Umpiring moves

• Thread starter Thread starter pazza

Any news on who's umpiring the Premier Collegians v St.Kevins game?

Whoever is must be flying in the early part of the season, in all disciplines. Could be preview of who'll be in the mix for back end of the season and finals!

Would have to be three field umpires one would think. Given it is match of the millennium, only three would be enough surely?
But agree Melty, this has turned out to be a showpiece game for the VAFA. Hopefully a big crowd gets down to the Trott to watch these teams go at it!
Hopefully we get the bloke who was on the record last week! A pocket rocket, jet! Ripper bloke and even better umpire!!

Would have to be three field umpires one would think. Given it is match of the millennium, only three would be enough surely?
But agree Melty, this has turned out to be a showpiece game for the VAFA. Hopefully a big crowd gets down to the Trott to watch these teams go at it!
Hopefully we get the bloke who was on the record last week! A pocket rocket, jet! Ripper bloke and even better umpire!!
Babyface, really 3 ?? While I was impressed with the 3 fluro mens work at the king last weekend, I struggle to see why 3 is needed especially at smaller grounds and as for the night game YES this is a show piece for the VAFA but Vafa football is family or was once family football night games should not be allowed we are a Saturday DAY TIME competition.. and that's how is should stay. As for that little bloke on the record last week, if he umpires as perfectly as he keeps his hair im sure he will be a fine whistle blower.

I have been relatively quiet for some time now regarding your continued "umpire bashing" comments here, but by geez have they now gone way too far. Time after time you come on here and bag umpires or say they are not doing a good enough job.

Whatever got you so angry about them is ridiculous and this attitude you have toward the group does nothing. You say you have done ressies games and that a senior game would be a walk in the park. Well why dont you go down to EP, put on some boots, leave your pie and sauce at the door and run a few k's. Odds on that you wouldnt even be able to run out a quarter of premier footy.

S
I have been relatively quiet for some time now regarding your continued "umpire bashing" comments here, but by geez have they now gone way too far. Time after time you come on here and bag umpires or say they are not doing a good enough job.

Whatever got you so angry about them is ridiculous and this attitude you have toward the group does nothing. You say you have done ressies games and that a senior game would be a walk in the park. Well why dont you go down to EP, put on some boots, leave your pie and sauce at the door and run a few k's. Odds on that you wouldnt even be able to run out a quarter of premier footy.
SORRY !!! ill make sure I cheer every decision an umpire makes on the weekend.. us supporters are passionate about our clubs, it actually means something to us.. unlike some umps who just collect $$

As for me running, look I could not run as well as those at the king last Saturday, those three are amazing, but I tell you What id do far better than some ive seen in the higher grades..

FYI. I prefer a pulled pork roll, not pies

there is no need for a third umpire, the big russian has been doing that job excellently all year.

ball-ups and throw-ins are his specialty.

So the perfect hair princess is back again.. (ref overlords website release of umpire appointments) While im not worried about the use of an umpires image unlike last week, this week it at least is for the umpires appointments . BUT BUT what is this obsession the overlords have with this Gen Y coffee sipping yuppy, I bet this perfect hair princess is getting off on this media street attention !!! I wondet what game this little fella is doing this week.. good luck to him, im sure he is a top lad. I juat hope he has got a hair product that can hold up against the rain that we may see tomorrow (some say grippo is the go) personal I wouldn't know, as ive been as bald as a bald eagle since I was 21.. Anyhow good luck to all sides tomorrow & as always "how goods footy"

At an average of two months thinking time per post, I reckon you could have come up with far better responses TA.
Sorry OTP I didnt know you had to be PC to post on football topics. Maybe my thoughts would he better received if I chucked the word #Equality on the end of it...

In this day and age of how serious local footy can get maybe the odd joke can be a good thing...

#LightenUp

Home Team Away Team FIELD BOUNDARY GOAL
Collegians St Kevins Joshua Ball, Gavin de Kretser | Jack Punshon, Raushan Seychell | Clayton Evans, Jack Stammers
I know that de Kretser bloke, he did my lot the other week, he is another perfect hair princess. Looks like the match of the millennium will be a battle between the umps to see whos hair style holds up better in trying conditions..

What's the ins and outs of the move? Is it just due to OMs now being based at EP? One Club more important than an entire Umpires Association catering for all the league.

Surely the biggest umpiring group in the state, who own a building at EP have a say in staying training on Tues/Thurs?

If people can't attend coaching sessions due to the change, will this affect the standards?

Big issue this.

What's the ins and outs of the move? Is it just due to OMs now being based at EP? One Club more important than an entire Umpires Association catering for all the league.

Surely the biggest umpiring group in the state, who own a building at EP have a say in staying training on Tues/Thurs?

If people can't attend coaching sessions due to the change, will this affect the standards?

Big issue this.

Officially its the umpiring department who believe it would be the best move for the group but not supported by the umpires.

But the fact it then allows OMs to go to a traditional Tues/Thurs training routine like most footy clubs it makes you wonder...

Not sure how the change will work, a lot of umpires would have their weeks planned out with Tues/Thurs being umpire training and other events on Mon/Wed. The other question would be how will this affects an umpires standing heading into finals if they can now no longer train?

Officially its the umpiring department who believe it would be the best move for the group but not supported by the umpires.

But the fact it then allows OMs to go to a traditional Tues/Thurs training routine like most footy clubs it makes you wonder...

Not sure how the change will work, a lot of umpires would have their weeks planned out with Tues/Thurs being umpire training and other events on Mon/Wed. The other question would be how will this affects an umpires standing heading into finals if they can now no longer train?

Given you have umpire training groups at Old Camberwell and at Westbourne that may balance things out a bit. Who knows, those alternate venues could have the full group training at either of them, instead of running on EP and it's surface (including the infamous pothole at the southern end).

When I was running around, my calendar was easy: I was unavailable on Tue/Thu from March until September. No exceptions. Everything else was M/W/F. It would be a massive upheaval to change.

I know for a fact that the names at Westbourne training are recorded by the training organiser and that is sent in to head office.

From what i understand, there could be more of an emphasis on the alternate training venues to bring the group as a whole more together.

I know for a fact that the names at Westbourne training are recorded by the training organiser and that is sent in to head office.

From what i understand, there could be more of an emphasis on the alternate training venues to bring the group as a whole more together.

All well and good for people in those areas. For all of those around VAFA HQ, and those south, means a huge change.

Just an interesting situation looks from the outside. Do OMs need Tuesday/Thursday for Finals Preparation?

Old Melburnians came to Elsternwick with a huge payout from the Junction Oval evacuation and grandiose ideas how to rearrange the deck chairs. The Bayside council are/were planning changes/improvements to the entire recreational precinct. Thus far, the only winners are canines & tree hugging hippies! They can now sh!t over hectares of Brighton North. Sporting clubs have become marginalised. The weakest voice here was the VAFA.