VFL 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter bedford

Well, Frankston getting bullied is really the league's fault for gifting them their fixture for a top 4 finish. Who woulda thought that gifting stand alone teams easy fixtures wouldn't make them competitive in finals... who woulda thought....
At this point I have to agree, although our performance today is miles off what this team can do in my opinion. But the experience and skill to go all the way and win a premiership comes from continually testing and refining your system against the best teams. Sparing clubs from playing those teams might boost them into the occasional finals berth, but it won't help them win flags. I'd like to see this fixturing scrapped for next year and more a focus on addressing the root causes of why standalone clubs rarely contend for flags (mainly the massive resource gap between the AFL clubs and the standalones propped up by pokies, and everyone else.)

I didn't get to watch much of the match but yeah, was definitely not Frankston's day but also I can't see them competiting with any of the top 6 sides.

It was a great idea to give the standalones an extra home game per season. I love that but having double ups against the likes of Bullants and Coburg to prop up their win count doesn't really help anyone.

I think a lot of mismanagement is a huge reason of why some standalone clubs can't compete. Northern Bullants and Port Melbourne are very good examples. Frankston, Coburg seem to be on the up. Werribee will be back. Williamstown are more competitive than they showed today and at points during the season and then theres Southport who have a lot of money and can do whatever they want.

I don't give Sandy or Tassie much of a chance next year to be strong standalones.

I didn't get to watch much of the match but yeah, was definitely not Frankston's day but also I can't see them competiting with any of the top 6 sides.

It was a great idea to give the standalones an extra home game per season. I love that but having double ups against the likes of Bullants and Coburg to prop up their win count doesn't really help anyone.

I think a lot of mismanagement is a huge reason of why some standalone clubs can't compete. Northern Bullants and Port Melbourne are very good examples. Frankston, Coburg seem to be on the up. Werribee will be back. Williamstown are more competitive than they showed today and at points during the season and then theres Southport who have a lot of money and can do whatever they want.

I don't give Sandy or Tassie much of a chance next year to be strong standalones.
Casey to beat frankston next week

Preston's problem is that they don't really have much to build off of. Their fanbase has dwindled to the point where oppo fans outnumber them at their own oval, they're basically broke and saddled with debt, and they're getting smashed on the field by almost every team. Coburg have at least found a way to be competitive again and while their fanbase is small, they're also quite vocal in my experience and create a good atmosphere at home games.

Port Melbourne have zero excuses in my opinion. Year after year they are hyped up only to produce mediocrity, they ran at a loss last year despite their pokies revenue. The one thing I will give them credit for is their fan engagement and match day atmosphere. I can recall them organising egg hunts around Easter time, having a junior club form a guard of honour as the players ran out, they even had a local student band playing in front of the grandstand when we traveled up there this year. They seem to have a fair bit going on at the ground on match day, and cruically a lot that gets kids and younger people involved. It's something that I think we could take a lesson from.

As for us, we're in a much better place than we used to be but I think there's a lot more we need to do to set us up for the long term. Southport I don't care for. The only thing that stops them from dominating the competition is the salary cap. They are grossly over-resourced for a VFL side and I'd rather see them become a 20th AFL club if no other option is available.

Sandy will struggle for a while but I think they have some potential to succeed in the long term. They have a larger catchment area to draw from than Preston do, they'll have a local rival in Frankston (even though we'll be competing with them for players) and there are disgruntled fans who may come back to the fold. They at least have something to work with.

Tassie are a future AFL club, not a standalone. Altough their future is still pretty clouded with the stadium issue not resolved.

Are Weribee propped up with Pokies?

For all the doubting, if the VAFA and SFNL get there acts into gear, they could feed some serious talent to Samdringham in 2026. Im apart of the SFNL with a div 3 club and although not nearly as strong as div 1, there is plenty of talent, competiton wide.

Semi Final predictions:

Frankston (4th) v Casey (5th)

Casey are riding a six game win streak which in isolation doesn't pay enough credit to how well they're actually travelling. Their winning margins in those six victories have been by 76, 108, 63, 4, 23 and 78 points. Their last three victories have been against Brisbane on the road, Box Hill at home and Williamstown in the Elimination Final.

Frankston are coming off an 80-point thumping against Footscray in Saturday's Qualifying Final. They'll be keen to rebound and now they get an opportunity to play at home in a final for the first time since 2006. Their form was good prior to Saturday's thumping, having won seven matches in a row prior to their final round draw against Brisbane.

Despite Frankston finishing fourth, their percentage of only 111 (compared to Casey's percentage of 135) in another indicator that highlights there's a bit of a gulf between these teams in favour of Casey.

Brisbane is a recent opponent for both teams, with Frankston only managing to draw with them at home, while Casey defeated them on the road by four points. This again is an advantage to Casey.

Prediction: Casey by 18 points.

Box Hill (2nd) v Brisbane (6th)

Box Hill won the regular season match by 19 points at Box Hill.

The form lines are interesting. Box Hill have lost three in a row but those three losses were against the fellow top four teams in terms of percentage. Those losing margins were by 19, 21 and 23 points. Perhaps the Hawks aren't as good as we thought after they'd spent several works on top of the ladder before losing their final two regular season matches.

Brisbane's form is a little indifferent, having won only two of their final five matches (this includes a draw against Frankston), but rebounding on Saturday with an expected 20-point victory against Richmond in a home Elimination Final.

Their recent comparative opponents are Footscray and Casey, opponents they both lost to. Box Hill lost to Footscray at home by 19 points while Brisbane lost to Footscray at home by 26 points. Box Hill lost to Casey on the road by 23 points while Brisbane lost to Casey at home by four points. There's no advantage to either team there.

Box Hill are still the superior team here and they should rebound strongly by defeating Brisbane at home.

Prediction: Box Hill by 15 points.

The AFL has today confirmed the fixture for the 2025 Smithy’s VFL semi finals.
Saturday, September 6
Second Semi Final: Box Hill Hawks (2nd) vs Brisbane Lions (6th)
Box Hill City Oval, 11:40am AEST
Broadcaster: 7mate and 7plus
First Semi Final: Frankston (4th) vs Casey Demons (5th)
Kinetic Stadium, 7:35pm AEST
Broadcaster: AFL.com.au + AFL Live Official App
Both semi finals will be played on Saturday, September 6.

The Box Hill Hawks host the Brisbane Lions in the second semi final at Box Hill City Oval from 11:40am AEST, with the winner to advance to play minor premier the Footscray Bulldogs in the first preliminary final next week.

The second semi final will be broadcast live and free on the Seven Network via 7mate in Victoria and 7plus nationally ahead of the Network’s coverage of the AFL first elimination final between the GWS GIANTS and Hawthorn.

Frankston will host Casey Demons in the first semi final at Kinetic Stadium from 7:35pm AEST. The winner will play against the Southport Sharks in the second preliminary final next week.
The first semi final will be broadcast live and free on AFL.com.au and the AFL Live Official App.
Both preliminary finals will be played on the weekend of September 13-14, ahead of the 2025 Smithy’s VFL Grand Final on Sunday, September 21

The AFL has today confirmed the fixture for the 2025 Smithy’s VFL semi finals.
Saturday, September 6
Second Semi Final: Box Hill Hawks (2nd) vs Brisbane Lions (6th)
Box Hill City Oval, 11:40am AEST
Broadcaster: 7mate and 7plus
First Semi Final: Frankston (4th) vs Casey Demons (5th)
Kinetic Stadium, 7:35pm AEST
Broadcaster: AFL.com.au + AFL Live Official App
Both semi finals will be played on Saturday, September 6.

The Box Hill Hawks host the Brisbane Lions in the second semi final at Box Hill City Oval from 11:40am AEST, with the winner to advance to play minor premier the Footscray Bulldogs in the first preliminary final next week.

The second semi final will be broadcast live and free on the Seven Network via 7mate in Victoria and 7plus nationally ahead of the Network’s coverage of the AFL first elimination final between the GWS GIANTS and Hawthorn.

Frankston will host Casey Demons in the first semi final at Kinetic Stadium from 7:35pm AEST. The winner will play against the Southport Sharks in the second preliminary final next week.
The first semi final will be broadcast live and free on AFL.com.au and the AFL Live Official App.
Both preliminary finals will be played on the weekend of September 13-14, ahead of the 2025 Smithy’s VFL Grand Final on Sunday, September 21
those are some nice words you have there

1756701841581.png

I'll be off to Box Hill City Oval, I've never been there. Looking forward to it. Leave the house at 10ish.

Frankston will be down a player

I've seen footage of it. Absolutely moronic thing to do when you're getting flogged that badly and you know you'll be needed next week. It's a massive blow ahead of a crucial game.

Next week is vital to winning back any sort of credibility. I lean towards the view of some people here that we aren't quite up there with the top four, so my hopes of a win aren't high. But if we go out of the finals in back-to-back floggings, it'll undo a lot of the work that's gone into changing the perception of us being a weak club. We need to put in a good effort, especially in front of what'll be a lockout crowd.

I've seen footage of it. Absolutely moronic thing to do when you're getting flogged that badly and you know you'll be needed next week. It's a massive blow ahead of a crucial game.

Next week is vital to winning back any sort of credibility. I lean towards the view of some people here that we aren't quite up there with the top four, so my hopes of a win aren't high. But if we go out of the finals in back-to-back floggings, it'll undo a lot of the work that's gone into changing the perception of us being a weak club. We need to put in a good effort, especially in front of what'll be a lockout crowd.
I thought Frankston would have put in a better performance on the weekend you guys are not a bad side. I think you guys will put up a better performance in front of the home crowd and win against Casey

So did I. I was prepared for a 30-point loss but a demolition job where we only managed three goals was the last thing I expected.

I don't believe we're a bad side either. Certainly we're much improved in the past two years, and I genuinely think there's the potential for a premiership with this group. But last week has made me step back and consider if we've bought into our own hype a little too blindly. I think as supporters we need to step back and recognise that some things still need work. Our discipline on Saturday was incredibly poor (George Grey facing a five-match ban is an example) and it's not the first time we've lashed out in a game we've lost badly. And as others on here have pointed out, repeat matchups against lower-ranked standalones instead of finalists stunts our development and artificially boosts our ladder position. I would have been fine with missing top four if we'd have gotten valuable experience against a team like Casey or GWS.

I think moronic is a bit far Nick. It was a block for starters there was no head high contact if you watch the footage properly, and the kid has a history of concussion and has had multiple this year already so shouldn’t be playing regardless. Any other player and they would bounce straight back up. It baffles me that Duryea gets offered 3 for an intentional leaping elbow that splits someones head open yet a 5 week ban which would be the biggest of its kind is handed out for a block. Luke Parker got 6 for breaking Smiths face, I just can’t see how it’s justified.

Taylor Duryea out for 3

I think moronic is a bit far Nick. It was a block for starters there was no head high contact if you watch the footage properly, and the kid has a history of concussion and has had multiple this year already so shouldn’t be playing regardless. Any other player and they would bounce straight back up. It baffles me that Duryea gets offered 3 for an intentional leaping elbow that splits someones head open yet a 5 week ban which would be the biggest of its kind is handed out for a block. Luke Parker got 6 for breaking Smiths face, I just can’t see how it’s justified.
Duryea's suspension is soft, I agree. But I've seen footage of the hit that's gotten Grey in this mess, and I can't honestly say that it isn't worthy of a suspension. Whether 5+ weeks is warranted or not, it's an ill-disciplined act at the worst possible time.

Very soft. Have you watched it in slo-mo? There is genuinely no head or high contact which is why there was no free kick given on the day either. If it was any other player that didn’t have a concussion history there would be no issue. Lets also keep in mind that George is genuinely the most disciplined gentle player and anyone you ask will say the same thing, never been reported in his life and has barely given away a high free kick in his career so to think it was an intentional act is definitely not the case.

I'll be off to Box Hill City Oval, I've never been there. Looking forward to it. Leave the house at 10ish.
It's an okay ground, can't say there's anything remarkable about it but the terracing is a good spot to watch games from.

Personally I'm keen to see what it'll look like once the redevelopment is done.