froars

Look beyond the normal "sack Wallace" garbage for the next two weeks, and try and be "positively" critical of the club.

We have two weeks to analyse the club. I'd rather see that than people just getting into them. Achieves nothing.

You can't really gauge practice matches, especially against the reigning premiers who are capable of smashing anyone.

I would like to see us look at:

♥ Leadership

♥ Realistic look at the list and whether we are getting the players we need to take us to the next level, although that's a bit hard without seeing much of this year's recruits

♥ If not Wallace, could anyone else get anything out of our players at the moment

♥ Do we agree that what Wallace has done over the last three years in stripping the list was the right way to go or do we think we could have achieved success by the Frawley formula of topping up for an eternity and getting nowhere (apologies for my biased loaded question there hahaha)

♥ And if we do agree should we really have lofty expectations like we seem to, or would we be happy to see incremental improvement.

♥ Should Wallace be given his full term?

♥ Do you honestly think people are deliberately doing this to the club lol. If this is not the case, WTF DOES IT ALWAYS HAPPEN TO US hahaha

♥ Ignore last point lol

You'll only give yourself (and me:D) a headache if we carry on like babies.

Be constructive for a change :)

If you can't be constructive, can you start another threat and leave this one alone?

We are rubbish.
Tambling was excellent, although came off late in the game with what looked to be a bad hand/arm injury. Had some very good centre clearances and must start every quarter in the middle. Will be OK. Don't worry about Richie. Will be a very good player for us.
Cleve Hughes did some nice things in the 3rd quarter. Presented, took some good marks.
Geelong makes it look so easy. Credit to them. We make it look so ****ing hard.
Newman easily our best.
Starting to think Moore might end up being OK.
Simmonds was quite good in the first half.
If the Cats don't win back to back, it will be because of injuries to key players.
The way they deliver the ball into the forward line is the blue print that other smust follow. Quick, precise and first option first.
Hawkins is a unit. Massive.
Ablett was quiet.
King is a goer, but lacks everything an AFL footballer should have. Poor bastard. Playing in Richmond's backline must be up there with the worst jobs in the world. Up there with a toilet cleaner.
Morton is going to be a steal at 35 or whatever we picked him up at. Class and knows where to position himself. Kicked the first 2 goals of the game. Absolute class.
McMahon wasn't our worst, but was indirect. Not his fault that we were so under pressure down back and so disorganised.
Foley played well in patches. Deledio unsighted. Nathan Brown was totally useless. Richo, as usual, tried his arse off, but didn't get anywhere near it until the last quarter. Just proves this bloke is all class.
Coughlan will be better for the run, but didn't do anything.
How Kane Johnson is captain of this club, let alone even a player is beyond me.
Thursfield looked OK for the run. Bit underdone.
Silvester...LOL. Forget about him.
That's all I can think of right now. Have guests over right now.
Will post anything else I think of.
In short - Cats will finish top four without thinking about it.

the seniors would be holding back so they dont get ACL injury, the fringe players should be busting their guts because they wont be missed in the home/away games.:rolleyes:

After what I saw this arvo, we are so rubbish, I'm seriously concerned.
You had to be there.
It was comical.
I had Irish friends who I picked up from the aiport and took to the game. My Irish mate leaned over to me and said 'Why do the Geelong guys do thinsg so easily and your mob look like they're doing things so difficult?'
he wasn't being a smart arse. It was fair comment.
What I saw tonight was total shit.
Will reserve my final judgement until the real stuff starts.
Honestly, am quite gutted tonight.
I can handle losing, but when we dish up the same shyte in a pre-season to what we've been dishing up for so long...well, sorry...

After what I saw this arvo, we are so rubbish, I'm seriously concerned.
You had to be there.
It was comical.
I had Irish friends who I picked up from the aiport and took to the game. My Irish mate leaned over to me and said 'Why do the Geelong guys do thinsg so easily and your mob look like they're doing things so difficult?'
he wasn't being a smart arse. It was fair comment.
What I saw tonight was total shit.
Will reserve my final judgement until the real stuff starts.
Honestly, am quite gutted tonight.
I can handle losing, but when we dish up the same shyte in a pre-season to what we've been dishing up for so long...well, sorry...

yehh tonight was hard to watch hey .. raines was absolute rubbish tonight, i thought foley and tambling were the best on by far .. richie did alot of great things .. loved the old "justin madden" side step on the wing ... loved his defensive work tonight as well ... richo had a shocker

tambo alway looks good in preseason practice games, its when the real season starts that I have serious doubts.:o

i'm talking like .. he looked ****ing awesome tonight .. big things are gonna happen to this kid .. he's gonna be a star

Look beyond the normal "sack Wallace" garbage for the next two weeks, and try and be "positively" critical of the club.

We have two weeks to analyse the club. I'd rather see that than people just getting into them. Achieves nothing.

You can't really gauge practice matches, especially against the reigning premiers who are capable of smashing anyone.

I would like to see us look at:

♥ Leadership

♥ Realistic look at the list and whether we are getting the players we need to take us to the next level, although that's a bit hard without seeing much of this year's recruits

♥ If not Wallace, could anyone else get anything out of our players at the moment

♥ Do we agree that what Wallace has done over the last three years in stripping the list was the right way to go or do we think we could have achieved success by the Frawley formula of topping up for an eternity and getting nowhere (apologies for my biased loaded question there hahaha)

♥ And if we do agree should we really have lofty expectations like we seem to, or would we be happy to see incremental improvement.

♥ Should Wallace be given his full term?

♥ Do you honestly think people are deliberately doing this to the club lol. If this is not the case, WTF DOES IT ALWAYS HAPPEN TO US hahaha

♥ Ignore last point lol

You'll only give yourself (and me:D) a headache if we carry on like babies.

Be constructive for a change :)

If you can't be constructive, can you start another threat and leave this one alone?

If we get smacked by Carlton who I rate as badly as us if not worse then Terry has no where to hide Froars.

The Coach is back :mad:

Has he had one of worst preseason campaigns in history? For someone who should be back to his best, he has done absolutely nothing in everyone of our 4 games.

I'm worried about this... big time! :(

well dont be ya bloody knob, browny is one that is notorious for loafing in pre season games....he looked dangerous against Saints moved with great agility, that was enough for me ....forget the bearrier trials partner he just limbering up:thumbsu:

If we get smacked by Carlton who I rate as badly as us if not worse then Terry has no where to hide Froars.

The Coach is back :mad:

That's all well and good, but you better have a good replacement.
And please don't tell me Sheeds.
How weak are some people though to carry on like they do after a practice match.

I don't know if Wallace is a great coach or not, I don't think we'll ever get the chance to find out. He won't see out his contract, the supporters will see to that methinks :mad: But I'll always be grateful to him for having a go at trying to turn this club around. Getting rid of all those players that were going nowhere was amazing to do that in only a couple of years. Hardly any of them went on to bigger and better things, so he was right to get rid of them. His problem is there are no guarantees in recruiting as EVERY club will attest to. We're not unique - it's a hit and miss thing for everyone. Just that other clubs have better resources and personnel. We're getting better but we've still got a long way to go to compete with the wealthy clubs. But when he got here, he had nothing. So IMO he really did deserve his five year tenure. Most people on here realised that, and I really thought they'd remain strong and put up with the crap for a few more years.

He may not be a great coach, but he did what had to be done, and I doubt very much there would have been many other coaches who would risk their credibility the way he has.

The last time you changed your name to Coach Required was for Frawley. He was a buffoon who deserved what he got. I don't think Wallace deserves to be put in the same category as that idiot. Terry tried to do something that was near on impossible and it didn't work. Well, it might have but I don't think he'll see that day :(

I understand the pain, I'm going through it too. But I know sacking coaches has never worked for us in the past.

And we're just playing into the media and everyone who wants to see us fail by self-imploding.

Maybe we should just fold - I can't see a future. Our club and our supporters are both pathetic.

I just don't understand the carry on and we haven't even played a real game yet. Some of you ppl are just beyond words :rolleyes: or words I better not use :D

well dont be ya bloody knob, browny is one that is notorious for loafing in pre season games....he looked dangerous against Saints moved with great agility, that was enough for me ....forget the bearrier trials partner he just limbering up:thumbsu:
Considering 1 of the 4 games played was on TV and very ordinary mind you I think its a bit tough to say players are struggling unless we actually saw the games. Is Brown struggling? I couldn't say from typed reports on Big Footy. I'm just pleased he hasn't had a pre season like his last 2. He's pure class and probably is sling shoting towards round 1. Infact I think we are in the box seat for round 1 considering we've played Swans , Saints ,Cats and let our kids run all over Melbournes kids.

It will be a great year guys , lets just hope its an injury free one for all players

I keep agreeing with your posts Bojangles.:thumbsu:
Browny has never put in a big game in the preseason in his career and you could add a couple of other names to that list
Joel Bowden Pettifer Deledio and Simmonds all looked like they where playing for the start of the season rather than showing a lot of interest in the games that they played in the pre season
I will be very surprised if the above names are not all solid contributors come round one.

Agree entirely with Froars.

Results like last night's are extremely painful, but if we react in the time-honoured Richmond way (panic, demand change, sack the coach) we are destined to repeat our history of the past 25 years. Perhaps we need to EXTEND Plough's contract as a show of commitment to the cause (I know, that's from left field, but the subject line does contain the word UNPREDICTABLE)!

I will cop another couple of years at the bottom so long as we're heading in the right direction (a big year from Tambo and Lids will help me keep the faith).

Anyway, after we beat the Blues by 5 goals in round 1, a lot of this talk will cease for a month or two...

That's all well and good, but you better have a good replacement.
And please don't tell me Sheeds.
How weak are some people though to carry on like they do after a practice match.

I don't know if Wallace is a great coach or not, I don't think we'll ever get the chance to find out. He won't see out his contract, the supporters will see to that methinks :mad: But I'll always be grateful to him for having a go at trying to turn this club around. Getting rid of all those players that were going nowhere was amazing to do that in only a couple of years. Hardly any of them went on to bigger and better things, so he was right to get rid of them. His problem is there are no guarantees in recruiting as EVERY club will attest to. We're not unique - it's a hit and miss thing for everyone. Just that other clubs have better resources and personnel. We're getting better but we've still got a long way to go to compete with the wealthy clubs. But when he got here, he had nothing. So IMO he really did deserve his five year tenure. Most people on here realised that, and I really thought they'd remain strong and put up with the crap for a few more years.

He may not be a great coach, but he did what had to be done, and I doubt very much there would have been many other coaches who would risk their credibility the way he has.

The last time you changed your name to Coach Required was for Frawley. He was a buffoon who deserved what he got. I don't think Wallace deserves to be put in the same category as that idiot. Terry tried to do something that was near on impossible and it didn't work. Well, it might have but I don't think he'll see that day :(

I understand the pain, I'm going through it too. But I know sacking coaches has never worked for us in the past.

And we're just playing into the media and everyone who wants to see us fail by self-imploding.

Maybe we should just fold - I can't see a future. Our club and our supporters are both pathetic.

I just don't understand the carry on and we haven't even played a real game yet. Some of you ppl are just beyond words :rolleyes: or words I better not use :D

If we've had awful players in the past it's because awful coaches have selected or drafted them. It's that simple.
If a major corporation is making bad decisons at the top, sacking the ground staff won't help......you sack the bad CEO.
Likewise with coaches.

We could sack a coach every year until we found the right one.
In our case we give goons many years of failure, excusing them with the old gems like.....he's developing the side, give him time, let's all hold hands and believe in the coach.....rah, rah, rah.
Froarsy, sacking coaches in the past has never worked because we've had bad coaches leaving rubbish players and ingrained traits behind for the next bad coach to work with and badly build on top of.
WHEN WILL SUPPORTERS UNDERSTAND THAT?

Waiting and patience for the next savior has never worked.
Turn everyone over, till something, ANYTHING takes.
You don't keep your first 3 crap cards in Texas Holdem.
You throw em in, and start with the next hand.

And if Terry doesn't get us up this year or next year, he will be EXACTLY like Frawley. No difference on the bottom line.

But like a distorted religion......cause some want to wait till the sun burns itself out......let's just all believe......and believe......and believe......and believe.
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

I was optimistic right through the preseason until I read the reports in the media about last nights game, and frankly it has confirmed what I was trying to avoid accepting, we are a bottom 4 contender no doubt about it. Have a look at the 15 other teams and tell me honestly which ones we are better than, the 6 interstate clubs? No. Geelong? No. Saints? No. Pies? No. Hawks? No. Roos? No. Essendon? No. That leaves Melbourne, Carlton and the Dogs who are about our level at the moment.

Now some of you may well read this and think of me as an arse clown but if cut the crap and be honest in your assessment of where we are at, you will see it as well. Don't get me wrong I can see there are some signs there for the future but it is not going to happen this year.

I was optimistic right through the preseason until I read the reports in the media about last nights game, and frankly it has confirmed what I was trying to avoid accepting, we are a bottom 4 contender no doubt about it. Have a look at the 15 other teams and tell me honestly which ones we are better than, the 6 interstate clubs? No. Geelong? No. Saints? No. Pies? No. Hawks? No. Roos? No. Essendon? No. That leaves Melbourne, Carlton and the Dogs who are about our level at the moment.

Now some of you may well read this and think of me as an arse clown but if cut the crap and be honest in your assessment of where we are at, you will see it as well. Don't get me wrong I can see there are some signs there for the future but it is not going to happen this year.

At least you're a 'realistic' arse clown.....lol
;)

My concerns are in development of our players.

Is it just me or does it seem that other clubs kids seem to show more earlier than ours.That's if ours come on at all.

I don't think its a case of picking the wrong kids as generally all clubs rate the same kids at similar levels. Its when we get them down to Richmond they seem to lose confidence or something.

I know we have now got a shrink at the club but I think it may be a problem with our on field leadership and the way they set the example.

I thought it was great to see Edwards come out in his first game last year and really take the game on. His attitude is the exception rather than the standard at our club I think.

Are the likes of Bowden, Tivendale etc. jaded by years of non success and if so is their negative mindset having some influence on the team overall?

My concerns are in development of our players.

Is it just me or does it seem that other clubs kids seem to show more earlier than ours.That's if ours come on at all.

I don't think its a case of picking the wrong kids as generally all clubs rate the same kids at similar levels. Its when we get them down to Richmond they seem to lose confidence or something.

I know we have now got a shrink at the club but I think it may be a problem with our on field leadership and the way they set the example.

I thought it was great to see Edwards come out in his first game last year and really take the game on. His attitude is the exception rather than the standard at our club I think.

Are the likes of Bowden, Tivendale etc. jaded by years of non success and if so is their negative mindset having some influence on the team overall?

That's the million dollar question 'Tigersman'.
We can see what they aren't doing.
But we can't bottle it, put it under a microscope and find a cure.
And the many Doctors (coaches) we employ can't fix or cure us!

In most instances like this a second opinion is always the answer.

At least you're a 'realistic' arse clown.....lol
;)
I was as optimistic as the next Tiger fan but when reality smacks you in the face like it did yesterday, practice match or not, then I'll call it as I see it. December/Early January I had a signature predicting a finish as high as 6th but after seeing and reading about what was displayed in the 4 practice matches it is clear that was nothing more than hope without substance to back it up.

Mind you there is still a tiny piece of me hoping that I will be proven wrong but somehow I doubt it.

*sighs*

Takes a long time to turn a playing list around, as well as the playing style and culture.

Not saying Wallace is the man for the job, but I thought it was a good move to give whoever that new guy was a 5 year deal, and having done that, we need to give him that time to do the job.

Win the first game against Carlton and everyones outlook will change. Practice matches are exactly that "Practice Matches". Bring on the real stuff, we have a real chance of winning the first game of the year. Bring it on.

Win the first game and we will all be talking finals, but an improvement is all we ask for, the cattle just dont have the footy smarts or ball skills,

but if they have ago they can play