Walls SLAMS Worsfold

• Thread starter Thread starter Adz

Walls is right, what a shocking coaching performance.
How do supposed elite coaches **** up so bad?

Worsfold is old and cooked and from the stoneage, so are all his assistants.

I would love to pin point the precise issue Walls has with Woosha. Has to be personal.

Perhaps it dates back to his brother Peter's days at Brisbane? Walls would have been his coach. Only real link I can think of.
Walls has throbbing hate-boner for worsfold which goes back to 05/06 when woosh had the temerity to suggest that Walls was just another commentator whose opinion about match day tactics meant nothing.

Can anyone shed further light on this?

I do remember Woosha trolling Brad Hardie on the radio but I don't remember him specifically criticising Walls.

Dermott for some reason wants to try to make out that he is smarter and more educated than he is. Should just play up his bogan persona like Browny without drawing on his word a day calendar and his 2nd thesaurus.

I heard him say once that he doesn't think the average footy fan is an idiot, so he doesn't try and simply highlight the bleeding obvious. You can argue about how he does this and what you said there may well have some merit, but I can actually see his point of view on this, at least.

I don't think it would of mattered what was or wasn't done in the coaches box, syd would of smashed them

Pretty much. The difference in finals experience between the two teams (ie finals games played) was huge and it showed. The fact he didn't mention the midfield once (where the real issues were) doesn't lend a lot of credence to his opinion.

I heard him say once that he doesn't think the average footy fan is an idiot, so he doesn't try and simply highlight the bleeding obvious. You can argue about how he does this and what you said there may well have some merit, but I can actually see his point of view on this, at least.

But he does point out the bleeding obvious.

In an ear-bleedingly complicated fashion.

Don't have a problem with the points Dermott makes when analysing the game, just how he delivers the message.

However when asking a question during an interview he just makes a statement usually supporting something he has said earlier, that the the interviewee is sort of compelled to agree with.

Walls went a little loopy a long time ago (gotta admit I do think every now and then he makes a good point that most wouldn't), but you gotta respect the man for standing up against the Essendon media mafia. So brave.

WHACK!

Bomber fans do you agree?
Is Woosha too conservative on game day?

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/ro...s/news-story/fa9b1ec0794a4b8f44ed969905ddf66e

It's very hard to read anything Robert Walls writes or hear anything he says regarding Essendon. It's a well known fact he despises the red and black sash and he's admitted as such over the years. Probably moreso due to Kevin Sheedy being at the helm. Walls didn't like hm from his playing days and I don't think he ever truly forgave the club for not drafting him when he was a local kid. Then you also have his dislike for John Wosrsfold when he was at West Coast.
There's a lot of baggage to consider. In regards to Woosha being conservative, well maybe but I reckon he had good cause.

My questions to Walls would've been how many Essendon games have you watched this year Robert?
Do you know the roles players like Ambrose, Hartley and Hurley actually perform?
Don't get me wrong, he allowed to have his say but, what would've he done differently?

I genuinely believe Walls is just employed to say stupid shit. Everyone needs a rambling old twat to rile them up and he's good at that.
Let's be fair to him though his coaching career ended unceremoniously 20 years ago so you can't expect him to know how to coach these days.

I actually agree with the points made in the article - interesting most have ignored what he actually said and have chosen to attack the messenger.

Woosha shoulda put Hurley on Buddy. Then when The Bombers still got flogged he could of got the rest of the squad to beat up on Hurley for letting them down.
That's how a man coaches.

I actually agree with the points made in the article - interesting most have ignored what he actually said and have chosen to attack the messenger.

I agree that Goddard playing as an ineffective loose man adds no value, and throwing Ambrose to the wolves on Franklin when you have an AA key defender is a risk - but you can guarantee that if Worsfold played man on man across the ground, Hurley in a lock down role on Franklin etc. that Walls would still say Worsfold 'approached the game with a mindset that was too negative'.

Not willing to read this -walls is a bitter and sad old fool.
I wish Essendon no success , but give me a break

Yep don't even care what he wrote or that it's about Essendon.

Walls is a flog.

I agree that Goddard playing as an ineffective loose man adds no value, and throwing Ambrose to the wolves on Franklin when you have an AA key defender is a risk - but you can guarantee that if Worsfold played man on man across the ground, Hurley in a lock down role on Franklin etc. that Walls would still say Worsfold 'approached the game with a mindset that was too negative'.
Sydney are the only team in the competition that regularly play man on man for large portions of gametime.

The three main points of the article (Goddard as a spare, Hurley on Sinclair while Ambrose takes Buddy, 7 man defence after halftime) are pretty solid. A 7 man defence is far more negative the switching your best defender onto the best opposition forward who was already dominating a less experienced defender.

The issue with Walls criticisms is:
  1. Hurley isn't a good one on one defender and has at best average speed and agility. Physically Ambrose is a much better match up.
  2. Hurley was towelled up by Sinclair (probably due to being under done). Very unlikely to have been able to make a difference Buddy except for maybe the marking contest where Ambrose inexplicable ran under the ball.
  3. Hurley is the main distributor (with Goddard and Merrret) out of the backline. Playing a more accountable game would have changed the Bombers whole attacking structure out of defence.

I'm not a fan of Walls, personally. I think he is very much in the mold of Brad Hardie - both reasonably intelligent, knowledgeable people but both come across as being quite bitter and they both leverage their media profile to carry out personal vendettas against people, imo.

That said, Woosha, historically, does/or did tend to get found out on match day. It was a fairly common criticism in his time at WC, so I think Walls actually does have a fair point.

I think Essendon made the right call signing Worsfold, initially. Whether he's the guy for the next stage of the Essendon revival? I don't know. Perhaps he's learnt from his time at West Coast and the subsequent roles following that. You'd have to give him a massive tick so far. He's done really well coming in at the worst possible time and imo, he's actually over-achieved there thus far.

With all of that said, I don't think there was much he could have done against a rampaging Sydney on the weekend.

If he's right, it's the broken clock analogy.

If you see a headline with 'West Coast', 'Worsfold', 'Essendon', 'Sheedy' etc. with Walls as the author you can guarantee it's going to be negative.

It's like picking up an article about North's off-field position by Caro. You're not expecting a fluff piece.

I would love to pin point the precise issue Walls has with Woosha. Has to be personal.

Perhaps it dates back to his brother Peter's days at Brisbane? Walls would have been his coach. Only real link I can think of.

Perhaps it's simply that West Coast and the Bears both started in the competition in the same year, but only the Eagles were at all successful. Walls took over at Brisbane the year West Coast played in the GF and the year before they won their first premiership, while Walls made the finals once in his last year at the club. Worsfold's pretty damn embedded with West Coast in most minds, was the captain during their success in the 90s and thus a reminder of the crap club Walls ended up with. Envy transforms itself into hate.

I agree that personal attacks on Walls are probably unwarranted but his comments don't make a lot of sense. Did you watch the game? Hurley was clearly out of sorts. He looked like he was playing injured. I'm not sure putting him on Franklin would have made any difference other than adding a few goals to Sydney's tally.