Belgarion

Wallabies
Reading the thread about Malcolm Bligh's comments on NicNat reminded me how it irks me that so many commentators and callers barrack against us in their calls and or comments.

I don't have a problem with, for example, a Nathan Buckley having a bias on Collingwood (although I reckon he's one of the better ones), or any other ex-player having a bias for his old side.

But what really fives me the sh!ts is when a Bruce McAvanney barracks for Hawthorn during his call of the match against WCE.

Similarly yesterday Steve Quatermain was blatantly barracking for Melbourne in his call.

No wonders Victorians are so despised by the football community outside their state.

One thing I forgot to mention, the reason Clynton Grybass was such a respected football caller was because of his total and complete unbias during his calls.

My primary reason for annoyance at commentators in Australia is the overall VERY low levels of preparation and knowledge of sides overall.

The fact that most of the commentators are immersed in Melbourne football exacerbates this, as they know much more about a 3 game player at St Kilda (his school, his favourite biscuit etc) than they do about an 80 gamer from say Fremantle.....

This feeds into a view that they are biased when, in fact, they are just poorly researched.

This leads to the inevitable "sweeping statements" that they read in an article 3 weeks ago. As such, the non-Melbourne sides, in particular, get "stereotyped" and can be for years even after when the stereotypes make no sense.

When you compare many of our AFL commentators (our elite football code) with the play by play and colour guys on US football - the difference in quality analysis and breakdown of whats actually happening on the field is laughably bad here. A joke. So they end up just going on about umpiring or "not manning up" or some other staple of the stupid.

Quatermaine.

That f*** has been calling footy for 5 years and still doesn't know his arse from his elbow.

When I watch footy I prefer to have someone calling who at least understands the game.

Quatermaine.

That f*** has been calling footy for 5 years and still doesn't know his arse from his elbow.

When I watch footy I prefer to have someone calling who at least understands the game.

He actually bores me to tears listening to his 'commentary' - reminds me a bit of Tim Gossage when he used to call footy on Fox.

Bring back Drew Morphett I say..

This is the most annoying thing I hate about watching games.
I'm sick of how f**king bais they all are.
We're better off putting the volume on mute and listen to nothing.

Did anyone here Shane Crawfords comments on Sunday footy show.
How he thinks that we're going nowhere and how he can't see where's the improvement going to come from.

I hate this show off- complete kn*b

Walls and Blight shit me the most, seem to absolutely hate the eagles.

Both shit commentators anyway!

You can easily tell a biased commentator, you can hear it in their voices when goals are scored. For me I like Dennis Cometti. He admitted to following the Bulldogs but you can't tell..........:thumbsu: when he is involved with a game that includes them

watching the eagles play demons on saturday i muted the T.V to watch the game (3rd quarter).

It is actually better than listening to quartemain and blight. Both are F*(Kers and I was going to post this fact but someone beat me to it.

Rex hunt is good for a laugh usually

Did anyone else listen too 774 ABCs' call of the Melb/WC game! F**king disgrace:mad: So pro Demons it was f**king maddening....... Had to hide from my children to blow off steam so as not to teach them new words:mad:
Not only were we losing but the c*nt-entators on 774 were getting all exited when the Melbourne boys won a scuffle with the Eagles. They were terrible.

C**k heads....:mad:

Ahhhh thats better..........

My primary reason for annoyance at commentators in Australia is the overall VERY low levels of preparation and knowledge of sides overall.

The fact that most of the commentators are immersed in Melbourne football exacerbates this, as they know much more about a 3 game player at St Kilda (his school, his favourite biscuit etc) than they do about an 80 gamer from say Fremantle.....

This feeds into a view that they are biased when, in fact, they are just poorly researched.

This leads to the inevitable "sweeping statements" that they read in an article 3 weeks ago. As such, the non-Melbourne sides, in particular, get "stereotyped" and can be for years even after when the stereotypes make no sense.

When you compare many of our AFL commentators (our elite football code) with the play by play and colour guys on US football - the difference in quality analysis and breakdown of whats actually happening on the field is laughably bad here. A joke. So they end up just going on about umpiring or "not manning up" or some other staple of the stupid.

When I was in the UK a few years back they used to show NFL late at night on one of the channels. They flew in an American each week to discuss the game of the week they were showning. Every week this guy blew me away with his knowledge. He not only knew the obvious stuff (names, positions, etc) but he knew college histories, trade histories, play tendencies, etc. When you consider how many players play in each game it was remarkable.

Compare that to the Australia 'professional' sports casters who don't even know player's name and its downright embarrassing.

My biggest pet peeve is the play by play calling on the TV. Its like they think we are all somehow listening to the TV broadcast through a radio and they need to tell us what our eyes are already seeing.

I don't need someone to tell there is going to be a ball up, I can see it on the screen.

I don't need someone to tell me the ball is on the 50m line, there is a big red line painted across the ground to show me that.

It just makes me want to scream: 'Tell me something I don't know!'. Tell me about why a player kicks a certain way, tell me why a team has their F50 organized a certain way. Tell me why a player makes a certain decision.

In other words: Do some ****ing research you lazy squibs and earn your pay.

Rex hunt is good for a laugh usually
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

If you get the chance watch the 06 GF with the 3AW commentry instead of channel 10, rexy and the crew are sensational very funny and just makes the game better. Love it when rexy screams out wwiiiiiiiiirrrrrrrrrrraaaaaapundaaaaaa!!!

and when chick get the smother to win the game.

For above post if you are wondering how, its on the audio or extra setup of the dvd. Although on some dvds its not there (i think the earlier ones released right after the game they didnt have it built in, thats why i have 2)

You can easily tell a biased commentator, you can hear it in their voices when goals are scored. For me I like Dennis Cometti. He admitted to following the Bulldogs but you can't tell..........:thumbsu: when he is involved with a game that includes them

he's subconsciously biased to WA teams and/or players I reckon, but still great overall.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

If you get the chance watch the 06 GF with the 3AW commentry instead of channel 10, rexy and the crew are sensational very funny and just makes the game better. Love it when rexy screams out wwiiiiiiiiirrrrrrrrrrraaaaaapundaaaaaa!!!

and when chick get the smother to win the game.

Or when Rex calls: big cox big BIG COX!!! then Cox gets the ball back moments later and again he shouts BIG COX! The other commentators are laughing while Rex is on a role. He's a lot of fun and it's good listening.

I also like Garry Lyon's call of Judd, Cousins and Brett Jones; pick the odd one out. And the don't go there son comment. Quite amusing.

Or when when Rex says: This is the Toyota 2006 AFL Grand Final PISS UP! He had the boys laughing.

Overall, it was an excellent call by the lads on 3AW. Grybas was the best. Irreplaceable.

I don't watch the 06' grannie on anything other than the 3AW commentary, it's by far the best of the lot.

he's subconsciously biased to WA teams

It's there but it's not blatant - it's only obvious because he actually knows something about the WA teams. Brian Taylor isn't bad when it comes to bias.

For above post if you are wondering how, its on the audio or extra setup of the dvd. Although on some dvds its not there (i think the earlier ones released right after the game they didnt have it built in, thats why i have 2)

Cheers mate I actually don't have the dvd but will be buying it this week. It will get me through these tough times surely :thumbsu:

Rex Hunts fat lady singing is also pretty funny especially when in the car at traffic lights with it pumped up on the car stereo.