War over Warnock

Excellent. So you'll pay him $1,000,000 and he'll sit out of footy for 2 years out of spite :D

Yup I'm sure Freo are reallllllly going to do that. So much for caring about the players welfare and what they like.... Freo are going to force someone against their will to remain in a city on the other side of Australia.... out of spite for not getting better than pick 24 for somebody that has done absolutely nothing in AFL football.

You could just see it now... every single kid to be drafted in the next 10 years will up front refuse to go to Fremantle with their track record of treating players.

How could he possibly put $1,000,000 on his head? Nobody would meet that demand and he would be forced out of the AFL for 12 months.

So you couldn't be bothered to read the posts at the top of the page to see that your grand plan has just one little flaw

4.5.2 Nominated Football Payments
(e) If a Player nominates his Football Payments he must do
so for a minimum period of two years.
Thanks for the info.

I find it amusing that we, the CFC have been painted in many cirlces as the villains this week, for simply offerring what we think is fair and sticking to it.

I find it somewhat distasteful the lengths to which Freo fans are happy to screw this guy over.......and screw themselves at the same time.

Lets say you re-draft him in the ND or PSD.
What chances he plays well next year? Think about his little sook earlier this year.

So, after two years of wallowing in the WAFL you'll release him to the GC, assuming he still has the hunger for footy at that stage.

You guys would really like to wreck his career.......all for the sake of a marginally higher placed pick in the ND?

Freo re-defining the term "Qulaity human beings".

If we were saying "Here's pick 40....take it or go jump" then I caould understand the "not enough" arguement......but this is being boody minded.

I feel sorry for Warnock.

all this acting tough for Warnock ( abloke u drafted with pick 50 something and has played 7 AFL games ) - and meanwhile you are letting J.Carr walk for free to Port in the PSD - a bloke you traded 3 decent picks for only a couple of years ago.

Man I aint arguing with you ...BANG - you knew all of these facts off the top of your head and not one factual error that I can see (I am typing with my eyes shut though)

I am a little confused in your view we should be trading Josh Carr to Carlton for 24?

it would be so funny if no trade can be done, Warnock puts a price on his head that Melbourne could not afford and Carlton get him with Pick 6 in the PSD....

A real possibility....

As possible as Fev inventing a particle accelerator and taking home the Noble and the Coleman.

Melb, Essendon & Freo ...you may have heard of these clubs that finished lower than you?

Do Freo supporters genuinely believe Melbourne will needlessly give them Pick 19 if the Warnock deal with the Blues falls through?

I'm sure Melbourne's administrators are nice guys, but I doubt they do charity.

I agree no way will Melb's mob do charity thats been Freo's job.

I mean Croad, Tarrant ...Medders - we paid over the odds for all of these guys.

Melb can just thank their lucky stars that Schwabby and CC work for us and not them.

Nobody would laugh more than me.... Freo re-drafting a player that told them he wants to leave... paying him $500,000 for the year and then having him leave out of spite 12 months later for nothing. That would certainly be a "Fremantle" type move :D

For once you have written something that I agree with.

Have that tissue box ready to go either way.

Didnt you read the bottom part mate yeah i agree 12 is a bit high thats why we would have to give another trade. For the amount of money carlton are willing to pay him he must be worth somthing.

Ignore Braun-2-be-wild mate - he has a purple chip on his shoulder the size of Uluru, and any comments he makes regarding our club are strictly Bay 13 material. Do yourself a favour and skip his comments, and go straight to the post below.

Carlton can't afford the deal to fall through. Collingwood are still carrying the stigma of the failed Nick Stevans deal. Players do not trust the pies to land deals as a result of it and it is one of the reasons we fail to attract players to the club.

I think the Judd trade bought us a few credits in that regard.

Carlton can't afford the deal to fall through. Collingwood are still carrying the stigma of the failed Nick Stevans deal. Players do not trust the pies to land deals as a result of it and it is one of the reasons we fail to attract players to the club.
One big difference.

We did land the biggest of fish.

We can and will allow the deal to fall through.

We keep pick 24, Melbourne get a ruck that won't really bother anyone at the Dees for a few years, and Freo get nothing.

Who can't afford to not get the deal done?:confused:

Just out of interest and not a troll as you are one of the good Carlton posters who has visited our board this week.

Did you feel sorry for Stevens and Thornton when the same sytem respectively forced one to you and forced the other to stay with you?

Warnock may find Melb a great place to be after a season.

I mean Pav was forced to us in the draft and for some insane reason the bloke is still there ...he must be enjoying the life here?

I was kind of forced transfer to cover (and for more $'s less work) I went for a year. Entering my 4th year now and it is probably the best thing I have done career wise.

How could he possibly put $1,000,000 on his head? Nobody would meet that demand and he would be forced out of the AFL for 12 months.

LOL you guys all remind me of that episode Sam Newman did in street talk in Fremantle... its all making sense now.

You don't get it do you.... I'll give you an idea how the conversation will go.

Warnock: Has a deal been done?
Carlton: No mate... Freo refuse to accept pick 24 so our only option is the PSD.
Warnock: Well f(#k them then I'll go in the PSD.
Carlton: Ok well we have $500,000 in our salary cap.... you put $1,000,000 on your head so that none of the 5 other clubs can afford to match the offer.... we will then renegotiate the contract so that it is frontloaded.... you''ll get $1 mill for the 1st 2 years and then $150k for the last 2 bringing you up to $325k per year over 4 years.
Warnock: Ok done.

Get it?

Just out of interest and not a troll as you are one of the good Carlton posters who has visited our board this week.

Did you feel sorry for Stevens and Thornton when the same sytem respectively forced one to you and forced the other to stay with you?
Yes. I did feel sorry for Stevens.
Port were complete aresholes, but they could afford to be being the minor premiers with a deep list.

Thornton was having trouble (not alone) with the coach. He could have called our bluff and gone into the PSD. I doubt we would have taken him.
Russ was in the same boat.

I mean Pav was forced to us in the draft and for some insane reason the bloke is still there ...he must be enjoying the life here?

Hardly a good comparison. If you look over the last 10 years or so.... not many players born in Sth Australia who end up in Melbourne or Perth ask to be traded back to Adelaide to live. On the other hand loads of players from WA and VIC ask to go back to their home state. Players who are from Adelaide and come to Perth or Melbourne generally realise how much better the lifestyle is and are willing to stay... where in Adelaide its the opposite. I think that had more to do with Pavlich's decision than anything else.... if Pavlich was a Melbourne boy he would have more than likely left the Dockers years ago.

So you couldn't be bothered to read the posts at the top of the page to see that your grand plan has just one little flaw

4.5.2 Nominated Football Payments
(e) If a Player nominates his Football Payments he must do
so for a minimum period of two years.

Chook dont bother just ignore it. Shit dries up and blows away after a while.

LOL you guys all remind me of that episode Sam Newman did in street talk in Fremantle... its all making sense now.

Carlton: No mate... Freo refuse to accept pick 24 so our only option is the PSD.
Carlton: Ok well we have $500,000 in our salary cap.... you put $1,000,000 on your head so that none of the 5 other clubs can afford to match the offer.... we will then renegotiate the contract so that it is frontloaded.... you''ll get $1 mill for the 1st 2 years and then $150k for the last 2 bringing you up to $325k per year over 4 years.

Get it?

So is he putting $1m a year, or $1m for 2 years (ie $500k per year)?

If he says $1m per year, then that is what goes in Carlton's salary cap, regardless of whether they renegotiate that payment down (if they increase it, the higher amount goes in the cap).

Melbourne get a ruck that won't really bother anyone at the Dees for a few years

If you believe that ...as that is what a lot of Blues fans post here.

Why are you not posting to drop the deal or protesting at your clubs silly decision?

I humbly suggest that a lot of Blues fans are covering their bums to say 'we didn't want him anyway' but if you get him it will be a different thing.

I'm on the line - I think he will be good to very good (minimum of 2 seasons) and if Freo accept 24 we are not as strong as I thought. My opinion will not alter I can cop it. If we take 24 rational thinking wins out over changing the club culture. It will suck as I want Freo to symbolise the Freo we here in WA know and love - the ghosts of Freo past would tell Carlton to stick it and say (*&(^ the consequences. Pick 24 at a time when we are not a threat is a nice time to stamp some old time Freo on this.

From I did not want to trade for Taz to I thought getting Polak over Judd was a steal - you win some you lose some.

Problem here on BF is everyone in hindsight sets it up so they win and/or were right regardless of the outcome (this is not necessarily directed at you BB).

Thanks for the info.

I find it amusing that we, the CFC have been painted in many cirlces as the villains this week, for simply offerring what we think is fair and sticking to it.

I find it somewhat distasteful the lengths to which Freo fans are happy to screw this guy over.......and screw themselves at the same time.

Lets say you re-draft him in the ND or PSD.
What chances he plays well next year? Think about his little sook earlier this year.

So, after two years of wallowing in the WAFL you'll release him to the GC, assuming he still has the hunger for footy at that stage.

You guys would really like to wreck his career.......all for the sake of a marginally higher placed pick in the ND?

Freo re-defining the term "Qulaity human beings".

If we were saying "Here's pick 40....take it or go jump" then I caould understand the "not enough" arguement......but this is being boody minded.

Oh puh-leeze... :rolleyes:

If that were the scenario - then the little sook would have no person to blame but himself. He could - yes - he could choose to if he really wanted - make the best of the situation.

Work his arse off to be the best player he can be for the team that picked him when everyone else thought he was too skinny to take a risk on, and then whose staff and programmes helped him put 20kg on his frame over 3 years... and who gave him 21 tastes of games at the top level in a time period when most thought he might be lucky to get 5 games cos of his body shape and size... he could in the scenario you're describing, put in and play another 30-40 games over the next 2 years at Freo - the club where (in your scenario) he is contracted to play AFL footy.

He could then ask to be traded if he still wanted to move. He could end up at GC... but this would be about as unlikely as him ending up at Adelaide or Sydney before tomorrow afternoon. He might even end up at Carlton - imagine that. Or maybe he wouldn't. He might end up at a club whose willing to part with what Freo are after. He might be a little more mature and keep his "I want to go home" options only... and not say "I want to go home to carlton".

He might be a hack and you lot might be grateful you dodged a bullet. Who knows.

But don't pull the "I feel sorry for warnock" card and the "Freo are such nasty people" trick, cos the only person who has brought this uncomfortable situation on is the young man himself. :rolleyes:

And if he were to end up back at Freo and chucked the major sooks like you're describing... then what sort of a quality human being would he be??

I remember a few years back, Heath Black wanted to be traded back to Freo. The trade didn't go through and he had to stay at the Saints for another year. He knuckled down, took on a leadership role at the Saints and played possibly his best season for St Kilda before requesting a trade back to Freo the following year. This is just one example - I am sure there are others. Warnock would have the choice - sook or play AFL footy, just like Blacky did.

My guess is he'd choose to play AFL footy. And if he didn't it would hardly be Freo's fault.

So just go and put away your violins for Robert Warnock. :rolleyes:

Its getting to the point now where i wish Carlton would just tell Fremantle where to go and pull the offer and move on, im sick of all the crap that is going along with this trade, its not like he is Judd, the guy was a pick in the 40s and cant get a game now and they want the earth for him, time to save face carlton and walk away.

For all these posters that can't work out why Warnock doesn't want to go to Melbourne here is the reason:

Melbourne have Paul Johnstone and Mark Jamar to compete with for a game.

Carlton Have Kruezer and part timer Cloke. He would be probably be first preference with Kruezer playing up forward.

Get it?

Carlton: Nah mate.
Warnock: Why not?
Carlton: We don't think you're worth more than pick 24 and aren't willing to negotiate.
Warnock: Well that's crap I'm like totally the best player ever...ummm...so what happens now?
Cartlon: Guess you'll have to try your luck in the ND or the PSD, up to you really. Either way, just put a big price on your head and we'll match it. It'll be fine, we promise.
Warnock: You mean like how you promised me this would all be sorted and I wouldn't have to end up in the PSD?
Carlton: errr...that's different...
Warnock: You guys are ****ed. I could end up anywhere now. Man my mum is going to be pissed.

For all these posters that can't work out why Warnock doesn't want to go to Melbourne here is the reason:

Melbourne have Paul Johnstone and Mark Jamar to compete with for a game.

Carlton Have Kruezer and part timer Cloke. He would be probably be first preference with Kruezer playing up forward.

You'd think a guy who is demanding 4 year contracts worth in excess of $1m would consider he's a pretty fair chance of being ahead of Jamar and Johnson.

Warnock: Sorry to call you back just ahd a thought - Melb, Essendon and Freo - would they pay that contract to get me? I don't want to be stuck?

Carlton: No ......they probably wont

RW: What do you mean probably

Carlton: Look mate Melb are reducing payments

RW: Wooo thats good

Carlton: Unless Green moves then they could but hey whats the chances? Look at this trade week mate!

RW: Freo

Carlton: They would be insane to take you even though they have the cash

RW: You said they would be insane to not take 24!

Carlton: Mmmmm good point got me their Knockers old mate

RW: Essendon?

Carlton: No they have Laycock and Hille

RW: Is that a joke?

Carlton: Ummmmm yes it is ...they wont Band of Brothers ..Vic big 4 stick together - there is a love between us since Campers came over...

RW: Can I get this committment on paper?

Carlton: Hell NO! ...I mean no that is not possible

RW: So I am taking all the risks here- Can you just give Freo a player FFS...(background - hang on Bails my towel is still by the pool)

Carlton: I'm on the other phone now.

Carlton: We don't think you're worth more than pick 24 and aren't willing to negotiate.
Warnock: Well that's crap I'm like totally the best player ever...ummm...so what happens now?
Cartlon: Guess you'll have to try your luck in the ND or the PSD, up to you really. Either way, just put a big price on your head and we'll match it. It'll be fine, we promise.
Warnock: You mean like how you promised me this would all be sorted and I wouldn't have to end up in the PSD?
Warnock: You guys are ****ed. I could end up anywhere now. Man my mum is going to be pissed.

hahahaha you guys are all in cuckoo land. You are making out like Carlton is the one at fault here. Fremantle are the ones with unreasonable expectations... so my guess is Warnock would be mega pissed that they are holding it up. I don't think even in Warnock's own mind he is worth more than pick 24... in fact he is probably thinking why the hell the Dockers are being such w!(*$% about it given they didn't even rate him good enough to get a regular game.

Carlton: We offered a resonable exchange in pick 24 and they aren't accepting
Warnock: Well that's crap, i'm not even contracted to them anymore, how can they interfere with whereabouts I pursue my career. They're lucky they even get anything!
Cartlon: We know. The AFL wants clubs to be reasonable in trade week and facilitate trades but when you have clubs like Fremantle who persist with unreasonable demands it makes it hard.
Warnock: Well, this is bullshit. They cant force players to go to clubs not of their choice.
Carlton: True, but unless it is challenged this system will remain in place
Warnock: You have the number of a good lawyer?
Carlton: Oh yeah, Dick has plenty of contacts in the legal fraternity.

I though this might've happened last year if Judd didn't get to his club of choice but I suppose Warnock can be the pioneer

Aren/t you the schmucks that didnt take Franklin or Pavlich :confused:

hey - your drafting history is as shitful as richmonds - the only difference is that we didnt give away black, mcleod, bell, croad, carr, simmonds.

black, carr, bell and croad are the funniest - those blokes you traded for or drafted - then either gave them back for free - or gave the house to get them back

even richmond can laugh at freo - especially now you have the new "frawley" in mark harvey.

"We are a very dangerous side" bwahahaha - this was when you were getting beat every week.