is a bag of goals or 35 damaging possessions.

Anyway, you're falling into the "meto trap" - turning every conversation about Varcoe into one about Byrnes.

Aren't we allowed to discuss other players whilst commenting on Trav? come on be serious, comparisons are part of the game.
Both small fwd types, aren't they?

Its just that we're not trying to claim Shannon the equal to GAJ, the Brownlow Medalist, who averages 33-34 possessions a game, they're obviously very different players. He's a real superstar!!!
So how do you get off making outragious claims re Varcoe / Ablett.

Shannon just did his job you say! 3 goals and 9 marks from the little fella, plus more of it again than Varcoe, so why carn't you give credit to Byrnes as well, or are you just plain bias.

I enjoyed watching Trav's amaing balance as much as anybody, including his great 5 goals.

Aren't we allowed to discuss other players whilst commenting on Trav? come on be serious, comparisons are part of the game.
Both small fwd types, aren't they?

It would be tolerable if you didn't do it in every thread about either player.

So how do you get off making outragious claims re Varcoe / Ablett.

What the hell are you on about? :confused:

Perhaps you have me confused with someone else.

Shannon just did his job you say! 3 goals and 9 marks from the little fella, plus more of it again than Varcoe, so why carn't you give credit to Byrnes as well, or are you just plain bias.

Biased? Credit? See above, I said Byrnes was good. I simply pointed out that he wasn't "awesome".

CE , can you remember back in the day about 60 odd games ago debating if he should be brought in even though he wasn't ready? Travis has come a long way.

He's put some size on, looks bit bigger in the right spots but he will never be Paul Chapman.Thats OK because I have a feeling being Travis Varcoe is quite enough. He really is a smooth mover but he always has been, what ever he did always had that spark of brilliance. So what's the area of improvement , it has to be "The Inner Travis"

It was sort of obvious the first game this year although the Essendon game I finally got what I had craved for. Him being the man. Using that glossy run , using that silky kick instead of always looking to pass of to someone else. Taking the responsibility.

Perhaps it's here I would compare him to GA. I still remember GA early , he would draw and dish then as he grew as player he challenged and blow off the defender.

Someone said recently that he finally has a bit of a swagger around the club. Finally , a guy this talented should have a bit of an ego. He's comfortable at the club , he's know he can play at the level.I just wonder how much having his brother at the club has enhanced this. I look forward to the game seeing them both play together because surely Travis current form will make his brother a lock for the club.

See above, I said Byrnes was good. I simply pointed out that he wasn't "awesome".

Yep, you [ somewhat begrudgingly it seems ] said he was good, after making a point of saying he wasn't good enough to get among the coaches votes.

If twenty two possies, nine marks, three goals plus an assist [ or two? ] and six tackles was just good, or what you'd expect from him, would it be fair to say that most of Travs games over his career have been less then good then, because I don't think he'd have figures like that very often.

Hope Shannon just keeps doing "what you'd expect" as he apparently did on Saturday night, because for a bloke who plays predominately forward pocket, four hundred and eighty four possessions, sixty six goals and one hundred and thirty two tackles for the year would be a fair return I'd suggest, matter of fact one could even say it would be awesome.

He has copped a fair bit of stick over the journey

Most of it warranted.

but it is quite clear now that the faith that has been shown in him was warranted.

Now here is where I do agree with you, two career best performances from his seven games this year, showing a lot more confidence, signs are good that he may now be starting to reach the level that many posters here have had him at for years.

You never disappoint Cattery.

I see you haven't actually taken issue with my point that Shannon, while good, wasn't "awesome". Good, we agree then. :D

I think one of the biggest slices of humble pie goes to you when it comes to Varcoe - "going backwards at a rate of knots" seems to ring a bell. :p

He was good. He did what you'd hope and expect of him. But it's not like he broke the game open.

He wasn't in the coaches' votes. I would expect that someone who was "bloody good" would at least be recognised by the coaches.

But as I said, thread title: "Travis Varcoe".

Yes he was;

Essendon v Geelong
8 Travis Varcoe (Geel)
8 James Kelly (Geel)
8 Jimmy Bartel (Geel)
2 James Podsiadly (Geel)
2 Steven Johnson (Geel)
1 Corey Enright (Geel)

Edit: Sorry, I think you were talking about Byrnes.

Yes he was;

Essendon v Geelong
8 Travis Varcoe (Geel)
8 James Kelly (Geel)
8 Jimmy Bartel (Geel)
2 James Podsiadly (Geel)
2 Steven Johnson (Geel)
1 Corey Enright (Geel)

Facts are! most weekends, Byrnes kicks his arse, OK.

And as for Pods 2 votes, I'm laughing!

Have I missed something , wasn't this thread a toast for Travis.

Probably should be another thread but comparing Varcoe and Byrnes is like comparing Milburn to Ling. Same height , same weight but Milburn is 4 years older and plays in a different position and plays a different way. IMO , they are not competing for the same position.Shagga has comon in leaps and bounds thru shear effort , he has done more than I ever thought he would. Varcoe with Selwood are our two youngest regular 22 players. They are our future and when I look at Travis Im confident it will continue to be exciting.

Yes he was;

Essendon v Geelong
8 Travis Varcoe (Geel)
8 James Kelly (Geel)
8 Jimmy Bartel (Geel)
2 James Podsiadly (Geel)
2 Steven Johnson (Geel)
1 Corey Enright (Geel)

How the heck can Pods only get 2 votes between the coaches? I think we can safely say they were both busy eating sandwiches for most of the game if they didn't see his work :p

Yes he was;

Essendon v Geelong
8 Travis Varcoe (Geel)
8 James Kelly (Geel)
8 Jimmy Bartel (Geel)
2 James Podsiadly (Geel)
2 Steven Johnson (Geel)
1 Corey Enright (Geel)

There are only 29 votes there, someone has been robbed of a vote.

I'll put my hand up here. I certainly had my doubts in 2008 and early 2009, not so much that he'd make it - I always thought he could play - more that he'd be a star. I reckon those doubts disappeared in last years GF, and even more so the first time he appeared on the park this year. He just looked like he belonged.

Same here. Never doubted his ability, had big question marks over his physicality and willingness to put his head over the ball. Thankfully that last little piece of the puzzle seems to have fitted in now. Looking very, very promising. :thumbsu:

So exciting to see his confidence grow and change his impact on the game - improved decision making and a willingness to back himself being so obvious this Season
He also has fantastic hands and rarely fumbles now which makes him so dangerous as he hits the contest with extreme speed.
If Adam goes the same way happy days !!

You never disappoint Cattery.

Gee thanks mate, I try not to. ;)

I see you haven't actually taken issue with my point that Shannon, while good, wasn't "awesome". Good, we agree then. :D

And I see you haven't taken issue with my assessment of Travs career either, guess this means we're in agreeance again. :thumbsu:

I think one of the biggest slices of humble pie goes to you when it comes to Varcoe - "going backwards at a rate of knots" seems to ring a bell. :p

Not really, stand by what I said at the time [ although those exact words were a little over the top ]
I "may" have to eat a small slice however for saying I had reservations that he'd ever amount to anything more then a handy player, signs are good he may become a lot more then handy, although two outstanding games doth not a champion make.

Spot on.

<3 YOTC

Byrnes is good. But Varcoe has so much more promise. He has finally broken a game, and has gained confidence each and every game this year.

I love the new Byrnes, I love the new Varcoe even more.

That's obvious! But for me Shannon is most likely to "do something", when the proverbiable hits the fan.
As in last years GF.

That's obvious! But for me Shannon is most likely to "do something", when the proverbiable hits the fan.
As in last years GF.
so I wonder what Varcoe will be like at Byrnes' age, in 4 years, the sky is the limit

dont let facts get in the way v, ole meto is still trying to push the barrow that it was byrnes that handballed to chappy for the goal in the granny when it was quite clearly one travis varcoe.

Come off it, clearly Shagga donned the blackface during a stint on the pine.

Have I missed something , wasn't this thread a toast for Travis.

Probably should be another thread but comparing Varcoe and Byrnes is like comparing Milburn to Ling. Same height , same weight but Milburn is 4 years older and plays in a different position and plays a different way. IMO , they are not competing for the same position.Shagga has comon in leaps and bounds thru shear effort , he has done more than I ever thought he would. Varcoe with Selwood are our two youngest regular 22 players. They are our future and when I look at Travis Im confident it will continue to be exciting.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Thank goodness! I was waiting for someone to write something sensible instead of all this crap comparing Travis Varcoe and Shagga....they are completely different players, playing a completely different role within the structure. Even the stats show that.
Its just plain ignorant to keep diverting to this spurious comparison. Its basically a diversionary tactic by those who just dont want to accept Varcoe as top class.

IMO..Travis will be elite in the next two years. Thompson said in his last press conference, that (even) he doesnt know just how good Varcoe is going to be.......

For a 21 yo...he's a tremendous player.....The Hawk flogs can continue their circle jerk over Rioli....give me TV any day of the week.

And I see you haven't taken issue with my assessment of Travs career either, guess this means we're in agreeance again. :thumbsu:

Not so. I have. Many times.

(P.S. It's "agreement")

Not really, stand by what I said at the time

That's a shame. The longer you leave it to admit you were wrong, the sillier you look. Varcoe is on a clear upward curve and is already having a big impact.

You went beyond saying you had reservations. You said he was going backwards and you even said things like that you didn't think he was a good tackler. :eek:

(P.S. It's "agreement")

Well agreeance has been a word for centuries, not commonly used but a word never the less.

Be that as it may though, I see that's the second time in this thread you've had a pop at someones grammar, not sure why [ as a means of belittling? ] but all it does is make the person doing it seem pretentious. [ most polite word I could come up with ]

That's a shame. The longer you leave it to admit you were wrong, the sillier you look. Varcoe is on a clear upward curve and is already having a big impact.

Comprehension problems? Check my previous post and you'll see I already said I'm most likely wrong about him.
And yes he's on an upward path "now" but wasn't at the time we had that discussion IMO, so let's try keeping things in context shall we.

you even said things like that you didn't think he was a good tackler. :eek:

I did?

Well agreeance has been a word for centuries, not commonly used but a word never the less.

If it is a word (which is the subject of much debate) it is inappropriately used in place of "agreement". That much is certain.

Be that as it may though, I see that's the second time in this thread you've had a pop at someones grammar, not sure why [ as a means of belittling? ] but all it does is make the person doing it seem pretentious. [ most polite word I could come up with ]

Just doing my small bit educating the nation! :)

Comprehension problems? Check my previous post and you'll see I already said I'm most likely wrong about him.
And yes he's on an upward path "now" but wasn't at the time we had that discussion IMO, so let's try keeping things in context shall we.

You said you stand by what you said. My interpretation of that is you are not admitting you were wrong, at least in some respects. Right? That's your right but I think that the deeper we get in to Varcoe's career, the more inaccurate and shortsighted the statements you and others made about his early career form seem.

That's my recollection. Happy to be proven wrong.

Anyway, this will be my last post on the topic for now. As fun as it is jousting with you Cattery! I'll sum up by saying, I'm bloody glad Varcoe is proving to be the player many of us - including the hierarchy at the GFC - knew he could be. I'm also glad that many (but not all, it seems ;) ) who doubted are putting their hand up to say they were wrong.

Am loving Varcoe's current form, hopefully it continues... he is a genuine reason why Geelong this year is the best its ever been

As for the comparisons of him and Byrnes, I think it stems out of competition for a spot on the team... until recently both were the fringe players that could miss out on a spot in the best 22.

Keep it up Travis... loving your stuff

Toast Travis Varcoe