Vuvuzelas

• Thread starter Thread starter skam85

Now I was bold enough to bring a Vuvuzela to the Crows v Geelong game on Friday night, wasn't sure on its... legality... so I smuggled it in in a big jacket, no problems there. After THAT goal from Walker in the second quarter, out it came in all its glory in Bay 118. All the supporters around me thought it was quite funny. However, at half time it was confiscated :(

Thank **** for that. They are ****ing annoying and have been banned from AAMI Stadium (Footy Park) well before umbrellas were. They were banned in the early 1990’s from memory.

Those vuvus are bloody annoying, however, i would love to see bongo drums allowed in....

Consider yourself lucky that it was only confiscated. If I'd been sitting in the seat in front of you I would have rammed it down your throat the first time you tried to deafen me with it.
i wouldn't have rammed it down his throat...

Consider yourself lucky that it was only confiscated. If I'd been sitting in the seat in front of you I would have rammed it down your throat the first time you tried to deafen me with it.

I'd have rammed it somewhere too, but not neccesarily down his throat!!! :eek:

Gosh aren't we all prudes. I love the sound of them, except i think the demographics between soccer crowds and AFL crowds are a lot different. I don't think the old ladies behind me would go to games if Vuvuzelas were a feature. Atmosphere at soccer games ****'s all over AFL but its a different game.

****ing vuvuzelas. Horrible.

Thank **** that EPL clubs have gradually begun to ban them from their stadiums.

Gosh aren't we all prudes. I love the sound of them, except i think the demographics between soccer crowds and AFL crowds are a lot different. I don't think the old ladies behind me would go to games if Vuvuzelas were a feature. Atmosphere at soccer games ****'s all over AFL but its a different game.

Wow you idiot.

Prudes because we don't enjoy a constant loud noise which has no tune?

You then mention atmosphere at football games being better but they were only a feature at the World Cup and completely drowned out the singing etc.

Nothing prudish about it. Vuvuzelas (actually giving it a name seeks to legitimise it, let's call it what it actually is;an annoying crappy plastic horn) are popular at soccer matches, because it's a boring game and blowing on the damn things gives the spectators something to do to stop them drifting off to sleep, or starting fights.

Has no place at any form of an Australian Rules match, be it AFL, SANFL, VFL, WAFL, TFL, SFL Under 9's....I think you get my drift.

Don't get me wrong, I didn't bring it in with the intention to piss the people around me off... twas more for a laugh than anything, and the novelty factor. It was only blown once and good humour was shown by security and the fans around me...

I was blown once, and I was in very good humour afterwards.:thumbsu:

the irony of calling someone a prude when i'm suggesting i shove the stupid thing up his ass....

A mate of a mate (who was at the World Cup) got me a vuvuzela. Hasn't left work yet (keep forgetting to take it home lol).

However, once it's disinfected (because it was quite literally sold from the side of the road), it will purely be ornamental (bar the occasional blast from the security of my own home) and have no intention of using it in public.

I know for a fact that they can be blown in the Crows Shed post game!!

Could be a very good tool for when the oppisition is kicking at goal............very good!
Perhaps save for a home final , because you'll hear the Victorians whinging the other side of Venus and the AFL/VFL will react accordingly (as they do towards us)
Imagine 15000 thousand of them at once, as your about to take a set shot!
:D

Those things should be hunted until extinction. It was the 2nd biggest problem of the world cup, having to put up with that noise for the whole match.

Don't get me wrong, I didn't bring it in with the intention to piss the people around me off... twas more for a laugh than anything, and the novelty factor. It was only blown once and good humour was shown by security and the fans around me...
as long as its not is someones ear i reckon its a good laugh while the WC memories are still fresh, but obviously reading this thread some people dont feel the same way. If 50,000 people do it non-stop obviously its a bit different.