ize_

Also, has she been following the progress of Troy Taylor? Did late season form justify her similarly high rating, and is he now aware of what he has to do to realise his potential?
I think he’s just starting to. Someone explained it to me the other day that he is starting to feel attached to the group and sense the responsibility he has to them. Troy has a long way to go and Richmond are probably also still figuring out the best way to work with him. But I think we all saw a bit of his raw talent this year. It’s such an important time in his life because footy starts to really work out for him, it could change the whole course of his life. That sounds a bit clichéd, but I can’t think of a better way to put it. He’s another one I really want to see make it.

This was from an interview with Emma Quayle on BigFooty. Pretty revealing comment when you consider it's about the guy who is probably the most mysterious player on our list. The fact that he's "just starting to realise" what he has to do to achieve his potential suggests that this season was probably a difficult one for him, and I guess is going to take a lot of time. The part where it says that he's starting to feel attached to the group and realise his responsibility to them is pretty reassuring... I must admit I'd been thinking over the past few days about how Relton has buggered off home and Gilligan delisted. These two seemed to be his closest mates. And then Bling bailed, who was a good role model for him. Almost seems like people kept leaving on him. I really hope we hold onto Troy and "figure out the best way to work with him" because he could be one of our greatest assets if we can extract the most. How long since we extracted the most from a player of Troy's ilk?

Great post Ize. Glad to hear that he is starting to feel apart of the group. It's disapointing what's happened with our indigenous players but it will only make Troy stronger if he sticks around and makes the most of it. Personally I think Emma Q got it just about right when she had him as the 15th most talented in that draft pool. He is a pure talent and just needs to take ownership of being an AFL football to make it. Just thinking about it I think he is a bit of a cross between Motlop and Jarrod Brennan. He's got similar marking to Motlop and the agility, athleticism and tackling of Brennan.

been reported that after reltons walk out , mitch morton really felt he needed to do something with troy & took him under his wing to try & get to adapt to life & football in melbourne (big brother type thing )

if this kid gets through the next 2 years , he will be an amazing pickup for the tigers at pick 51

was rated in the top 20 on talent alone. perfect hff & with a few pre season could become our X/man player hff/big bodied mid to compliment

jack, griff,tyrone etc

If troy gets himself in a good place head wise and Griffs shoulders stay together then the gamble on these two could really takes us places.

Gee we haven't had much luck with indigenous players. Seems Ironic that we were given a grant to start the Aboriginal centre seeing we struggle so much keeping them at the club.

Once this kid irons out the mistakes in his game...and there are plenty at the moment, we could be in for something really speial.
His raw talent is obvious.
If he keeps on the straight and narrow and does the hard work, the sky is the limit for this kid. GC17 wanted to prelist him for a reason and recruiters had him him in the top 10 for talent.
I will go out on a limb and am happy to be bookmarked - will be an absolute star of the competition, not just the club.

Cool!

He is pretty silky. Highlight reel could be an essential addition to any football fan's library, or he could fade. Exciting and definitely a good gamble at 51

Super talented, will be given every chance to make a go of it. If he can really knuckle down there is no limit to what he could achieve. If he can ever get the fitness to play on a wing he will be an absolute star.

Cool!

He is pretty silky. Highlight reel could be an essential addition to any football fan's library, or he could fade. Exciting and definitely a good gamble at 51
Can I take back the bookmark call?:o

Im definitely in the minority when it comes to Troy. Heaps of natural talent and freakish at times, but just to lazy in his approach. Obviously a make or break year, but I for one don’t see him being with us next year (2012)

Willing to right off Taylor in his second year? get real this kid has huge amounts of talent, he needs time and he needs to be nurtured.

People are forgetting that he is 189cm almost KPP height yet he plays small and plays tall, good over head and showed glimpses that he is much more capable below the knees.

2013-2014 I think we will start to see him showcase his talent on a consistent basis rather then fading in and out of games.

Willing to right off Taylor in his second year? get real this kid has huge amounts of talent, he needs time and he needs to be nurtured.

People are forgetting that he is 189cm almost KPP height yet he plays small and plays tall, good over head and showed glimpses that he is much more capable below the knees.

2013-2014 I think we will start to see him showcase his talent on a consistent basis rather then fading in and out of games.

Get real...lol.

I said he has heaps of talent and freakish, but he has that easy going attitude that is a massive problem with some players in todays game. Some players are so tuned and focused (Martin) and they end up Champs, and way to many dont even though they have similar ability, and Taylor is in that bracket. To simply say "if" he gets it together he will be a star is bulltish.

All that aside, he still cant kick, and his decision making even when he isnt under pressure is very ordinary.

He is going to be an absolute star. Provided we can make sure he loses his homesickness and can focus on his footy there is so much upside every club should be jealous of us.

A pretty introverted bloke, hopefully, as Mitch Morton said on the radio, they can work to break the shell and help him feel a part of the team.

With extra weight to throw around, especially around his 3rd to 4th season he will be feared.

Get real...lol.

I said he has heaps of talent and freakish, but he has that easy going attitude that is a massive problem with some players in todays game. Some players are so tuned and focused (Martin) and they end up Champs, and way to many dont even though they have similar ability, and Taylor is in that bracket. To simply say "if" he gets it together he will be a star is bulltish.

All that aside, he still cant kick, and his decision making even when he isnt under pressure is very ordinary.

Jesus Christ, talk about jumping the gun:rolleyes:
He came to Melbourne from Alice Springs/Darwin and had to adjust to that as well as his other off field issues this year which are now behind him' what a surprise he struggled a bit that must have been....
Everyones entitled to an opinion but that is just a stupid narrow minded way to view his year.

Get real...lol.

Did you ever stop to thinking maybe there was something on his mind during the year? like I dunno his court case maybe? or maybe feeling homesick.

Martin had the luxury of moving in with CC and having a family environment around him making him adjust easier to the AFL life for a young kid, Taylor had to move in with Morton because he wasn't adjusting to the AFL life like other players do.

There are alot more factors that come into it then just saying he looks lazy and he doesn't look focused.

And I suggest you go back and have a look at the games he played this year, his GOAL kicking was ordinary his field kicking was good his decision making was OK also but expect those parts of his game to improve as he matures and gets more games under his belt.

Everyones entitled to an opinion but that is just a stupid narrow minded way to view his year.

Narrow minded? how the heck is it narrow minded. Its just my opinion that he wont make it. Its not the end of the world.

His lovers are so keen to make excuses why he has been slow to take off. Well our first and last pick were ok, i guess Troy is mentally fatigued and needs some extra time. Some have it, some dont, its that simple.

Im definitely in the minority when it comes to Troy. Heaps of natural talent and freakish at times, but just to lazy in his approach. Obviously a make or break year, but I for one don’t see him being with us next year (2012)

I do see him being there in 2012 and 13 for that matter. I'm all for writing off players after 1 season (a few games) after moving across the country, being introverted, dealing with a court case and apart from that being just a young indigenous Aussie away from his family..... but well wait a minute, no I'm not all for that...:o

Narrow minded? how the heck is it narrow minded. Its just my opinion that he wont make it. Its not the end of the world.

His lovers are so keen to make excuses why he has been slow to take off. Well our first and last pick were ok, i guess Troy is mentally fatigued and needs some extra time. Some have it, some dont, its that simple.

Not every player is the same, Taylor had other things to contend with in his first year, his court case not knowing if he was going to jail missing his family not having many friends down here to confide in.

Your opinion isn't narrow minded your reasons are, saying a kid won't make it because talent issues or behavioral issues is one thing, but to say he won't make it because he mentally doesn't look capable is something different.

just thought Id add my 2 cents and this is my first post on here, so gday everyone :D

He has been compared to Micky Oloughlin and its funny that - besides the assault charge against troy - theyve had a very similar start to their careers. I read an article a few years ago about Micky O and he said when he went to Sydney all he did was cry himself to sleep and want to go home, he felt he didnt belong and being alone in Sydney was hard. Then he settled in, and you all know the rest. Yes Micky O was not Lance Franklin or J Brown or Tony Lockett but we have a key forward along those lines - Jack Riewoldt (while not QUITE of their ilk lol). Troy Taylor, provided we don't stuff it up, is gonna be a gun.

just thought Id add my 2 cents and this is my first post on here, so gday everyone :D

He has been compared to Micky Oloughlin and its funny that - besides the assault charge against troy - theyve had a very similar start to their careers. I read an article a few years ago about Micky O and he said when he went to Sydney all he did was cry himself to sleep and want to go home, he felt he didnt belong and being alone in Sydney was hard. Then he settled in, and you all know the rest. Yes Micky O was not Lance Franklin or J Brown or Tony Lockett but we have a key forward along those lines - Jack Riewoldt (while not QUITE of their ilk lol). Troy Taylor, provided we don't stuff it up, is gonna be a gun.
Welcome mate.
I hope Micky O can have a word to TT.
All the advice can help, especially from a fellow indigenous person who turned himelf into a gun player.

but to say he won't make it because he mentally doesn't look capable is something different.

Why? That is my exact point. Its my opinion he isnt mentally capable to go the extra few % and that is a huge worry for us.

Now that IS NOT a put down, but he is at odds as to whats needed to succeed at this high pressure level. He will not be the first amazing talent to come and go, but as i said, im in the minority, and as as much freakish ability he has, i just dont see him making it.

Mark Burgan compared him to Micky O last year round the time he was drafted, remember it well.

The kid has a lot of work to do, and i still have massive doubts that our club has the ability to get the most out of him - time will tell if the DH era can do something richmond has failed to do in the past 20 years...develop and stablize and aboriginal player

Krakour ( a player that wallace on the trade broadcast basically said needed to go to prison before being able to concentrate to make himself an elite athlete :thumbsd: )

Marty McGrath

Carl Peterson ( despite his recent AWOL HFC performance, he still managed to look more a part of their club in one season than he ever did at RFC )

Richard Tambling ( an amazing individual who is currently in Sri Lanka helping charity - but still failed to be able to settle enough to call RFC home )

Jarryd Oakley Nicholas ( went to WCE and within a month they had diagnosed him with a learning disorder )

Ashley Blurton

Justin Murphy (became a very professional and reliable player for carlton - but was nothing more than a flash in the pan for the tigers )

Wally Lovett

Steve Jackson

Lionel Proctor

Michael Mitchell ( in his few years he was amazing - but the club ultimately failed. he was not happy at Richmond, we did not get the most out of this amazingly talented individual )

Allroy Gilligan -

Relton Roberts - didn't even look close

The list of aboriginal players to don the yellow and black that have failed to develop, keep happy, and feel like they belong at Richmond is a long and damning list - its hard to ignore.

For us to get the most out of Troy Taylor, we are going to have to reverse and 20 year trend with a nearly 100% failure rate ( maurice exlcuded ) of us not being able to get the most out of this very raw, but extremely talented individuals.

In many ways, this is the clubs ultimate test to see how much we have grown and "turned a new leaf"

RFC might as well be death Valley for a young Aboriginal players career - harsh but very true.