Universal Love TRTT Part 8: Random thoughts also sack Hinkley

Sure, if you are born into privilege it's easier to maintain that privilege, also some don't get there on merit, it has always been thus, but please don't tell me that you can't get ahead in this country. And if people who have worked hard to build their wealth, I don't begrudge them wanting to protect it, and this is why many people vote Liberal. They aren't evil.

Protecting their wealth? No one is coming to steal their house/s, freeze their bank accounts or sell their share portfolio from under them.

If we’re being accurate, it’s protecting their ability to further compound their wealth at current rates or better in the future i.e. *lobs trigger word* greed.

It's ingrained in them. The term whinging Pom doesn't come from nowhere. They are stuck in this class victim system.

I look at the post war migration of this country. The Greeks, the Italians, the Eastern Europeans, they came to this country with basically nothing, didn't speak the language, a lot of them basically peasants, came from war torn and ravaged countries having dealt with being over run by the Germans, The Russians, or both, then the Commies. The Poms go on about the Blitz and rationing but they weren't ever invaded. Look at the lives these European migrants have made for themselves, they worked hard to build businesses, send their kids to University make a fist of it. How many people of Greek/Italian etc people do you run int in the professional world? Doctors/Lawyers/Engineers/Accountants etc. It's disproportionate to the population. These people worked hard to get there, they don't have Hyphenated names and are direct descendants of the Squattocracy as some here would have you believe. The Vietnamese are the same. Every second Pharmacy is run by Duc Nguyen's brethren.

Sure, if you are born into privilege it's easier to maintain that privilege, also some don't get there on merit, it has always been thus, but please don't tell me that you can't get ahead in this country. And if people who have worked hard to build their wealth, I don't begrudge them wanting to protect it, and this is why many people vote Liberal. They aren't evil.

This is all well and good, but policies like negative gearing, hefty CGT discounts, and (especially) the franking credits loophole aren't there to 'protect wealth', they're there to help the already wealthy accumulate more wealth without lifting a finger.

I have no issue with wealthier people getting upset over increases in income tax on their salary/wages/commissions/business income etc. That is money that they've legitimately earned and I get that it would be frustrating to be heavily taxed on it. But why should society be bending over to grant tax concessions to landlords and shareholders? That's not earned money. That's their wealth accumulating more wealth at the expense of the public purse while they sit on the couch and watch Andrew Bolt.

It's ingrained in them. The term whinging Pom doesn't come from nowhere. They are stuck in this class victim system.

I look at the post war migration of this country. The Greeks, the Italians, the Eastern Europeans, they came to this country with basically nothing, didn't speak the language, a lot of them basically peasants, came from war torn and ravaged countries having dealt with being over run by the Germans, The Russians, or both, then the Commies. The Poms go on about the Blitz and rationing but they weren't ever invaded. Look at the lives these European migrants have made for themselves, they worked hard to build businesses, send their kids to University make a fist of it. How many people of Greek/Italian etc people do you run int in the professional world? Doctors/Lawyers/Engineers/Accountants etc. It's disproportionate to the population. These people worked hard to get there, they don't have Hyphenated names and are direct descendants of the Squattocracy as some here would have you believe. The Vietnamese are the same. Every second Pharmacy is run by Duc Nguyen's brethren.

You realise there are people out there who work just as hard as these people do, just minus the wanky professional titles and massive pay packets?

And selecting Greek and Italian migrants as representative of their respective nations is fundamentally flawed, in two countries infamous for corruption, poor work ethic and shit economies.
Not to mention the complete misunderstanding of why Nguyen Duc is so popular (clue: it's to do with a feudal class system).

On the contrary, I reckon it’s exactly what he intended.

Since I never plan to watch or read it, I did look through a synopsis of what happened.

The idea of a queen descending into madness because she felt that people loved her lover - who had a better claim to the throne than her - more than her and then saying “If they don’t love me, they’ll ****ing fear me” should have been seen a mile out as soon as it was clear that that whiny little bastard was not a bastard at all. From that point there were only three narratives - either he becomes king (****ing lame, but would have been the “good” ending), she kills him (bad ending) or he kills her and gets shit-canned for it (plot twist ending). There was no resolution otherwise...and that was the last thing to be resolved.

i think the reason they didn’t make the season longer or do another season was precisely due to the fact that they knew the turn was coming and they didn’t want to dwell on it for another two episodes (which is what the story called for).

The end was written from the start. And the end is lame because the resolution isn’t decisive - it’s a compromise in a world that specifically states there are none.

Which is just the kind of subversive for no reason garbage I expect from Martin. And why I’m glad I never kept watching it.

On the contrary, I reckon it’s exactly what he intended.

Since I never plan to watch or read it, I did look through a synopsis of what happened.

The idea of a queen descending into madness because she felt that people loved her lover - who had a better claim to the throne than her - more than her and then saying “If they don’t love me, they’ll ******* fear me” should have been seen a mile out as soon as it was clear that that whiny little bastard was not a bastard at all. From that point there were only three narratives - either he becomes king (******* lame, but would have been the “good” ending), she kills him (bad ending) or he kills her and gets ****-canned for it (plot twist ending). There was no resolution otherwise...and that was the last thing to be resolved.

i think the reason they didn’t make the season longer or do another season was precisely due to the fact that they knew the turn was coming and they didn’t want to dwell on it for another two episodes (which is what the story called for).

The end was written from the start. And the end is lame because the resolution isn’t decisive - it’s a compromise in a world that specifically states there are none.

Which is just the kind of subversive for no reason garbage I expect from Martin. And why I’m glad I never kept watching it.

The Daenerys storyline is almost certainly planned, it has been foreshadowed through the entirety of the books and also the accompanying 'histories'. The rest of it was just a ridiculous rush to wind the show up.

Probably because they knew after Emelia Clarke saw what actually happens to her character, she would never agree to come back and play a mad psychopath for another two episodes, much less another two seasons. Even if that’s what the story called for. She could play innocence and light because that’s what she believes in.

When the actor is saying that it took her days to get her head around it and she still wasn’t satisfied with what happened and why, it shows they would have needed a completely different actor to be able to pull off such a dramatic heel turn. Yeah, the set up was from a long way out, but Clarke obviously didn’t see it coming when she signed up for it.

They would have had to cast a completely different actor if that person was made aware of what was going to happen. Someone who would have been the highest paid on the show, because the talent to be able to pull off innocence and light while having storm clouds appear at certain times, and then completely take them over, is rare.

Probably because they knew after Emelia Clarke saw what actually happens to her character, she would never agree to come back and play a mad psychopath for another two episodes, much less another two seasons. Even if that’s what the story called for. She could play innocence and light because that’s what she believes in.

When the actor is saying that it took her days to get her head around it and she still wasn’t satisfied with what happened and why, it shows they would have needed a completely different actor to be able to pull off such a dramatic heel turn. Yeah, the set up was from a long way out, but Clarke obviously didn’t see it coming when she signed up for it.

They would have had to cast a completely different actor if that person was made aware of what was going to happen. Someone who would have been the highest paid on the show, because the talent to be able to pull off innocence and light while having storm clouds appear at certain times, and then completely take them over, is rare.

I think shes a shit actress to be honest. Most of them wont get much ore work after this, they aren't that good. The story is what made them famous, not their ability, and if your theory were true, she's also stupid.

Wanky titles they earned?

And selecting Greek and Italian migrants as representative of their respective nations is fundamentally flawed, in two countries infamous for corruption, poor work ethic and **** economies.
Not to mention the complete misunderstanding of why Nguyen Duc is so popular (clue: it's to do with a feudal class system).

The Greeks and Italians benefitted from the same kissed on the dick timing that all the other Baby Boomers did. My grandparents were just general workers in nurseries and restaurants and they still paid off three houses within 5km of the city. They weren’t bludgers by any means (shifty perhaps, we suspect Nonno was stealing plants from work and selling them to his mates lol) but even the average double income no kids professional couple would struggle to achieve half that these days.

Therein lies the rub. People have already accumulated assets, when they were far easier to obtain, and then have the audacity to complain that their ability to capitalise on them further is even marginally compromised. There’s no appreciation for the (here it comes) privileged position they bumped their heads on, one that no longer exists.

By any measure it’s financially harder these days and public policy needs to reflect that by shifting away from individual wealth accumulation and towards the greater good. Otherwise all we’re doing is flicking the bricks at the bottom of the Jenga tower.

I've got ahead in both countries very well thankyou very much, indeed I worked up from the council estates of South Wales to the rarefied air of Whitehall before I came to Australia.

That is all the more reason to fight for opportunity for others, not pull up the drawbridge. That is just campaignerish, and what Libs stand for. I would not have been able to without free health care, free education, decent public transport and a benefits system that helped my single mother.

All things Tory campaigners believe should be abolished or privatised.

The implication here is that voting Liberal means you're a bad person. This will not swing votes to Labor.

Labor needs to pursue policies that benefit all Australians (like Super and Medicare) and get away from their class warfare/Robin Hood policies. It hasn't worked for 2 elections now, despite Liberal's best efforts to lose government.

The Greeks and Italians benefitted from the same kissed on the dick timing that all the other Baby Boomers did. My grandparents were just general workers in nurseries and restaurants and they still paid off three houses within 5km of the city. They weren’t bludgers by any means (shifty perhaps, we suspect Nonno was stealing plants from work and selling them to his mates lol) but even the average double income no kids professional couple would struggle to achieve half that these days.

Therein lies the rub. People have already accumulated assets, when they were far easier to obtain, and then have the audacity to complain that their ability to capitalise on them further is even marginally compromised. There’s no appreciation for the (here it comes) privileged position they bumped their heads on, one that no longer exists.

By any measure it’s financially harder these days and public policy needs to reflect that by shifting away from individual wealth accumulation and towards the greater good. Otherwise all we’re doing is flicking the bricks at the bottom of the Jenga tower.

So the only way to get ahead is luck and being shifty?

Makes sense

Protecting their wealth? No one is coming to steal their house/s, freeze their bank accounts or sell their share portfolio from under them.

If we’re being accurate, it’s protecting their ability to further compound their wealth at current rates or better in the future i.e. *lobs trigger word* greed.

Doubtful. Too many people voted Liberal for compounding of wealth to be a decisive factor. I'd believe people voting Liberal to protect their jobs and domicile house value as a greater factor than people voting to protect their negatively geared investment property.

Self-interest and greed go hand in hand and I don't blame people for wanting to protect their livelihoods.

The implication here is that voting Liberal means you're a bad person. This will not swing votes to Labor.

Labor needs to pursue policies that benefit all Australians (like Super and Medicare) and get away from their class warfare/Robin Hood policies. It hasn't worked for 2 elections now, despite Liberal's best efforts to lose government.

Yeah, see this is why Tories win government, they will abandon any and all their beliefs for power, and wealth, exploiting peoples inherent greed and selfishness, whereas Labor (generally) tries to stay true to the core beliefs. New Labour was the British version of what you are suggesting, they gained power....great, but screwed over those they had traditionally represented.
What is the point of gaining the ability to make changes for the better if you don't intend to use it?

So the only way to get ahead is luck and being shifty?

Makes sense

Of course not. But it’s not an even playing field. It makes zero sense the help out those who don’t need (key word) it when there is a growing number of people that do.

Many Italian and Greek migrants worked bloody hard without the wanky professional titles and massive pay packets so that their children could get an education and live a more comfortable life, which I believe is Papa G's point. What's your point? Are you advocating for socialism?

Yeah, see this is why Tories win government, they will abandon any and all their beliefs for power, and wealth, exploiting peoples inherent greed and selfishness, whereas Labor (generally) tries to stay true to the core beliefs. New Labour was the British version of what you are suggesting, they gained power....great, but screwed over those they had traditionally represented.
What is the point of gaining the ability to make changes for the better if you don't intend to use it?

What makes you think Australian Labor is any better than British Labour?

What did Rudd/Gillard/Rudd achieve for nurses, teachers etc? You know the people they claim to represent. A mate of mine who you met briefly and is a retired headmaster from the public school system said, nothing.

Voting for the liberal party absolutely makes you a bad person.

Voting Labor doesn’t make you a good person.

What makes you think Australian Labor is any better than British Labour?

What did Rudd/Gillard/Rudd achieve for nurses, teachers etc? You know the people they claim to represent. A mate of mine who you met briefly and is a retired headmaster from the public school system said, nothing.

Nothing, we really are stuck with a choice of minimal difference. But that's better than none.

I made comments about the cost of Hawke and his pension and expenses last week as a cost to the nation, I got HOWLED down!

By the same people who are complaining that Abbott is getting the same pension.