Voss Resigns

Wow! I thought he’d have to be dragged out of there kicking and screaming - there was no way I thought he’d go if his own volition. Seems he’s finally come to his senses and jumped first rather than be pushed out.
I actually feel he WAS pushed. Not necessarily by Carlton, but the AFL as punishment for the Hollands incident. Just a very strong feeling I have.

a) media treatment of him in Melbourne has been appalling.
b) I'm more disappointed in his handling of Hollands than the fadeouts.
c) Blues fans: how responsible is he for that basket case of a list?
d) got an uneasy feeling that they're just changing the face, but the men in the shadows stay the same

I actually feel he WAS pushed. Not necessarily by Carlton, but the AFL as punishment for the Hollands incident. Just a very strong feeling I have.

Could it just be that they're 1-8 this year, and since Round 17 2024 they are 13 wins, 29 losses and only North, Richmond, Essendon and West Coast have a worse record?

Those 13 wins...

OpponentWins
West Coast3
Essendon2
Richmond2
North Melbourne2
St Kilda1
Melbourne1
Port Adelaide1
Geelong1

They absolutely are.

It's amazing how many things in footy are still stuck in not just thinking of years ago, but many, many decades. Does anyone really think any new coach is going to magically turn Carlton around this year? They might progress slightly, but you'd think by now clubs would have learned that it takes years. Geelong. Richmond. Melbourne. Brisbane. It takes time. Few want to learn that. The media certainly don't.

Could it just be that they're 1-8 this year, and since Round 17 2024 they are 13 wins, 29 losses and only North, Richmond, Essendon and West Coast have a worse record?

Those 13 wins...

OpponentWins
West Coast3
Essendon2
Richmond2
North Melbourne2
St Kilda1
Melbourne1
Port Adelaide1
Geelong1
If you go further back to Round 12, 2024, it's still those same teams.

Our list is middle-of-the-road but there’s enough to work with, and certainly far better than 1-8.
The players i mentioned are the ones that keep Carlton middle of the road but when they are gone then the bottom falls out until you find and develop the younger players to take you foward. Has it been announced on who the care taker coach is yet

Josh Fraser

Cochrane is tied to Port anyway.
At least you get the no 2 pick regardless (Walker)
Richmond may bid #1 if we get the pick
He was in our academy and we had alot of seeing him and rate him highly

Would also wipe our both Carltons 1st rounders which would bring our compo and 2nd rounder in an extra spot

People make fun of Vossy but he’s the best coach they’ve had in a very long time, at least off the results. Had to go though, they looked devoid of all confidence
Worse than Ratten, who was unceremoniously dumped for far less underperformance.

Half these guys aren’t even playing and some have sustained season-ending injuries.

We’ve got decent value out of the guys we brought across last year + Smith, Dean and Walker on board before Tassie come in.

Our list is middle-of-the-road but there’s enough to work with, and certainly far better than 1-8.
You don't get to 1-8 with just a bad coach.

You also don't get a new coach in and just rebound, there's a long rebuild ahead for Carlton and with Tassie on the horizon, I can't see them being successful for another 10 years.

Hardly sad, he had 10 years as an AFL coach and some people would think that was 5 year too many.

He's just not a good coach at AFL level.
This. Would even go as far as to caveat it with “senior” coach. Seems a quality assistant.

He improved Carlton, took you to a prelim, and as others have mentioned your best coach in a very long time.

You think Carlton was held back by this one guy and the rest is going well?

Not perfect, but better than past choices. Wright is slowly rebuilding but this is a wrong step.

Improved Carlton? jeez I'd love to know how. They are in a worse position than he took over. They punted Ratten who had a mile better record. Bolton wasn't great but was Voss much better.

You don't get to 1-8 with just a bad coach.

You also don't get a new coach in and just rebound, there's a long rebuild ahead for Carlton and with Tassie on the horizon, I can't see them being successful for another 10 years.
10 years is a laugh mate - great theatrical take though.

Melbourne haven’t had any difficulty rebounding with a new coach.

Granted we don’t have the same level of young talent, but still have a decent number of elite players. I can see a new coach taking us beyond 16th with our current profile.

We might look to move on some others with value. I can see a world where McKay moves on, but we are flushed with early picks following Curnow’s departure and the compo that was doled out due to the big TDK and Silvagni contracts.

We’re already ahead of Tassie coming in and have multiple first round picks in the next few drafts - one which will be used on arguably the best player in this years draft.

10 years is a laugh mate - great theatrical take though.

Melbourne haven’t had any difficulty rebounding with a new coach.

Granted we don’t have the same level of young talent, but still have a decent of elite players I can see a new coach taking us beyond 16th with our current profile.

We might look to move on some others with value. I can see a world where McKay moves on, but we are flushed with early picks following Curnow’s departure and the combo that was doled out due to the big TDK and Silvagni contracts.

We’re already ahead of Tassie coming in and have multiple first round picks in the next few drafts - one which will be used on arguably the best player in this years draft.

Yep and I look at Carlton and just say, who is actually in form? Yes you can say oh the players have to take some responsibility sure but the coach has to get the best out of them.

For 5 years we have had Voss wasting and hurting Walsh as a pure inside mid- it's beyond hideous. Go back to his first few years where was he playing (and dominating might I add). It wasn't as an inside mid!

Then we have the playing of Lewis Young every second week

When do we look at the coach? It's not only him but jeez any chance of playing blokes in the right roles?