blue boy

Utah
People on this board must get it into their heads that Carrazzo is not a bad player and it would be a mistake to get rid of him.

1. It is a myth that he turns the ball over as much as everyone says he does. He averages 80% effective disposal and 2.9 clangers a game. For a player who racks up the ball so many times that is an extremely good effort. I know that he has many of his possesions of the half back line chipping it around but for all we know that is exactly what Ratten is instructing him to do.

2. He tries his guts out and is one of the few workhorses of the team.

3. He is in the leadership group.

We need him in our side whether you like it or not:thumbsu:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mNjWZquZb3o

Btw watch him take on Tambling and kick a goal in this video:) suck balls Shambling:)

Why wouldn't we? He is about 7th or 8th in terms of the midfield rotation, more highly rated than he probably deserves, lacks the backline/midfield attributes we requires (speed, footskills & decision making) and has some trade value. If we could upgrade our first pick to get a gun mid or KP forward or back why wouldn't we? Hawks made some really tough calls which payed dividend; Croad, Thompson, Hay etc....I can't see any reason why we shouldn't do the same before the Gold Coast franchise come in and rape the draft.

What exactly do you think we will get for him? We will not get what he is worth.

People on this board critisize every player who isnt up to the standard of players like Judd, Murphy, Fevola. But what needs to be realised is that we are never going to have 18 Judds running around the field. players like Carrazzo may not be up to the Judd standard but are still valuable players to the club.

Open your eyes people:thumbsd:

People on this board must get it into their heads that Carrazzo is not a bad player and it would be a mistake to get rid of him.

1. It is a myth that he turns the ball over as much as everyone says he does. He averages 80% effective disposal and 2.9 clangers a game. For a player who racks up the ball so many times that is an extremely good effort. I know that he has many of his possesions of the half back line chipping it around but for all we know that is exactly what Ratten is instructing him to do.

Btw watch him take on Tambling and kick a goal in this video:) suck balls Shambling:)

Right now as our current list stands no question he is our best 22 , but looking forward if we hope to be a better team in one -two years time, l am not convinced of him for two reasons- one lack of leg speed and two he makes skill errors on a consistent basis which these days is critical.

l see him a back pocket or half back flank as against the quality teams he has significant weaknesses in his game as a mid-fielder.

Right now as our current list stands no question he is our best 22 , but looking forward if we hope to be a better team in one -two years time, l am not convinced of him for two reasons- one lack of leg speed and two he makes skill errors on a consistent basis which these days is critical.

l see him a back pocket or half back flank as against the quality teams he has significant weaknesses in his game as a mid-fielder.

yes, as he has been used this year. I like him as a back pocket.

He's an OK back pocket. Always manages to buy a little bit of time when we're under the pump back there, and generally manages to get the pill to a teammate.

As long as he's not the bloke responsible for the last kick into the forward line his work's usually up to AFL standard.

The OP is dead right in saying that he's a pretty big BF scapegoat, as JR was until about 5 or 6 weeks ago.

I think Carrazzo is highly under-rated from our supporters, hypothetically if we were to trade him I feel we would be able to pick up a good player as I feel other teams rate him. I wouldn't mind trading him as long as its a fair trade, perhaps Carrazzo for Ben McKinley. Hrmm

Need to organically grow. The fact of the matter is that we have a great core group of young kids and you cannot keep bringing in short term solutions from other clubs. Sure when the opportunity presents itself like Judd you must go for it but you need to grow your own kids!!!

Hawks made some tough calls but most of their trades were 25+ years old and had been in the system for a while.

If this group does not grow, learn and develop together then I am afraid it'll be a while till we build success. The only trades we should be looking at are guys who've been there for a while and/or not shown enough, ie. Wiggins, Ackland, maybe Hartlett and Edwards?

As for trading Carrazzo, you gotta be kidding. A versatile, hard working midfielder who consistently finds the ball and has a defensive side to his game are not easy to find. Would be well down the list of tradeable assets in my book.....

carrazo's not a midfielder in a good side.
altho if he can improve his defensive skills and pressure theres the 'possibility' he could become a valuable BP or HBF with his ability to attract the footy and work the ball out of defence in a basketball styled game :thumbsd: (contested footy used to be great).
in saying that he would need to learn how to play on the milnes, medhursts, riolis, etc. the elite small crumbing forwards in the comp...

What exactly do you think we will get for him? We will not get what he is worth.

People on this board critisize every player who isnt up to the standard of players like Judd, Murphy, Fevola. But what needs to be realised is that we are never going to have 18 Judds running around the field. players like Carrazzo may not be up to the Judd standard but are still valuable players to the club.

I didn't critisize anyone. Infact I quite like Carrazzo. Your comments are inacurate and hardly relevant to what I said. I would like to see the Blues be aggressive during trade week and look to secure top 20 picks and/or upgrade our 1st pick. Players like; Houlihan, Carrazzo, Thornton, Scotland should be considered for trade.

The bloke loves the easy hang out kick then turns it over. No leg speed either. Get rid of him for a quality tall. Just my opinion!!!

get off the mushrooms champ.

Get off the mushrooms? what kind of a comment is that, everything one_twelve has mentioned is completly true, right now is the perfect time to trade for picks in order to secure a few young guns. And Carrazzo is around 7th in our midfield I mean look at the players we have before him Murphy, Judd, Stevens, Gibbs, Simpson, Bentick, Hadley and even Walker when he returns. Trading him would be a win/win for both parties.

yes, as he has been used this year. I like him as a back pocket.

Same. I'd like to see him used more in the BP as well, to do a job when needed. I have no problem with him going through the midfield, it's just when he makes silly errors with his disposal. Something that he will keep needing to work on.

Get off the mushrooms? what kind of a comment is that, everything one_twelve has mentioned is completly true, right now is the perfect time to trade for picks in order to secure a few young guns. And Carrazzo is around 7th in our midfield I mean look at the players we have before him Murphy, Judd, Stevens, Gibbs, Simpson, Bentick, Hadley and even Walker when he returns. Trading him would be a win/win for both parties.

I understand where you are coming from, however i do not know what you think we will get for him. We will not be able to secure a "young gun" or a quality tall that some people fantasize about. In 3-4 years time maybe you are right and maybe he will not make our side. But at this moment in time, Carrazzo is a good player for us and should not be traded as we will not recieve what he is worth.

Carrazo is trade bait in fact I would go as far as to say that Carazzo, Scotland, Stevens, Thornton, Bentick should all be dangled in front of a few teams. I can't believe some of you guys rate this hack, he has no speed, cant kick to a target thats 20 meters away and goes missing when things arent going well.

If the club acted everytime someone on BigFooty had a sook about a player not being good enough, we wouldn't even have half a bloody team to post on the previous Thursday!

Ridiculous post. EVERYONE is tradeable at the right price. Whether or not we trade Carazzo would depend on a range of factors including whether anyone wanted him and what they were prepared to offer

You trade Carrazzo for what he is worth in two to three years time when he won't be in our best 22 and will be struggling for a game.

Ala Whitnall circa 2005.

Supporters said we shouldn't trade him because we needed Lance to help our KPP develop without the pressure of being the go to player.

We'd have a Higgins, Birchall or Jones if we had the foresight to trade him. :(

I understand where you are coming from, however i do not know what you think we will get for him. We will not be able to secure a "young gun" or a quality tall that some people fantasize about. In 3-4 years time maybe you are right and maybe he will not make our side. But at this moment in time, Carrazzo is a good player for us and should not be traded as we will not recieve what he is worth.
I think other clubs rate him enough to give us what he is worth. Like I said, Perhaps we could trade Carrazzo for Ben McKinley. As we all know Ben McKinley is out of contract and Carlton are looking to secure his services. Could be a possible trade.

But after all I do think he is a serviceable player. He wont be in the team in 3-4 years so if we don't act on it now, we could be left with another spud.

I think putting walker in front of carrots is more evidence of
mushroom use. Walker is trade bait central.

I think putting walker in front of carrots is more evidence of
mushroom use. Walker is trade bait central.
Seriously mate, if anything you are the one using the mushrooms. Walker has leg speed, one of the fastest in the team. He has potential to be anything. Hence the reason why he was a top 5 draft pick.

Run along now, Mushroom boy.

Carrazo is trade bait in fact I would go as far as to say that Carazzo, Scotland, Stevens, Thornton, Bentick should all be dangled in front of a few teams. I can't believe some of you guys rate this hack, he has no speed, cant kick to a target thats 20 meters away and goes missing when things arent going well.
I'm not seeing it from a hack or non-hack point of view. I just think he is a player we could afford to lose who does have some trade value. Imagine the Picks go something like this;

1. Essendon
2. Fremantle
3. Melbourne
4. West Coast
5. Carlton

Why wouldn't we look for a Pick 5 + Thornton to Dees for Pick 3 which we could then use on Hurley. The Dees are screaming for an experienced defender. Or Pick 5 + Scotland/Carrazzo to Freo for Pick 2 Hurley or Rich. Dunno if anyone would take the bait, but I think the club need to throw something out there.