News Vale Fred Flanagan

one of the absolute greats of the game and the club, a life worth celebrating.

loved having the opportunity of getting a glimpse at his talents when (SJ?) posted a Youtube clip of the '51 GF recently, from memory he took a huge contested mark in the 3rd quarter which was exactly how I'd imagined he would have.

probably the clubs greatest ever CHF ahead of Jack Collins.

From the club website:

http://www.geelongcats.com.au/news/2013-01-14/cats-mourn-loss-of-premiership-captain

I don't suppose any of our more venerable posters have recollections of him on the field?
His last year was right on the limits of my recolection but was still playing good footy a wonderfull kick of the ball.
Rest in peace Troubles.
In a funny way I feel privileged to have some one of his stature pass away on my birthday,hope that comes across as it's meant.

RIP Fred 'Troubles' Flanagan. Bob Davis said there was always something wrong with Fred...in Fred's mind. Thus the nickname.

He told the story how Fred was quietly moaning in the corner before a game. Telling everyone who would listen that he didn't think he could play that day because he was so crook.

After being coaxed to play he went out and kicked a bag of goals and was b.o.g. that day!

Saw him play, but only from my pram
Met him later on, very nice bloke.
Great player, terrific Brownlow record.
RIP.

Dual premiership captain, not many of them around from any club, on that alone he goes down as a legend of the game.

I have mixed feelings towards him though, if it wasn't for him, all of my in-laws would be Geelong supporters rather than Hawk supporters.

Really sad news as “Troubles” was a genuine true believer. A regular at games since his retirement and he did a great deal to keep the past players association strong.

88 is a good age. Nonetheless, he’s one former great who will leave a real emptiness with his passing.

Farewell Fred.

I saw him play at Kardinia Park against Melbourne in the early 1950s. He was a very strong mark, and excellent kick, and had Bob Davis beside him on the half forward flank. It was a time when Geelong had a big, fast, premiership-winning team, two members of which came from Swan Hill, Flanagan and Worner. Bert Worner, who died last year. would have been a first round pick if the national draft had existed in those days, and went to Geelong because of Flanagan. In the Swan Hill area, Fred Flanagan was always considered 'a good bloke', and the fact that Fred was at Geelong encouraged other players from the Swan Hill area to try their luck at Geelong. Some I remember were Ken Goodland, Colin Rice, Neville Martin, John Sharrock and Bill Ryan. I never heard any opposition supporter complain about the on-field conduct of Fred Flanagan: it was always exemplary.

Thanks for that H.
Ken Goodland that's a sad story, I worked with his brother up till recently.

Thanks mate, enjoyed that recollection.

RIP troubles

Far too "young" to have seen him play but just like Davies his reputation was awe inspiring.

Always have respect to past players who truly loved the club and never gave up even in the dark times

Just like us fans

R.I.P good man. We are proud of you for the service that you gave to our beloved football club, you will be remembered as one of our all time greats. But more importantly, you weren't just a dual Premiership captain, you were also a digger who risked his life to serve this wonderful country. From the bottom of my heart I say thank you, Fred.

It was nice to hear some of the recent/current payers talking about his ongoing presence at the club, whether it be down at training or in the rooms on occasion. Sounded like a very humble bloke despite being a club legend. Was nice to hear Dan Menzel recall how Fred wrote him a letter of condolence/encouragement after hurting his knee - both sharing the #10 of course.

It's great to celebrate guys like this who have contributed in such a large way to the culture and history of the club. All the best Troubles

one of the absolute greats of the game and the club, a life worth celebrating.

loved having the opportunity of getting a glimpse at his talents when (SJ?) posted a Youtube clip of the '51 GF recently, from memory he took a huge contested mark in the 3rd quarter which was exactly how I'd imagined he would have.

probably the clubs greatest ever CHF ahead of Jack Collins.

At 18:45 in this clip. Fantastic mark and then lace out delivery to the leading forward. RIP Fred, champion of Geelong.