US Holiday

There's some good stuff in this thread, thanks everyone for sharing.

Anyway, a few months ago I went on a 1 week '**** work, I gotta GTFO' trip to the US, met up with mates and in that time dig Vegas, Austin, New Orleans with a day in Nashville and stops in LA, Pheonix, Houstin, San Antonio and half the rest of the bloody place, needless to say there was a lot of travel, including an epic drive from New Orleans to Nashville after hitting the town and everyone still a little 'toasty'.

Anyway, storytelling aside, I'm heading back over again with mates for about 3 weeks before heading to Europe for four and I wouldn't mind listening to any suggestions for a bunch of 25 year olds who like to get a little loose, but also like to take in the sights and significant places during the day.

I've locked Austin in as a must after my last trip as I have with Vegas. Those also up there on peoples lists are NY, LA and Miami. I want to get to Seattle to fullfill my grunge desires but am worried about time. Also, NO has received votes.

Any ideas on places we 'must' get to? I don't mind hitting a couple of places for just the 1 or 2 nights, but wouldn't mind a longer-ish stay at the main ones, where you have a ton to do.

Bugger it, I'm not shaving for 2 months.

I'll get in with a beard.

Actually, did you have to provide legal ID? A mate who goes to college in LA said that in Vegas, they don't accept foreign identification.
Depends mate.

I got I.D'd once and that was at a high end cas bar and he was carding 40 year olds. He was fine with my drivers license. That said, I'm 25 with facial hair so I'm not really pushing the age barrier.

Is anyone of your friends 21? If so, just get them to buy and there should be too much of an issue, but if not, just try your luck. As for the tables, I didn't get carded, and so long as you look close enough to 21 there shouldn't be an issue.....unless you win big. :D

Am planning to head over to Canada and the US next year (around April). Cash in my FF points, take all my annual leave at once, and I'm all good for about 6 weeks. I've got friends and family in different parts of Canada, but thought I might as well tour the US on the way back. I'll have to read through this thread for some ideas.

My rough plan at this stage is:
1) LA/SF: Unsure whether to do this at the start or near the end. I suppose the start might be better as I'll be ****ed after a long trip on the way back.
2) Vanc - Calgary: Going through the Rockies and Banff (probably by train). I have a cousin in Calgary that I can coordinate with.
3) Toronto/Ottawa/Montreal: Fly from Calgary to Toronto, where I can meet up with my (Ottawa-based) mate who can then be my tour guide through those three cities.
4) Boston/NY/Wash DC: I hear great things about Boston, and of course NY will be a highlight. DC is one I'm intrigued about, to learn some US history, see the Smithsonian, Arlington etc. Would love to take the train between these locations.
5) Vegas/Grand Canyon: You just gotta
6) LA/SF: See #1
7) Perhaps on the way back home, somewhere warm like Honolulu or Nadi (or both) might be a good idea to relax after what will probably be an exhausting (and ****ing cold) trip.

I've done the maths, and my Frequent Flyer points will basically cover my air travel (one of the benefits of using my credit card WAY TOO MUCH). So hopefully it'll all go ahead and be a trip of a lifetime.

Incidentally, has anyone here flown economy or premium economy on the A380? Is it worth the upgrade?

Any ideas on places we 'must' get to? I don't mind hitting a couple of places for just the 1 or 2 nights, but wouldn't mind a longer-ish stay at the main ones, where you have a ton to do.
If you've got no plans this sunday, try here. I am.
http://www.canadaalaska.com.au/index.html

So LA/SF at the start. If you want to stop somewhere warm on the way home it will have to be Hawaii, Nadi will be to hard to get to and cost you a fortune.

PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT:

This sunday will be the cheapest time to book flights to the USA.*

*Disclaimer I work for Flight Centre....

So LA/SF at the start. If you want to stop somewhere warm on the way home it will have to be Hawaii, Nadi will be to hard to get to and cost you a fortune.

Even for mid next year? Or only till the early months of 12' like the sales normally do?

What about round the world?? Thats what I think I'll be going with.

Whats the cheapest do you reckon I could get it for? (Probably Melb>LA>Miami>NYC>London>Melb over a 4 month period). I am hoping in the 3 grand area.... :confused:

And Espe, the earlier you buy flights the better I think. If you purchase them 10 months prior to flying, you should get a discount apparently. (Not on round the world fares tho!!!!!!!! :rolleyes:)

What about round the world?? Thats what I think I'll be going with.

Whats the cheapest do you reckon I could get it for? (Probably Melb>LA>Miami>NYC>London>Melb over a 4 month period). I am hoping in the 3 grand area.... :confused:

And Espe, the earlier you buy flights the better I think. If you purchase them 10 months prior to flying, you should get a discount apparently. (Not on round the world fares tho!!!!!!!! :rolleyes:)

No sales on RTW tickets. You would most likely need a 4 continent RTW ticket (you'll have to transit through Asia on the way home) and if you want a flexible ticket you would be looking around $4300 ish. That said their is a Lufthansa fare that might work and you would need to purchase a seperate ticket for the LA>Miami>NYC sector that may be cheaper..

Even for mid next year? Or only till the early months of 12' like the sales normally do?

Haven't got all the details yet but most fares will be till early June at a guess..

No sales on RTW tickets. You would most likely need a 4 continent RTW ticket (you'll have to transit through Asia on the way home) and if you want a flexible ticket you would be looking around $4300 ish. That said their is a Lufthansa fare that might work and you would need to purchase a seperate ticket for the LA>Miami>NYC sector that may be cheaper..

4 grand really?? Dam.. I was just hoping I could pay 3, which is what I paid 10 years ago. :D

But yeah, will check that out, thanks. :thumbsu:

Yep, we're checking out the expo and the subsequent deals.

Hope you got something out of it, because all I got was a mosh-pit and a huge pile of brochures :mad:

I was in store, it was friggin busy. PM what you want to do and I'll steer you in the right direction.

We came out of it with an ace deal.

Really happy with the way it's worked out. More spending/gambling money.

In fairness though I'm at the stage where I wasn't going to get as much value out of it as those that are ready to book now. So the main benefit was being able to gather information and reference material, which I did (after a lot of pushing and shoving).

I might just take you up on that, cheers :thumbsu:

In fairness though I'm at the stage where I wasn't going to get as much value out of it as those that are ready to book now. So the main benefit was being able to gather information and reference material, which I did (after a lot of pushing and shoving).

True. We were ready to book the day before, but our awesome travel agent (Yes, Freakie - Flight Centre) advised us to hold off for a day. Ended up saving nearly $400.

Freakie, what would you think would be a better option for a Trip to the US and Europe with a fair bit of internat travel, an around the world ticket or just individual flights?

Cheers mate.

Freakie, what would you think would be a better option for a Trip to the US and Europe with a fair bit of internat travel, an around the world ticket or just individual flights?

Cheers mate.

Yeah I would like to know too. My plans are changing everyday atm, I really need to make a desicion, lol.

I just did a quick search on webjet just then for individual fares from Melb - LA, NYC- London and London- Melb.

All up came to well over three thousand, would be 4/ 4 and a half. Very disappointed with that. :thumbsd:

Is it better to go to travel agents, can they at least better any airfare you find on the net?

Dealing with a human is always better than dealing with a computer.

Travel agents are especially adept (I've found, at least) at manipulating the flights in ways that computers cannot. Works out cheaper, generally.

Dealing with a human is always better than dealing with a computer.

Travel agents are especially adept (I've found, at least) at manipulating the flights in ways that computers cannot. Works out cheaper, generally.

Yeah thats what I was thinking.

My general plan is to do lots of research on the net, take that with me ask them to better it basically. And go to more than one, see which one will/can do the better deal.

God airfares shits me- how much cheaper would the trip be without them, huh. :D

Cheers mate.

Without knowing your exact itinerary, generally an around the world fare works out cheaper. The one world and star alliance RTW tickets generally allow upto 16 sectors, giving you flexibility. However each ticket is different in it's rules and routing...

A few people in this thread have asked about how long to spend in Vegas. I spent 5 nights there a couple of months ago and I didn't think it was enough. There is still heaps of stuff I wanted to see but didn't have time.

We stayed at the Venetian which is on the strip. An awesome hotel. Not the cheapest but it was great.

I would walk down the strip if you get a chance. There is so much to see and do. The Bellagio fountains, Caesars, Paris, M&M World, New York New York, the MGM Lions, The Gondolas at the Ventetian.

As others had said try and stay during the week. It's heaps cheaper and Vegas is always packed. Never a quiet night.

One night try and get to the Freemont Street Experience. It's about $20 cab ride from the strip. I think it was close to the best thing I saw in Vegas. Make sure you stay for the shows on the hour every hour.

The factory outlets are well worth a look as well. Really cheap stuff there and with the good Aussie dollar it's even cheaper. I spent heaps there but at a fraction of the cost. Brought some sunglasses for $100US that are selling here for $250AUS. You can get Levi 501's for $40US a pair.

If the weather is still good check out the pool decks at the hotel you are staying at. They are amazing. Like everything in Vegas there is no expense spared.

I didn't do many nightclubs. I tended to stick to the bars. The Dueling piano bars are great entertainment and are pretty cheap if you just want to listen to the music. Can cost you $20 to get a request played.