TheClokes

Apr 7, 2005
In Berlin, by the wall
Lord Auch
Presti is suspect now, and Goldsack simply hasn’t the build – Leaving us only with Nathan Brown.

Players to maybe look at, while we develop another key Back...

Wayde Mills (Brisbane)
Could be worth a second round pick (trade); has size and is a solid mark. Been at Brisbane a while and maybe looking to move on – could be an option.

Scott Thornton (Fremantle)
Gives great run out of the back half; hasn’t got the biggest build – but may be good insurance for us, and come cheap.

Antoni Grover (Fremantle)
Big lad and can take on the gorillas; another one that can fill a need and come cheap.

Leigh Brown (North Melbourne)
Maybe a 4th round pick for him – has size and could fill a need till we develop Scott Reed and/or Ben Reid at Centre half back.

Nathan Carroll (Melbourne)
I think Malthouse can turn this player around. Pick him with our last pick maybe. Malthouse could fire him up; make him nasty – taking on the gorillas. Giving us time to develop…

Troy Chaplin (Port Adelaide)
Won’t come cheap; but is a Victorian and could somehow be part of a Didak trade

Jason Blake (St Kilda)
Needs to move on; can fill a role down back.

Heath Grundy (Sydney)
I liked what I saw when he played against us. Has size and football nous - would love him at Collingwood.

Firstly No shit

Secondly we may not need to trade for one, Ruz gets fit he will slot in up front and JA can go back. Aso it seems the coaching staff have deceided reid is best at CHB and then we have Brown as a fullback, along with presti next year, Harry taking smalls, Goldsack either big or small and maxy playing loss.

Im all for recruiting a young ke back presti cant play forever but we arnt so deperate to trad for one especially not a Nathan Carroll type defender

We may well be better off if we had another key defender but we have other much more pressing needs. We need a ruckman more than another key back and we need a couple of mids probably more even than we need a ruckman. We could win a flag with the back stocks we have but we can’t with our current midfield and if Burns retires we will be at desperation point. For some reason we have stated we want a key defender every year since MM came to Collingwood. Maybe it is a furphy or maybe an obsession. I hope the former.

Gives great run out of the back half; hasn’t got the biggest build – but may be good insurance for us, and come cheap.

Maybe a 4th round pick for him – has size and could fill a need till we develop Scott Reed and/or Ben Reid at Centre half back.

I think Malthouse can turn this player around. Pick him with out last pick maybe. Malthouse could fire him up; make him nasty – taking on the gorillas. Giving us time to develop…

http://ideafix7.files.wordpress.com/2008/04/noose-lg-716525.jpg

Are we interested in Ben Rutten?

Presti is suspect now, and Goldsack simply hasn’t the build – Leaving us only with Nathan Brown.

Wayde Mills (Brisbane)
Could be worth a second round pick (trade); has size and is a solid mark. Been at Brisbane a while and maybe looking to move on – could be an option.

Big lad and can take on the gorillas; another one that can fill a need and come cheap.

I think Malthouse can turn this player around. Pick him with our last pick maybe. Malthouse could fire him up; make him nasty – taking on the gorillas. Giving us time to develop…

Jason Blake (St Kilda)

Heath Grundy (Sydney)
I liked what I saw when he played against us. Has size and football nous - would love him at Collingwood.
1) Wayde Mills- Hmmm no
2) Scott Thornton- more of a runner that body player, just signed 2yr deal i think.
3) Antoni Grover- Very good player wouldnt come cheap but yeah id have him
4) Leigh Brown- SPUD!
5) Nathan Carroll-Brushed Spud!
6)Troy Chaplin-Dropped twicw this year too inconsistent not a bad player though
7 Jason Blake-Under-estimated player good pick up but saints wont give him up IMO.
8) Heath Grundy-Good younster but more a swing man couldnt play on gorillas, Maybe?

I cannot believe you have mentioned Scott Thornton in a thread about key defender that we could find useful. Do you ever watch him play?! He runs with the ball but is the worst decision maker I have ever seen.

Rutten could be alright but I agree with Mick - we have all these tall, agile forwards - if Ried could go back with some success I am all for it. If that meant leaving Anthony up forward all the better. Hopefully we can pick up another key defender in the draft - not too likely though considering our deficiencies in the midfield..

Great list, lots of options there. I would also add Leo Barry and maybe see if we could talk Ben Holland out of retirement, although we'd have to give Melbourne at least a 2nd rounder for him I reckon.

Heath Grundy (Sydney)

I dont think that the Swans will be trading Heath Grundy. We have put in alot of time developing him as a player and i dont think that the Swans will be trading a KPP.

The only KPP the swans will trade/delist (Not including possible retirements) will be Luke Brennan.

We could also use a small defender to play on the Milne and Akermanis's of the footy world - unless Johnson is about to turn his career around, though I suspect he may not be given the opportunity. Who do we have who can mind a small forward in the pocket?

Reid is the obvious choice for CHB, and represents our best anti-Franklin weapon. Thompson from PA sounds worth chasing as an inside midfielder option, which leaves the problem of finding a second hand, big-bodied ruckman from somewhere, maybe as with Thompson , through a player swap.

I agree that CHB is not a priority. Reid played in defence in his final under-18 year, and I thought was initially recruited with CHB in mind. Perching Anthony alongside him in a Clement kind of role, with Brown at FB and Goldsack in the mix, and the defence could be a fairly formidable unit a year or two down the track.

I dont think that the Swans will be trading Heath Grundy. We have put in alot of time developing him as a player and i dont think that the Swans will be trading a KPP.

The only KPP the swans will trade/delist (Not including possible retirements) will be Luke Brennan.

Seen a bit of him through the ACTAFL and for the swans and to be honest can't see him being a defender. Butchers the ball by foot, seems to find himself out of position way too easily. Has played most of his time as a KPF so will take a while to adjust. Probably someone that we are just not ready to take on.

Wayde Mills (Brisbane)

Jason Blake (St Kilda)

Heath Grundy (Sydney)

Once again another disgusting post by theclokes!
The only piece of quality in your List is Troy Chaplin and he is better as a HBF!
What about Adam Hunter, had a season riddled with injury and we could get him cheap. Thoughts?

I think we ought to just draft one, personally. Presti/Brown/O'Brien/Maxwell/Reid will have to do for now, there just ain't a lot around.

We definitely need another KPD, but we don't need a gorilla one. We need one to take on the athletic hard leading forwards like Riewoldt. Someone like Bock. I'd rather we spent this year shaping our young players capable of becoming KPDs and focus on the midfield. A strong midfield takes a lot of pressure off the defenders.

Once again another disgusting post by theclokes!
The only piece of quality in your List is Troy Chaplin and he is better as a HBF!
What about Adam Hunter, had a season riddled with injury and we could get him cheap. Thoughts?
Like the way you think!
Hunter is an extremely good player both in Defence and up Forward love to get him but i reckon youd have to pry him from WC Eagles cold dead hands!
Hed cost Reid or Wellingham plus a late 2nd rounder i reckon.

Like the way you think!
Hunter is an extremely good player both in Defence and up Forward love to get him but i reckon youd have to pry him from WC Eagles cold dead hands!
Hed cost Reid or Wellingham plus a late 2nd rounder i reckon.

On the mark there would cost a bit I could see us trading him to the hawks for there first pick if anythink.

Great list, lots of options there. I would also add Leo Barry and maybe see if we could talk Ben Holland out of retirement, although we'd have to give Melbourne at least a 2nd rounder for him I reckon.

:D :thumbsu:

We need a Bock type, then someone to play on those small forwards. The rest of the defense looks very good.

Reid as an option to go CHB, well, he may very well be useful there. I'm not sure as to where his best position lies.

What about turning Dyas into a small defender? Its fair to say I think we need a small defender more than a CHB. Marty can't handle the negating role inside 50, and Tarks is better spent elsewhere. I think that's a severely underrated structure issue for 2009.

Seems there is alot of support for the notion of sending Ben Reid to CHB.

It may well be a masterstroke if it worked but I for one am against this. Reid could be what Franklin is at the Hawks. Yes, big wrap but I'm talking moreso of his height/speed combination moreso than anything, not comparing his ability with that of the freakishly talented Franklin.

JA should be sent to FB. These days, FB's aren't generally overly big but have strong core strength and very good bursts of speed. JA fits this mould as he can also be an option going out of defence too with his precise kicking skills. Jimmy Clement mould.

Browny moved to CHB. Reminds me of a young Rutten/Bock. Whilst he was impressive, he still probably needs to shred or rid himself of any excess weight or puppy fat to become just that extra mobile and agile. Is a terrific size and has that speed/endurance combo so he will get better with experience.

I don't mind Reid learning the caper and having the ability to play down back as well as up forward, yet I just don't think he is well attributed to playing as a key defender as he is as a tall forward/flanker.

We need another key defender