VAFA forum

Moby (or any other informed punters for that matter),

What do the Reds have planned for the weekend off? I know Vin said something about Daylesford, but what about the rest of them?

I feel Flaherty has been very level headed this week after last weeks impressive win over Whitefriars. Did you like the barrell from 65 out? Ego's aside it's a TEAM game boys, and I must say that OEG look the real deal in 2005. Good to see Sean Towner get a game in the U23 state squad, the bloke is on fire this yr.

topgun 18 said:
I feel Flaherty has been very level headed this week after last weeks impressive win over Whitefriars. Did you like the barrell from 65 out? Ego's aside it's a TEAM game boys, and I must say that OEG look the real deal in 2005. Good to see Sean Towner get a game in the U23 state squad, the bloke is on fire this yr.
Yeah the barrell. Why anyone has to go the torp from inside 40 worries me...

topgun 18 said:

Despite beating the Friars, I can't see the Essendon boys doing any damage this year, they seem to lack depth with their reserves on the bottom, I also noticed that their U/19's forfeited on the weekend, so as the weather gets colder and the hamstrings start tearing, who are they going to bring up?

The same can be said for Old Brighton. It's still De La Salle for me this year, I reckon their reserves would beat us.

justin timberlake said:
Moby (or any other informed punters for that matter),

What do the Reds have planned for the weekend off? I know Vin said something about Daylesford, but what about the rest of them?

There's a week off? Intra-league, I'm guessing, eh?

Moby, you seem to be an informed member of Fitzroy Reds. Possibly you could shed some light on the under 19 side, as my club Rupertswood beat the Reds by about 6 goals, yet Kew, who beat us by 165-odd, managed to drop a game against them. We are no world beaters by any means, quite the opposite, were Reds players being rested against us or whats the story?

Any information appreciated thanks.

go_the_cattas said:
Moby, you seem to be an informed member of Fitzroy Reds. Possibly you could shed some light on the under 19 side, as my club Rupertswood beat the Reds by about 6 goals, yet Kew, who beat us by 165-odd, managed to drop a game against them. We are no world beaters by any means, quite the opposite, were Reds players being rested against us or whats the story?

Any information appreciated thanks.

Hi cattas, actually no, I'm not the best bloke to ask ... I'm only a fan of the Reds and have never seen an U19 match.

But I can have a wild guess ... Reds are struggling more than last year as a couple of gun players are now playing for open age Reds clubs (eg Maghamez)... the U19s would be missing them.

The other thing is that the Reds have 2 Club XVIII sides now, they've had one for only 3 years, and the other only started this year. Perhaps players have been ducking between U19s and CXVIII a lot, especially possible due to their new-ness, and this might become more settled as the season wears on.

Or we could be just torturously inconsistent much as the VFL Roys were1

"I just can't explain it."

Mobbenfuhrer said:
There's a week off? Intra-league, I'm guessing, eh?

Queen's Birthday long weekend = obligatory VAFA weekend off.
Though the real reason (the ski-season opening) will be a real fizzer.
No need for the tyre chains on the 4wd this year.

Elsternwick Park is hosting two ripping games tomorrow:
The curtain-raiser is an U19 North -v- U19 South game, with both sides boasting pretty much the best available junior player from almost every one of the 48 clubs fielding a side.

The main game is a VAFA C-D4 (plus a handful of A&B top-up players) side against the Southern League rep team.

Scribe

Fitzroy U19s should be in Section 3 after winning the Section Red flag last year (and routinely beating the opposition by 20+ goals).

However they sooked out of toughing it in Section 3 because they had lost some players (this is under age football - this is what happens!). And all this just a few weeks before the season began. Weak, weak dogs - will never progress with this attitude

This year they have proved they were a one trick pony. No Magamez - No Fitzroy

This is why Reds will not progress past C grade. They need 2 good U19 teams if they are going to progress not 2 lots of Clubbies hacks and a bad U19 team playing in a poor standard section.

Looking forward to North v South tomorrow

rslater said:
Fitzroy U19s should be in Section 3 after winning the Section Red flag last year (and routinely beating the opposition by 20+ goals).

However they sooked out of toughing it in Section 3 because they had lost some players (this is under age football - this is what happens!). And all this just a few weeks before the season began. Weak, weak dogs - will never progress with this attitude

This is why Reds will not progress past C grade. They need 2 good U19 teams if they are going to progress not 2 lots of Clubbies hacks and a bad U19 team playing in a poor standard section.

Looking forward to North v South tomorrow

Not sure about your theory there rslater?

Old Essendon are going OK in B grade and they only have 1 lot of Clubbies hacks as well as a bunch of pea hearted under 19's who forfeit every second week!

If the Reds are as good as Mobenfunkerama's weekly reports they will be in A grade by 2008.

The Big Pineapple said:
Not sure about your theory there rslater?

Old Essendon are going OK in B grade and they only have 1 lot of Clubbies hacks as well as a bunch of pea hearted under 19's who forfeit every second week!

If the Reds are as good as Mobenfunkerama's weekly reports they will be in A grade by 2008.

Club XVIII can be detrimental, they drag a lot of OK players out of the 2nds. Judging by the fact that Old Essendon's clubbies are up there and their 2nds are languishing, it seems as though that is happening.

The OC said:
Club XVIII can be detrimental, they drag a lot of OK players out of the 2nds. Judging by the fact that Old Essendon's clubbies are up there and their 2nds are languishing, it seems as though that is happening.

Pipe down Seth!!!

Mobbenfuhrer said:
Hi cattas, actually no, I'm not the best bloke to ask ... I'm only a fan of the Reds and have never seen an U19 match.

But I can have a wild guess ... Reds are struggling more than last year as a couple of gun players are now playing for open age Reds clubs (eg Maghamez)... the U19s would be missing them.

The other thing is that the Reds have 2 Club XVIII sides now, they've had one for only 3 years, and the other only started this year. Perhaps players have been ducking between U19s and CXVIII a lot, especially possible due to their new-ness, and this might become more settled as the season wears on.

Or we could be just torturously inconsistent much as the VFL Roys were1

"I just can't explain it."

Thanks heaps, yer we've been inconsistent also due to losing our best players to our section 2 side...o well it happens

The Reds are only mid-table int that lesser U19s group ... which justifies them being in the division they're in. Onya rslater ... they're mid-table ... surely that means they should be in a higher grade. Your logic astounds me.

You bag the Reds kids for claiming to be affected by player loss, then you go on to say :

rslater said:

Therefore you believe that loss of players made them vulnerable. You also therefore believe they are not as strong a team as last year.

So which is it? Either they ARE affected by player loss, or they aren't. Either they are too strong for their current division, or they're not. Get a bit of consistency! Geezus, how many of you are there in there? I'm at a loss to adequately diagnose you :(

PS : I can't speak for others but I'd rather have my best open-age team possible on the park, and if that rooted the kids team, so be it.

What a massive weekend! The Marquee on Saturday night was huge with all the Under 19 Rep and the VAFA C-D4 Rep boys celebrating two good wins at the Wick on Saturday afternoon. I backed up on Sunday at the Moe Tavern which was absolute mayhem. Not looking forward to training tonight.

What did everyone else get up to on their footy free weekend?

Nuffy_O'Dwyer said:
What a massive weekend! The Marquee on Saturday night was huge with all the Under 19 Rep and the VAFA C-D4 Rep boys celebrating two good wins at the Wick on Saturday afternoon. I backed up on Sunday at the Moe Tavern which was absolute mayhem. Not looking forward to training tonight.

Sounds like you need to get off the grog Nuffy, it could effect your decision making this weekend.

Nuffy_O'Dwyer said:

saturday i actually caught up on some reading. Some book called the Da Vinci Code or something. a team mate recommended it to me. good read, i think it will be a hit once the main stream catches on to it. but remember, you heard it first from here.

Mobbenfuhrer said:
The Reds are only mid-table int that lesser U19s group ... which justifies them being in the division they're in. Onya rslater ... they're mid-table ... surely that means they should be in a higher grade. Your logic astounds me.

You bag the Reds kids for claiming to be affected by player loss, then you go on to say :

Therefore you believe that loss of players made them vulnerable. You also therefore believe they are not as strong a team as last year.

So which is it? Either they ARE affected by player loss, or they aren't. Either they are too strong for their current division, or they're not. Get a bit of consistency! Geezus, how many of you are there in there? I'm at a loss to adequately diagnose you :(

PS : I can't speak for others but I'd rather have my best open-age team possible on the park, and if that rooted the kids team, so be it.

You are right mobbenfunken. All we ask is people be consistent.

Nuffy_O'Dwyer said:

I went out and helped Joey try and salvage his solo career. We did a few Target instores at Dubbo, Lismore and Tamworth. Signed a few autographs, some happy snaps, you know the usual