Umpiring [vs Eagles Mega Thread]

Why is that commentators are too scared to say what really happened. How can Denis Committee go on about what a great win it was for the eagles when the game was clearly decided by some of the most bias umpiring at critical times I can ever remember. The nearest game to this decided by the umps was a Fitzroy loss to Adelaide in Adelaide many years ago.

Do you seriously expect unbiased commentary from 2 Perth flogs like Cometti and Zemw***ers?

I'm done with the AFL after that.

I'm sure i'm not alone.

All season i've been finding it increasingly difficult to give a shit. It's officially the world's most poorly officiated professional sport now. Umpires are literally deciding which team wins.

I love North Melbourne. I will to the day I die.

But the AFL as a brand? As a competition? It can get ****ed.

I for one will be 'voting with my wallet'.

Too many rule changes. The game has gone soft. The umpires are increasingly atrocious. Players are getting rewarded for ducking, lowering the head, diving (and yes, that includes LT)...

Not worth the time or emotional energy spent watching it these days.

I emotionally made a right dick of myself again in front of my missus and my Dog tonight, but Its amazing what passion brings out in you. I didn't think it was the Selwood free kick that totally gave them the win. It was 4 or 5 that led up to that?

1. The scot Thompson one on the wing
2. The ziebell tackle was fine
3. calling touched when it clearly wasn't cost us a goal
4. The Adams in the back wasn't called
5. Selwood did attempt to duck

Alot for any team to deal with in the remaining minutes of a tight match

I'm surprised that you and a few other Perth based North supporters aren't locked up over there Scotty. How did you all contain yourselves in the face of that shocking umpiring?

Was very very difficult... so many enticing things to destroy on the walk home.

Watched that last free kick about 30 times. The WCE player had plenty of time to dispose of the ball but saw a tackler coming. He clearly saw contact coming and lent backwards/low to receive high contact. The contact was "high", but 99/100 times in a game of footy would have been play on.

West Coast are clearly training to exploit a floor in the rules, and the AFL should take a look at the interpretation of this rule. Its there to protect the player, not to purposely decide a game.

I'm done with the AFL after that.

I'm sure i'm not alone.

All season i've been finding it increasingly difficult to give a shit. It's officially the world's most poorly officiated professional sport now. Umpires are literally deciding which team wins.

I love North Melbourne. I will to the day I die.

But the AFL as a brand? As a competition? It can get screwed.

I for one will be 'voting with my wallet'.

Too many rule changes. The game has gone soft. The umpires are increasingly atrocious. Players are getting rewarded for ducking, lowering the head, diving (and yes, that includes LT)...

Not worth the time or emotional energy spent watching it these days.

Mate I was halfway through creating a thread exactly the same as this.

I'm done. Going to take a backseat from now one because the game is just horrible. Even watching other games as a neutral supporter I'm finding harder and harder to like the direction that it is going in.

It is not the game that I loved when I was 4 years old learning how to play in the backyard.

Does anyone have vid of that Scott Thompson one on the wing. Im f**ked if I know what happened there. Im not gonna whinge about the umpires, but that one was so left field that all our players were running towards our goal, and it went their way for a goal. These are strange times we live in

in saying that, great effort boys.

2014 should be a top 4 year. Showed we can not only play with the big boys, we can beat them.

Didn't see anyone crying when we got all the free kicks vs Port. Don't be a bunch of pussies.

We copped what we deserved for letting them back in the game and bringing the crowd back into it. Ask Brad why he brought in two guys who could barely run (Grima and Swallow). Ask Spud why he got outbodied by a peanut like Hill. Ask Petrie why he can't kick a regulation goal when the pressure is on late in a game. Ask Fumbles (Adams) what he has done to get a game of footy. Why do we continue to allow Atley to play soft roles down back, especially on a wide ground like Subi.

I am not very happy with our coach.

Yes we received a very good run against Port. But what relevance does that have to tonights game? None.

You obviously watched a very different game to what I watched. And judging by what I have read here from a number of neutral supporters, to what they also watched tonight.

In my view tonights umpiring display demeaned our game. And it happens far too often as far as I am concerned. And it demeans (some of) the players who put on the display each week.

If we looked only at the last free to Selwood, it was soft at best and really won only through ducking. How much better if he had won that free on merit (and it had been the only poor decision for the night) if we had nothing else to lament, grudgingly, but the magnificent mark and then goal under prssures by Natanui. Instead that part of the game is lost because of the skocking umpiring display tonight.

Feel the pain mate i defenitely do. Il still attend and watch North games, but the rest can get stuffed as far as im concerned. Hard to watch these days. So wish i was alive during the early years when they actually were allowed to play football.

I feel your pain Chad. If the AFL lets *Essendon off the hook, then that will be the final straw.

Oh, absolutely. If Essendon gets let off, then any shred of credibility the AFL has will be gone.

The NFL doesn't **** around with it's credibility. Bring on NFL season.

The one that really pissed me off, and in my opinion cost us, is the Black non-mark. Absolutely blatant cheating there. Black 35 out, our best kick, and straight in front, would've put the game beyond doubt.

How the **** was that "touched"?

I'm not at that point yet but i must admit I have turned a lot of games off in disgust this year over the way umpires are being forced to officiate games.

I went on a rant two weeks back and nothing has changed or looks like changing in the future.

The game I grew up watching as a kid is now complicated, over officiated and frustrating to watch.

totally been like this for me for the last few years now. Many reasons why, umpires, rule changes and the fact that the AFL have been against us for years. I go to watch south Melbourne in the vpl instead of watching north if they clash. Nothing to do with the team, I think we're playing some great football, but AFL as a whole is a joke.

I emotionally made a right dick of myself again in front of my missus and my Dog tonight, but Its amazing what passion brings out in you. I didn't think it was the Selwood free kick that totally gave them the win. It was 4 or 5 that led up to that?

1. The scot Thompson one on the wing
2. The ziebell tackle was fine
3. calling touched when it clearly wasn't cost us a goal
4. The Adams in the back wasn't called
5. Selwood did attempt to duck

Alot for any team to deal with in the remaining minutes of a tight match
Don't worry I did the same. Missus looked at me like I had gone mad. Cat took off at a million miles an hour.I don't mind losing but we were cheated big time tonight. Hard game to umpire ? then why so many decisions to one team right at the end that were disgraceful.

Its just so overumpired these days its ridiculous, as a fan you invest multiple hours of your time watching a great contest knowing that the maggots will be the ones to decide it at end of a nail biter...may as well just flip it on for the last 5 minutes only.

And amazingly enough captain obvious Dermie was ripping into LT post game for giving away a free 80m down field for taking a dive even after watching the video.

Not sure that is even in the rule book.

I agree, I've had it. I used to ump jnr footy and it was nothing like this. And there is one simple thing that shows the power-to-be's have no idea how to officiate a game. we are the only code in the entire world were an umpire will blow his whistle, make everyone stop and then call "advantage" because one guy didn't stop. Seriously no fricking idea. None.

The idea of umpiring is to let the game go and only call free's that are affecting the game. If not just let everyone play.

I'm taking my boy to play golf tomorrow.

I was actually pretty calm, I had the Brad Scott disgusted smirk on my face, what usually helps me in these close encounters is that I conceed defeat early so when it happends I don't cry like a baby and start smashing stuff...tonight my "game over" moment was when they cut the margin back to 3 points..so with a few minutes to go I had thrown in the towel...of course had we won I would have gone nuts, but I go out of my way not to get my hopes up now.