ant22

pies
we do everything possible to get kerr and cousins to collingwood.

I believe our forward line is the 2nd most dangerous in the comp(I rate hawthorn number 1) and that is one without 3 of the 4 best tall forward on the list.

Our backline is getting better every week. It has been touched up a few times but most backlines would if the mids get smashed the way ours has on a few occasions. In 2-3 year we could have the best backline in the comp and baring injury next I think they will be a pretty tight unit. I think Ja will go back next year if all our talls are up and running and his experience of playing forward will hold him in good stead. This will strenthen the backline.

So to the midfield. Swan is a gun and our only a grader(geelong have about 4 a graders) Pendles will be better next(will be verging on a grade) year and thomas will start to play alot more in the guts and provide some c factor. If didak stays he can rotate like he did this year but needs to spend some time up forward. After that it falls away alot. Cook has improved but is a c graded, stanley is unproven and may be ok and Obree is just about finished. Mccarthy looks like a good find, hard good in tight and good skills but is a few years off his best footy. IF we could add Kerr, cousins and possibly even a prismall(should he get droped at some stage) we could have a real crack at a flag in the next 3 years and even next year.

We may be able to get cousins with a 2nd rounder. To get kerr we would have to give up our first rounder and a very good young player(someone like a ben reid) and even that may not be enough so it is a long shot. Getting prismall as well would be very hard if we did manage to get these 2 as there will be alot of clubs chasing him. I would not be suprised if that cats could get a mid to late first round pick for prismall because baring injury he will play atleast 150 games and be very handy in any midfield. Im not sure if it can be done but I really hope we are agressive in the trade period and have a red hot crack. We have drafted very well over the last few years and have plenty of depth in the 18-22yo age bracket. Now is the time to make hay while the sun shines.

Kerr will ask to be traded to Carlton and if a deal cannot be struck, he will stay at the Eagles. There is no way he will be at Collingwood.

Cousins,who knows? Past 30 years, out of footy for over a year and a recovering drug addict, it is a high risk play to pick him up.

MM has been saying that the plan after this year is to pick up recycled players, along with developing our existing youth, in order to "weather the storm" of the GC17 and WS18 entries in the draft.

Benny Cuz probably has 2 or 3 good seasons in him, and to that end would be a perfectly decent addition to the side until the draft becomes more viable once again.

Kerr will ask to be traded to Carlton and if a deal cannot be struck, he will stay at the Eagles. There is no way he will be at Collingwood.

Cousins,who knows? Past 30 years, out of footy for over a year and a recovering drug addict, it is a high risk play to pick him up.

if carlton wanted kerr theyd be giving up murphy or gibbs plus a pick.. then they would have to fit him in the salary cap.. i honestly think he'd be more likely to come to us..

as for cousins.. harvey is like 50 and still influencing games(ok its st.kilda) but i think cuz is one of those rare footballers that will stll be dominating games till his mid 30s... he is a risk id take..

Does Cousins go into the main draft?

If so we will never land both of them as we will need to give up our early picks to trade for Kerr and Cousins will go early in the draft. Forget throwing Didak into the trade picture... its just not going to happen... and shouldn't and wont!

if carlton wanted kerr theyd be giving up murphy or gibbs plus a pick.. then they would have to fit him in the salary cap.. i honestly think he'd be more likely to come to us..
Not a chance in hell!

Cousins would be a good fit for Collingwood though...

edit: Footywise i mean^^^

Does Cousins go into the main draft?

If so we will never land both of them as we will need to give up our early picks to trade for Kerr and Cousins will go early in the draft. Forget throwing Didak into the trade picture... its just not going to happen... and shouldn't and wont!

Drafting Cousins would very much be by prior arrangement I would think.
Maybe a few clubs would kick and fuss but at the end of the day he would be
a) reasonably cheap in terms of Dollars.
b) a bargain in terms of draft picks, trades or concessions.

If that makes any sense.
If a decision was made by player and club I would think the majority of clubs would respect the players preference.
I do think that some kind of gratuity would be owed to West Coast as some form of compensation.
God knows how you would swing it but it can obviously be done.

Whose view is that? I don't think he'll cost a 2nd rounder in this draft, with the GC17 set to come in, with Cousins' history and the likelihood that he has perhaps 2-3 decent seasons in him.

as for cousins.. harvey is like 50 and still influencing games(ok its st.kilda) but i think cuz is one of those rare footballers that will stll be dominating games till his mid 30s... he is a risk id take..

The big issue with Kerr is that he wants to play at Carlton. He does not want to play at Collingwood. So if a move to Carlton is out of the question(I believe that Andrew Walker will be the player offered plus a first round pick), then Kerr will stay at the Eagles. It is pointless chasing a guy that does not want to play for us.
Don't get me wrong, I'd love to get him and I would be prepared to swap our first round pick plus Reid , Wellingham and Rhyce Shaw. But I doubt that even that would satisfy the Eagles anyway

I see you guys getting Ben for some reason all though as I am from Tasmania I am jealous as I love Cousins.

Whose view is that? I don't think he'll cost a 2nd rounder in this draft, with the GC17 set to come in, with Cousins' history and the likelihood that he has perhaps 2-3 decent seasons in him.

They way I reckon we should look at the Didak issue is just the way we look at the Cousins issue.
If you would have Cousins, you should keep Didak.
I would also have Cousins.

Given its a super draft and the next two drafts are going to be gifted to the new clubs I wouldn't give a second rounder for Cousins. The guy could flake out from all the scrutiny and attention from the media which would be doubled if he was at Collingwood. He might struggle to work his way back to AFL level or he could go back to his bad old habits. Its too much risk for a second round pick in my opinion. Yeah I realise that drafting a new player is a risk anyways, but with all the testing and profiling that goes into recruiting these days I prefer the risk to be on a young player given the talent that is likely to be available around then.

Cousins could be a great pick up and I'm happy for the club to use a third round pick on him if he goes in the main draft or to take him first pick in the PSD. If he can get back into form then his addition may be the boost we need to mix it with the big three teams of 2008.

Cousins would have the view of playing 2-3 years of good football so that he can end his career on a good note. I would draft him in respect to what he can do for the development of the young/middle aged midfielders in the team than his footy ability. He would have the same effect as judd has this year going to carlton, not as damaging as he has been in the past but will show the young mids just how much they have to run their guts out in a game of football, not to mention taking some of the heat of them.

I really dont think he would slip again, all though if there is a "culture" in the collingwood footy club perhaps it would be better for him not to go there. As any addict would know one of the first steps to recovery is staying away from people who could bring you back down.

They way I reckon we should look at the Didak issue is just the way we look at the Cousins issue.
If you would have Cousins, you should keep Didak.
I would also have Cousins.

have to agree with you there' lots of people looking to chop alan didak and give ben cousins a chance' don't see the point of dumping 1 so called problem and taking a chance on another MAJOR problem. if take cousins keep didak. would love to see the club keep didak gotta love the way he plays the game he's got the xfactor' and i think we really need to keep that xfactor and add to it. who should we be targeting realistic..?:thumbsu:

The big issue with Kerr is that he wants to play at Carlton. He does not want to play at Collingwood. So if a move to Carlton is out of the question(I believe that Andrew Walker will be the player offered plus a first round pick), then Kerr will stay at the Eagles. It is pointless chasing a guy that does not want to play for us.
Don't get me wrong, I'd love to get him and I would be prepared to swap our first round pick plus Reid , Wellingham and Rhyce Shaw. But I doubt that even that would satisfy the Eagles anyway

How is it that everyone keeps saying that Kerr only wants to play at Carlton?

I know that his mate Judd is there but honestly, Kerr hasn't said anything regarding getting traded so how do we know exactly where he wants to play.

A group of Carlton supporters have come to this conclusion using biased logic and somehow have convinced the rest of us that he wants to be a Blue.

Fevola was at a sportsmen night on during the week and said that Judd told him that put all your money on Kerr going to Collingwood and that J Brown will re-sign with Brisbane after the season has finished!

Don't fall for the old Carlton trick. The rumour was put around last year that Judd was heading to Collingwood.....now I wonder who put that rumour out there... now let me see....

Carlton appear to be a fair way down the track with Kerr. Certain players have apparently agreed to a pay cuts and they have costed in $800,000 pa for his contract. I would not be surprised if a deal has already been done. The big stumbling block will be the Eagles. They won't deal with us, but will they deal with Carlton after the Judd situation last year??? That's the question.

I can understand getting Kerr but why Cousins? That's a huge gamble...

It would make more sense developing some of the younger players we have, like Wellingham and McCarthy, rather than going with a short term plan who'll probably only last another year or two before we have to go through the whole process again and shop for a new midfielder!

I can understand getting Kerr but why Cousins? That's a huge gamble...

I think bodazoka expressed the reason why here.

I would draft him in respect to what he can do for the development of the young/middle aged midfielders in the team than his footy ability.

Exactly the same reasons given for waning to get J.Brown.
Take out the substance abuse issues and focus only on footy talent and what have you got?
If Cousins was still playing, his problems unknown or non-existent, he would be ranked either ahead of or equal to Brown as far as skills, leadership and winning qualities. He would also be commanding a similar price.

If we can control the off-field issues we have a potential "sale of the century" type player up for grabs. It is also pertinent that he is exactly the type of player we need to "polish" our "diamonds in the rough".

Kerr is in reality has no less off-field issues than Cousins and substantially more than Didak. Kerr could have easily been in exactly the same boat as Cousins. (if you are not aware of his issues...someone else may be able to fill you in more accurately but they do involve Drugs,drug dealers, arranging to purchase drugs and phone taps.)
Cousins chose to admit his drug problems, never once having failed a drug test, and confront them head on. He could have been stupidly under the impression that the majority would applaud such a personally damaging admission and offer as much help as he could possibly sustain.
Our blood thirsty media and the general public certainly put lie to that assumption, totally crucifying him regardless of the courage it must have taken to put his problems out in the public arena. The only drug charge ever tabled either by the AFL, The West Coast Eagles or the Western Australian Police was dropped after it was found the "drug" he was charged with possessing was prescribed legally to assist him in handling the pressure over his own drug usage admissions. The drug which caused 7 days of media frenzy was Valium, found in the bathroom cabinet's of a million Aussie homes.

I have not heard of any similar admissions from Kerr nor have I noticed any media asking any hard questions.....is it all too hard without the player actually giving them the info?

Cousins is "out". He has publicly aired his demons and expressed his firm desire to get his life on track and play AFL football again.
Kerr has not done anything along these lines and for the most part, due to the press having Cousins as "grist for the mill", has not been put under even close to the same scrutiny.

I would happily approve of Collingwood being the club which would give Cousins the new start he is striving for.

Don't fall for the old Carlton trick. The rumour was put around last year that Judd was heading to Collingwood.....now I wonder who put that rumour out there... now let me see....

Carlton appear to be a fair way down the track with Kerr. Certain players have apparently agreed to a pay cuts and they have costed in $800,000 pa for his contract. I would not be surprised if a deal has already been done. The big stumbling block will be the Eagles. They won't deal with us, but will they deal with Carlton after the Judd situation last year??? That's the question.

That is a stupid rumour that I am prepared to make a big sweeping statement that I guarantee that is not happening. There won't be some mass pay cuts at Carlton. I doubt Kerr will leave WCE let alone go to Carlton, but if he does they won't be taking mass pay cuts, if Kerr wants to go so bad he will take a pay cut himself. A football club realistically would not allow a situation where a lot of promising young kids are taking "pay cuts" to squeeze in a high priced player because when their contracts are up it's going to be a huge battle to keep them.

West Coast will deal with us because they aren't petulant children. I feel like hitting someone when they say "X won't deal with X".

Fellow Pies.

IMO we should throw every draft pick we have to get cousins and kerr to the Pies for next year. We have a plethora of young talent coming through and it looks as though the development of these kids is far more advanced that expected. (My expectations anyway)

We need at least 1 "in and under" midfielder aged (25) - Kerr

Cousins (30 odd) and Kerr will take us to the next level, and to teach the kids what's needed to be an elite midfielder.

Jonathan Brown would be a bonus, but we need elite mids more than a Key position forward.

As others have posted, I am all for getting Cousins to the club. I'm only for trading Didak if the club feels he has to go and we got a high draft pick for him to claim someone like Ziebell. I can't see that happening and now that everything has died down I get the feeling the club will retain Didak and give him one more chance. The old restrictions on his contract will be back in force though.

Cousins is one of the more professional footballers I think I have seen. Don't worry about the effect he could have on the young players - tell Dale Thomas he is to partner Cousins in the pre-season and watch the transformation in Thomas. Cousins may not lead by example in his personal life but he prepares himself for football in much the same way Buckley did.

I think a 3rd round pick might be enough to snare Cousins. We should possibly try to offload a player for a late 2ndround or early 3rd round to make sure of it.

Kerr would be terrific but I think the cost is too high. Worth asking the question though.

I would love to get either or both of Kerr and Cousins however I believe that since Geebungate our chances of getting them have diminished. Yes we may have gained some juicy trade bait from this incident however we also have a perception of being a club with a culture of poor player behaviour.

The club will be desperate to prove to members, supporters, sponsors and media that we are a well behaved disciplined club so to trade for a Kerr and Cousins, both with well known shady pasts may be counterproductive.

To counterbalance that claim - Mick came out last week and talked about how he believes in giving people second chances.

Could we argue that we are giving Kerr and Cousins a second chance and that this is a good thing for our culture or is it best to forget about Kerr and Cousins and keep our noses clean? pun intended

I believe it may be best to stay clear of them.

Can we trade Didak for off field issues and take either of Cousins and Kerr? I don’t think we can. Any statement made by trading Didak is immediately negated by taking a similarly poorly behaved player because he is good.

I’d love to see us keep Didak and Shaw and trade for Kerr. Cousins would be a bonus IF he was straight but at this point I would have grave doubts. It just seems odd the way he’s gone about the last minute sign up with Port Melbourne, saying he will train but not play and then he starts training in the WAFL. He may be foxing and it may be under agreement but the signs look poor IMO. You would want to do some very through and long running checking starting as of a couple of months ago is you were contemplating taking Cousins.

Normally I don’t get hat fussed by off field stuff but Cousins is a marked man. Any hint of a scandal and the crap will hit the fan like never before. You could probably say similar about Didak but at least he is ours and we don’t have to pay for him.