jmorg1

Now that the kid has had the opportunity to be on the park for more than five minutes (courtesy of Hentschel's dodgy ankle), what does everyone think?

Personally I thought he was ok. If I was a little less biased I might say he was hopeless for dropping all those marks but since I'm biased I'll say that he at least presented and with a little more experience I think those marks will start to stick. Plus he was playing against a pretty big and agile defender in Polak (excellent match up I must say).

Nice goal too although there was a huge element of flukiness to it.

Its still way too early.
He looks to be a lumbering type, but its his first year, he's 18, and it's a huge jump up in pace from the U18's and SANFL.
I remember thinking the same thing in Sugars first season as well, but another PS and a bit more experience will give a clearer indication.

What is clear is that he does have a good footy brain, is going to be a physical player and has good ground and marking skills.

I'll liken him to Hentcshel who this year doesn't look like the same player last year (improved considerably).

Positives - contests, second efforts, tackles and keeps the ball in the area.

Negatives - is being lead second to the ball, contested marks (this will improve with experience).

Will continue to improve and he does know where the goals are - likes a good snap (has done it in both the SANFL and AFL).

Originally posted by kirky
I'll liken him to Hentcshel who this year doesn't look like the same player last year (improved considerably).

Negatives - is being lead second to the ball, contested marks (this will improve with experience).

Will continue to improve and he does know where the goals are - likes a good snap (has done it in both the SANFL and AFL).
Thats a pretty good assessment.
Appears to be getting caught behind his opponent a bit much.

My understanding he normally likes to play in front, so it may be how his opponents are being instructed to play him, or he may just be a little slow ATM in reading the play.

I think its still early to call BUT as I commented in the other thread I was impressed by his work rate and his willingness to make a contest. On a number of occasions he was going up against 2 or 3 fremantle players. He is still skinny and does get pushed out of position easily. A couple of pre-seasons in the gym and on the track and he will start holding is position, start busting packs and those marks will stick.

As for that goal. Its far from flukey. I have seen him kick those sort of goals in SANFL. One of them was an absolute ripper.

Encouraging but I think he is still 3 years away from being a regular contibutor. He is still only 18 and playing AFL well before his time.

We all know I love Fergus.

But, he runs around a bit like a headless chook - much like Jericho did. Give him time and he will be a VERY good player. I liked the comparason to Trent Hentschel - I agree in the similar development between the two.

Go Fergus!

k
xx

The Kid (Watts), pardon the pun towards Dermott Brereton has been given a taste. l would give him one more game against Brisbane, then drop him for the rest of the season so he can settle down at WWT for a few games and then have a good finals series. Doing this will get him cherry rip for a pre season and to step streight into the side for round one next season.

I would leave Bock at CHF/FF with Hentschel and Welsh. Kenny Mcgregor could be moved to CHF if needed but the need to develop more KKP in the defencive end should lead the club to promote Smith/Parker to play CHB/FB. Doing this the spine would look like.

FB Smith/ Rutten
CHB Parker/ Rutten/ Mcgregor* (*Round one next season goes back to CHB full time)
C Roo
CHF Bock/ Hentschel/Mcgregor
FF Bock/ Welsh/ Hentschel

If Smith is promoted, then Rutten could become a CHB because Smith isnt a CHB, Smith could become a very good FB replacing Bassett, who is on borrowed time at the AFC any way.

Could the club promote both Smith and Parker? (Carey and Schuback)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I think we can promote 3 in Hazell, Smith and Parker for Carey, Schuback and now Doughty.

What about the salary cap?

No disresect to Hazell but we dont need any more on ballers. In the next few weeks we could get Burton, Begley, Bode, Goodwin(is back now) even Massie could be used as a tagger (l know it is stretching it) or to play on a wing if needed. So a 24 year old on baller should not be promoted to the senior list. But thats is IMO

Originally posted by crows98
What about the salary cap?

No disresect to Hazell but we dont need any more on ballers. In the next few weeks we could get Burton, Begley, Bode, Goodwin(is back now) even Massie could be used as a tagger (l know it is stretching it) or to play on a wing if needed. So a 24 year old on baller should not be promoted to the senior list. But thats is IMO

With only 6 games to go, and 3 long term injuries, I would promote all 3 rookies, including Hazell, to see who stays and who goes.

IMO, there isn't room for both Skippy and Gallagher, and there certainly isn't room for Hazell as well. There's only room for 1.

But there isn't much to beat in Gags and Skippy - Hazell might be the best of that 3 and we'll never know unless we play him.

Originally posted by macca23
With only 6 games to go, and 3 long term injuries, I would promote all 3 rookies, including Hazell, to see who stays and who goes.

IMO, there isn't room for both Skippy and Gallagher, and there certainly isn't room for Hazell as well. There's only room for 1.

But there isn't much to beat in Gags and Skippy - Hazell might be the best of that 3 and we'll never know unless we play him.

I agree,

but isnt Tim Hazell 6ft something. Not a small jockey like Gaggs & Skippy. Please correct me if l am wrong.

Originally posted by crows98
I agree,

but isnt Tim Hazell 6ft something. Not a small jockey like Gaggs & Skippy. Please correct me if l am wrong.
188 cm but he is more versatile than both those players. Gags is really an undersized wingman with pace and Skippt is a little crumber/onballer. Hazell is a utility type and has played anywhere from back pocket to forward pocket to midfield.

He is a workhorse who puts his body on the line. He was rated at Hawks but never really could reach his potential because of 3 injury riddled seasons.

As macca23 said I would promote all 3 and wee where they are at. Promoting Parker and Hazell must be a priority as they can't be rookie listed next year and we need ot make a decision on them one way or the other.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

As macca23 said I would promote all 3 and wee where they are at. Promoting Parker and Hazell must be a priority as they can't be rookie listed next year and we need ot make a decision on them one way or the other.

If rucci or anyone who has access to the AFC press conferences reads this, can you please ask why and what A Parker has to do to get promoted to the list because so many people are calling out for him to be elevated or are we all just really really bad judges of football talent.

Driving home from the game last night l was expecting a question about the rookies to come up with all the speculation early last week that someone was going to be promoted to the list but nothing. Or did l miss it.

Originally posted by kirky

Spot on with your assessment Kirky.

Watts is still very raw & it will take him a while to adjust to the quicker speed of the AFL.