VAFA General Discussion

So two up, two down?
Interesting.. I really thought they were going to lean towards 1 up and 1 down but that was just my feeling
Finals qualification, as in for reserves/thirds. 4 games with no more than 10 in a higher grade

seriously need mid week games to make up games
This isn't school football or the AFL, zero chance of that happening, but the double bye was always a folly even pre-covid, whoever thought that up and approved it should be sacked. No chance we play footy next week either.

This latest lockdown could lead to the no relegation theory getting a run at HQ I reckon from a few clubs.
Especially your club Mr Olotripo? One could argue that even a 10 game season is a big enough sample size, particularly if the two bottom sides have won one game each. A 90% losing rate would point to the fact that it would be better for those clubs to rebuild at a lower level and instil confidence back into the teams.

Who is paying for people to play midweek?
everyone with an inkling of a brain cell knows Prem is providing "jobs" for these players.

lower leagues different.
Boys just wanna play footy and if pitched I reckon would be welcomed with open arms (outside of the committee members from some clubs).

everyone with an inkling of a brain cell knows Prem is providing "jobs" for these players.

lower leagues different.
Boys just wanna play footy and if pitched I reckon would be welcomed with open arms (outside of the committee members from some clubs).
Have you thought about those that are tradies? Some work in physical jobs so I think would not be able to perform at the standard you would want. I guess you would then expect them to back up on the Saturday as well.

if you're a tradie at a club in relegation zone and get poised the question boys we can go up or down if we do a mid week game ontop of saturday.

after all the cuts to this season, what do you think the answer will be?

pretty obvs play two games....

Edit: I'm saying this coming from the west, we know the hussle, lotta vafa boys are protected.

if you're a tradie at a club in relegation zone and get poised the question boys we can go up or down if we do a mid week game ontop of saturday.

after all the cuts to this season, what do you think the answer will be?

pretty obvs play two games....

Edit: I'm saying this coming from the west, we know the hussle, lotta vafa boys are protected.
No way known you will get midweek football unless players are getting paid $150k+ to play. Tell me I’m wrong.

Fwiw pretty sure 2 or 3 Prem games were played midweek a few years ago when a deluge washed them out on a Saturday. They ended up being held under lights at EP. Obviously issue of any mid week catch ups would be sufficient lighting at grounds. No way could be replayed during the day.

seriously? hahaha

mate its fact boys come from other leagues (outside of trades) cop a fat payrise on a gig spend 1 year in vafa and shoot back to other leagues for moolah ontop.

if you're telling me anyone in prem vafa is about the love of tha game, I'll sign up for a prem club and stop playing EDFL next year (can't due to june 30 clearances)

seriously? hahaha

mate its fact boys come from other leagues (outside of trades) cop a fat payrise on a gig spend 1 year in vafa and shoot back to other leagues for moolah ontop.

if you're telling me anyone in prem vafa is about the love of tha game, I'll sign up for a prem club and stop playing EDFL next year (can't due to june 30 clearances)
I never said that. All I said was no players in the VAFA are going to be up for midweek football games to make up for lost rounds.

Sigh. Looks like we’re going to miss a few more weekends of footy. Looking at the ladders it seems pretty clear the bottom team in each grade is a standout for relegation, but the other lowly clubs would have claims they could have got out of trouble if they didn’t miss games.

A - Trinity 1 win
B - Parkside 0 wins
C - Preston 0 wins
D1 - Brunswick 0 wins
D2 - Bulleen Temp 0 wins
D3 - Albert Park 0 wins

Think the VAFA has to arrive at one-up one-down for this season.

seriously? hahaha

You don’t deserve a ‘Mr’ in fact, you’re a troll, 99.9% are school mates playing together at their old boys club. Go back to the EDFL board.

If things continue on for much longer maybe a radical plan can be looked at. Play Top 4 v 5-8 to warm up for finals and 9 v 10 in a loser gets relegated. Then straight to finals, either traditional finals or do a round robin with top 4.

Sigh. Looks like we’re going to miss a few more weekends of footy. Looking at the ladders it seems pretty clear the bottom team in each grade is a standout for relegation, but the other lowly clubs would have claims they could have got out of trouble if they didn’t miss games.

A - Trinity 1 win
B - Parkside 0 wins
C - Preston 0 wins
D1 - Brunswick 0 wins
D2 - Bulleen Temp 0 wins
D3 - Albert Park 0 wins

Think the VAFA has to arrive at one-up one-down for this season.
Why are Old Trinity a clear standout for relegation when Collegians have won the same number of games? They’re both 1-9. If Trinity win one more game than Collegians and Trinity finish 9th, then Collegians go down and Trinity stay up if your approach is accepted by the VAFA.

Your on the money, been saying it for a while. One up, one down but depends on how many more rounds are lost.
The 1 v 4, 2 v 3 is looking more likely with each round lost just to give more chance to finish the season.
How would it be with a lock down in Grand Final week??
Will not be any make up games, mid week games or the like, that's just fantasy.

The situation is changing by the minute, can't be making forward decisions whilst this is all happening. We are looking at an lockdown extension past Tuesday night but who knows for how much longer.