We suck!

• Thread starter Thread starter MrMeaner

Originally posted by PortProudWA
NO
Are you implying that what people on here are having a whinge about is only due to us losing two games in a row?

Or

Are you implying that yes we can have these gripes when we win, but not when we lose because that is when we must "show support" to players and coach?

I cant get over the reaction.....one bad lose, and yer we were beaten badly........now the coach must go, dewy's must be traded, Ladey has to go......

Not sure how long youve been here but....its been 3 bad losses and 5 weeks of playing relatively poorly

Dews up and down form has been discussion on this board for over a year

Lades inability to be an effective forward has been discussed on this board for a year

Shaun Burgoynes poor form has been talked about strongly for months and months.

So NO, its not one bad loss brings everything about.

if it happened every friggin year or week, we might have something to complain about

Margin aside, it was the exact same way we lose every time we lose, and yet again, there was little changes made during the match to counteract this, yet again there was no change in game plan to counteract this.

So yes, it does happen every year, and it will happen again in the finals this year if we dont do a bloody thing about it. I dunno about you but im sick of losing these so called unloseable finals because we play the same predictable style week in week out with minimal changes ever made that make us cannon fodder for teams in the finals.

Surely when we are getting beaten its time to try something different, not just stick to the same formula with the same players in the same positions. Why does it take till 3/4 time every loss we have before a change is made? What happened to this ****ing brand new game plan of ours? What a ****ing myth that was.

Sorry I didn't read the whole thread! I am an international Port Adelaide fan so I haven't seen the game in question. Just how bad was it and is there any chances of Port Adelaide salvaging the season and putting us up in sight of a fight for the premiership?

Originally posted by Thunderer
Sorry I didn't read the whole thread! I am an international Port Adelaide fan so I haven't seen the game in question. Just how bad was it

Pretty much the worst the club has ever played.

and is there any chances of Port Adelaide salvaging the season and putting us up in sight of a fight for the premiership?

Of course we will come back. We will play a part in the finals. Unsure about premiership tho.

Originally posted by Macca19

Of course we will come back. We will play a part in the finals. Unsure about premiership tho.

Good. If we make the finals then I am sure we'll give it our best crack because we'll have something to prove. Keep the faith.

Re: Coach

Originally posted by nay
WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU SUPPORTERS BLAMING THE COACH AND HIS STAFF IS SO WRONG. THE PLAYERS KNOW HOW TO PLAY THE GAME, THEY NEED TO FIND HEART, SOUL AND PASSION, SOME HAVE BIG HEADS THEY NEED TO GO BACK TO THE SANFL FOR A WEEK OR TWO.

HOW CAN THE COACH BE BLAMED WITH SO MANY PLAYERS OUT AND THE REST NOT PULLING THEIR WAIT.

The coaching staff, particularly the head coach should inject passion into a side and ensure his players are switched on when it matters. The past two games particularly have been passionless performances. The players have not been switched on. I don't think Chocco could motivate a donkey presently, let alone motivate a football team:(

Originally posted by Macca19
Not sure how long youve been here but....its been 3 bad losses and 5 weeks of playing relatively poorly

Margin aside, it was the exact same way we lose every time we lose, and yet again, there was little changes made during the match to counteract this, yet again there was no change in game plan to counteract this.

So yes, it does happen every year, and it will happen again in the finals this year if we dont do a bloody thing about it. I dunno about you but im sick of losing these so called unloseable finals because we play the same predictable style week in week out with minimal changes ever made that make us cannon fodder for teams in the finals.

Surely when we are getting beaten its time to try something different, not just stick to the same formula with the same players in the same positions. Why does it take till 3/4 time every loss we have before a change is made? What happened to this ****ing brand new game plan of ours? What a ****ing myth that was.

Been around a long time mate!! Yer I agree that Jnr has to lift, and does Dewy and a couple of others.

i dont agree that it all lays at Chocko's feet.......take out the players we had out in any team and see how good any coach goes. How can he formulate and settle a game plan, when he keeps losing so many players, there for having to move other players to cover the positions lost. Tredders could have badly used Corney's on sunday upfront.....but then who would Chocko have put down back.

Its Round 9 coming up, not even half way though the season. And already we have 13 on our list out!!! The most out of all the teams. Look at a team Like Freo, who with ONE injury still get beaten by Hawthorn. WCE have 3 out and are not even in the eight, then Collingwood with 4 out are bottom. So all in all I i reckon we not doing to bad. I hate to see us get steam rolled like we did, and seeing some of the seniors only play to 1/2 their ability, but I can see a bit bigger picture as well.

And why are you talking about losing finals already:rolleyes:

Last year is over, we cant change the results......just wait until this september is over before you even start bagging us in the finals....jezzzzz dont we cope that enough from everyone else, let alone from our own.:(

Cant wait for the likes of Pickett & Carr to come back so that Dew will finally be dropped. He hasn't played a decent four quarters for ages. JUnior is only marginally better, atleast it looks like he is now starting to try though. Wakelin & Bishop, christ we should have kept the Pax and ****ed these guys off.

Been around a long time mate!! Yer I agree that Jnr has to lift, and does Dewy and a couple of others.

i dont agree that it all lays at Chocko's feet.......take out the players we had out in any team and see how good any coach goes. How can he formulate and settle a game plan, when he keeps losing so many players, there for having to move other players to cover the positions lost. Tredders could have badly used Corney's on sunday upfront.....but then who would Chocko have put down back.

Its Round 9 coming up, not even half way though the season. And already we have 13 on our list out!!! The most out of all the teams. Look at a team Like Freo, who with ONE injury still get beaten by Hawthorn. WCE have 3 out and are not even in the eight, then Collingwood with 4 out are bottom. So all in all I i reckon we not doing to bad. I hate to see us get steam rolled like we did, and seeing some of the seniors only play to 1/2 their ability, but I can see a bit bigger picture as well.

And why are you talking about losing finals already:rolleyes:

Last year is over, we cant change the results......just wait until this september is over before you even start bagging us in the finals....jezzzzz dont we cope that enough from everyone else, let alone from our own.:(

Having calmed down since Sunday I do have sympathy for your position. Take 10 first choice players out of the Kangas (hell take em out of any team) send them to Footy Park to play a full strength Port (including Primus and Francou) and tell me what the margin would be. We slaughtered Essendon in rd 1 by 96 points and they had maybe 4 or 5 first choice players out, and we were without Primus and Francou already. Now they’re being talked up as a premiership threat and we’re writing the season off. Any side can be flogged and while the effort was terrible on Sunday it can happen to anyone especially as we’ve been shoring the side up for a few weeks now. It’s obviously going to be a rough ride for a few weeks, and some of the decisions being made are dubious, but this is just something we are going to have to wear for a while until we start getting players back and stop losing them.

Originally posted by Ford Fairlane
Having calmed down since Sunday I do have sympathy for your position. Take 10 first choice players out of the Kangas (hell take em out of any team) send them to Footy Park to play a full strength Port (including Primus and Francou) and tell me what the margin would be. We slaughtered Essendon in rd 1 by 96 points and they had maybe 4 or 5 first choice players out, and we were without Primus and Francou already. Now they’re being talked up as a premiership threat and we’re writing the season off. Any side can be flogged and while the effort was terrible on Sunday it can happen to anyone especially as we’ve been shoring the side up for a few weeks now. It’s obviously going to be a rough ride for a few weeks, and some of the decisions being made are dubious, but this is just something we are going to have to wear for a while until we start getting players back and stop losing them.

Spot on Ford Fairlane. We have currently 27 players (and falling) to pick from so if you were to drop Wakelin, Dew, Lade, Schoefield, S. Burgoyne and others as many supporters are calling for - who would you replace them with at the moment. I am sure that if we had a reasonable compliment of players to pick from, those players listed above would have been dropped.

As for replacing the coach, I think it is still too early to make that call. I don't think it is fair to judge Choco until we get a few experienced players back and played a couple of finals under the much talked about new game plan.

Originally posted by Mitch Power
Spot on Ford Fairlane. We have currently 27 players (and falling) to pick from so if you were to drop Wakelin, Dew, Lade, Schoefield, S. Burgoyne and others as many supporters are calling for - who would you replace them with at the moment. I am sure that if we had a reasonable compliment of players to pick from, those players listed above would have been dropped.
I'm not. If we had a reasonable compliment of players, Wakelin's deficiencies would be hidden again until finals.

I stated this before the year began, and I'll say it again now.
Personally I do not care how many games we lose this year. Having all these players out also means we are going to lose even more. That's life.
Losing by nearly 100 points happens from time to time even to the best teams, let alone teams with more than half of it's "best players" missing.
What I would like to see though, win or lose is that we will not fall into the same trap as years gone by.
This is where PortProudWA and a few of us differ in opinion.

A lot of us do not see anything that has changed, not only that but if anything we are doing with Chad Cornes what many feared before the first game.
Chad Cornes at CHB is a good move, and even if it fails it's worth trying at this early stage in the season, but not in a way that we rob Peter to pay Paul.
Move Chad to CHB, but replace him with a specialist tall, not another ruckman again. The ruckman move failed with Chad and Tredrea up there, let alone with only Tredrea.
The other youngsters are being played mainly because of injury.
About the only positive so far is that in the last couple of years RFK and Mahoney would have been first choice over the Eberts and co. That is a big positive, but we need that even in positions where we have regulars that have failed in the past.

White must play in the forward line every game from now on. The finals are around the corner, and how many players come good for them with fewer than 10 games? Not many if at all.

Now is this having a go at the coaching staff? Yes it is I suppose.
Is this having a go at them just because we lost two games? No. Far from it.
Is this screaming for Choco's blood? No it isn't. Again far from it.