Player Watch Welcome to Hawthorn, Dylan Moore. Extends to 2026! Plays 100th game in the 2024 second semi-final

Congrats on 100 games Moorey, it’s been a pleasure to watch your game grow into the star you are now.

I predicted you would have a big impact in last weeks game which didn’t come to fruition, however I know a talent like you won’t have two down weeks. Let the game come to you and let your natural ability take over from there. You got this!

Even though he was selected as AA last season I reckon Moorey has slid under the radar for 2025. A lot of people commented on his down games in the '24 finals - what hasn't been commented on enough is the incredible feat of producing an AA-standard year after contracting glandular fever in February.

I've been unlucky enough to have had dengue fever twice. Both times it knocked me around, with the second time putting me out of action for months. The fever itself only lasts 2-3 weeks but the recovery takes frigging forever - lethargy, lack of focus, muscle cramps, the whole works.

I've never had glandular fever but from what I hear the recovery is quite similar. I'm not surprised he ran out of petrol tickets for the last part of the year.

I can't wait to see how the little champ fares this year with a full pre-season under his belt ;)

Even though he was selected as AA last season I reckon Moorey has slid under the radar for 2025. A lot of people commented on his down games in the '24 finals - what hasn't been commented on enough is the incredible feat of producing an AA-standard year after contracting glandular fever in February.

I've been unlucky enough to have had dengue fever twice. Both times it knocked me around, with the second time putting me out of action for months. The fever itself only lasts 2-3 weeks but the recovery takes frigging forever - lethargy, lack of focus, muscle cramps, the whole works.

I've never had glandular fever but from what I hear the recovery is quite similar. I'm not surprised he ran out of petrol tickets for the last part of the year.

I can't wait to see how the little champ fares this year with a full pre-season under his belt ;)
Be very careful with multiple dengue cases. It exponentially gets worse with each case.

Without wanting to derail the thread, I agree with you. I’ve had dengue twice too. The recovery is very tough and if glandular is even half as bad my respect for Dylan has gone up exponentially. Should be primed for a cracking 2025.

Has the discussion of Dengue fever put on a mozz on this thread?

Captain America Lol GIF by mtv

Without wanting to derail the thread, I agree with you. I’ve had dengue twice too. The recovery is very tough and if glandular is even half as bad my respect for Dylan has gone up exponentially. Should be primed for a cracking 2025.
For someone who travels a lot in Asia and Africa for work, i'm fanatical about not getting dengue. A shit of a disease and particularly dangerous if mixing the strains from the two regions. So if you've had dengue in Asia, do all you can not to get it in Africa (and vice versa)

Hahaha - that's what happened to me. Had it once in Africa when I was a kid, then again around a decade ago in Jakarta when I was working there for a few years. Recovery was absolutely brutal.

I haven't had glandular fever (any one who has, any insights?) but I've heard recovery can also be quite nasty. Really illustrates how hard Moorey worked last year.

Hahaha - that's what happened to me. Had it once in Africa when I was a kid, then again around a decade ago in Jakarta when I was working there for a few years. Recovery was absolutely brutal.

I haven't had glandular fever (any one who has, any insights?) but I've heard recovery can also be quite nasty. Really illustrates how hard Moorey worked last year.
what doesn't kill you makes you stronger, so glad you're ok! Had a test recently that showed i once had glandular fever as a kid – unbeknown to me – so one of those mystifying illnesses that presents itself in varying forms but absolutely can wipe you out for 6 to 12 months.

Thanks. Great advice. I hadn’t realised about intercontinental strains. I got it twice in Bangladesh in 3 months, but now live in Zambia and travel in Africa a lot. I’ve also heard that once you have a strain you’re meant to be immune to getting it again. Is that true? And have you ever met anyone who got it three times?

Love Zambia! Lucky bugger. Don't know much on the exact details, sorry other than increases risks of complications. You're probably wearing repellant and using mozzie nets for malaria over there already, so that's all you can do.

You can't get the same strain twice, there's also now a vaccine out that offers good protection against two of the four strains (not available in Australia as not yet approved, but can get it in the UK). I also heard (from a UN doctor) that once you've had 3 strains you're very unlikely to get the fourth as well. I've had it twice - didn't even know the first time, but thought I was going to die the second time around. The glory of humanitarian work.

Thanks mate. This is really interesting to know. I will have a look in the US for the vaccine next time I'm there for work. Really appreciated.

And yes - the joy of that sort of work. I'm in development - so wouldn't have been in places quite as extreme as you - and I've picked up my fair share of bugs/viruses/diseases!

Dylan MOORE

04-Aug-99 | 175.8cm | 65.9kg | Eastern Ranges

“Dylan is a running machine who ran a quick time for the 2km time trial and this year his improvement has been enormous and it’s all come about through hard work. He just puts his balls on the line and works. Uses his speed to get to contests, his kicking has improved and the thing that has enhanced his prospects is that when he goes forward he can kick a goal. Small, but just keeps finding a way.” – Eastern Ranges coach Darren Bewick.

Magnetoreception.

If you are Hawthorn enough, you are good enough.

77312_l.jpg

Thanks mate. This is really interesting to know. I will have a look in the US for the vaccine next time I'm there for work. Really appreciated.

And yes - the joy of that sort of work. I'm in development - so wouldn't have been in places quite as extreme as you - and I've picked up my fair share of bugs/viruses/diseases!
No worries at all. I've transitioned to development myself now -slightly more family friendly than humanitarian but still no shortage of illnesses to go round, dependingon where you end up!

This guy is cut from a different cloth.

Shows up on the stat sheet as 1 goal 9 touches but it was just so much more than that tonight.

This guy never loses a contest and never takes a backwards step.

Well, it's been 2 and a half months since the last post here. He hasn't continued at all with his form from the first 2 or 3 rounds, let alone his 2024 form. In fact, he's probably in the worst form he's been in since he nearly got delisted in 2020.
But I'm going to argue that, unlike Connor MacDonald, Moore himself isn't necessarily the problem with his play right now. Rather, it is what has happened to our elite ball movement.

With the slower ball movement coming out of our defensive 50, Moore isn't getting the same opportunity to run off the back of someone and get into space. Instead, once he does gain possession (he's still getting the ball quite high up the ground), he is getting caught in pockets by himself with little to no assistance to come along and keep the ball moving. This then means he's forced into the opponent's defensive structure or to try and kick longer down the line to a pack contest.
Poor inside 50 entries and more stagnant movement forward of centre haven't helped also when he's inside 50.

Considering he hasn't been able to play his role effectively right now, the ball movement issues being one that could take a while as we adjust with Barras and Battle, and Will Day not being there, I'm not sure why Mitchell hasn't thrown Moore into the midfield. He did quite well, especially with clearance work, when thrown into the guts late in 2022. And we nearly won every game as a team in that stretch.

It needs to happen, imo, to give a dynamic back to the midfield with no Day, especially if Mackenzie isn't in this week.

Can’t help but feel he’s been hampered with lower leg niggles impacting his form. Feels like this season is coming together as a perfect storm of shit for the leaders of the club. It’s not over yet- Lewis, Day to return and hopefully Moore and Sicily can get whatever they need, be it rest or form.

Having to come off for 5-10 minutes every match to get his heel re-strapped has me thinking he's carrying a rather bad niggle.

He's not exactly blessed with speed but he has looked slow out there and opposition half backs are just waltzing it out.

Having to come off for 5-10 minutes every match to get his heel re-strapped has me thinking he's carrying a rather bad niggle.

He's not exactly blessed with speed but he has looked slow out there and opposition half backs are just waltzing it out.
Looked like he tweeked his ankle on Friday as well

Player Watch Welcome to Hawthorn, Dylan Moore. Extends to 2026! Plays 100th game in the 2024 second semi-final