ozzult

West Coast Eagles
You blokes really answered the challenge.

How did you think we played? I thought we gave it a really red hot go, but at Footy park, and playing one of the best sides in the comp, we couldn't break away.

I was happy with the Eagles game. Adelaide are a 3-4 goal better side than us, and to lose by only 5 goals at their home ground, I thought was a decent effort.

Well done.

For the most part I was happy with Adelaide's performance, our midfield fired and the defence stood up well. Our inefficiency up forward is still a major concern IMO. I felt we should have been ahead, and by a fair bit, at half time, but we just weren't taking enough grabs inside 50, and there were a few too many misses at goal.

Originally posted by ozzult

How did you think we played? I thought we gave it a really red hot go, but at Footy park, and playing one of the best sides in the comp, we couldn't break away.

I was happy with the Eagles game. Adelaide are a 3-4 goal better side than us, and to lose by only 5 goals at their home ground, I thought was a decent effort.

Well done.

Beaten but not disgraced. I thought the Eagles did have a red hot go with Gardiner leading the way, but in the end Adelaide just had too many big guns for what is obviously an up and coming side.

After the Judge disaster, the Eagles are on the way back.

Originally posted by ozzult

Well done.

Thought it was a good game to watch & the Eagles did not throw in the towel, good players for you guys was Wirrupunder in the first half, Judd for most of the game, that pesky little pest Matera & i reckon Gardner showed a lot against Biglands & Clarke,

Re: Re: Well done

Originally posted by macca23
Beaten but not disgraced. I thought the Eagles did have a red hot go with Gardiner leading the way, but in the end Adelaide just had too many big guns for what is obviously an up and coming side.

No arguments there. Eagles had a real dip. They are a good side and if they can sneak a couple of victories on the road they could well get into top 4 by seasons end.

In the end we wanted to win it more:) West Coast are a very good side and like has already been said if they win 3-4 on the road will be top 4 side!!!!! Mcleod was brilliant in the third with his three quick goals, just typical Mcleod brilliance:D :D

Have a question for you all: Bickley and Smart,still very valuable players for the club despite coming towards the end of their careers, I think Bickley had 26 possesions today and Smart had about 18, If they think they are both upto it and are both playing great footy like they are, should they continue playing???? Or should they make way for some new blood????? Thoughts???This I reakon is an interesting one!!!!!! I admire them both they are committed to the club 120% and they play so well:D

I thought just about everyone had a pretty good go today and barring no injuries what changes should be made for next week against the Powder Puffs?????? I though Ronnie was going to have a good one today, he started off well but yeah that was it from him unfortunatley?????Do we persist with him????Also Marsh was ok, but can we afford to play them next week?????

Re: Re: Well done

Originally posted by macca23

I think Macca has best summed this up. I'm confident I will be correct picking the Eagles in the top-8 as Woosha is moulding the side into a good unit. Like the Crows, whilst your weakness is your attack, you have a great midfield. I was very impressed with the class of Judd again - a great user of the ball. Also, Wirripunda looks like he is getting back to his best. He towelled up Burns.

Eagles gave a good account of themselves today, and Im sure they will be around at the pointy end of the season.

Crows were fair, and won by what I feel we should of won by. In a sense it was our first tough game this year, meaning that it was our first game against another side I predict will finish in the top 8.

Maccas_no 1, i think Bickley?Smart decisions best left till seasons end. Win a third premiership, and that would be a fitting note to retire on..

Burnsy needs another game, keep him in the squad for this week, and Marsh out for Perrie.

Why didn't Perrie play?[I missed the game and only picked up bits on the replay]

Re Bickley and Smart - you must play your best side - and atm they are part of it!

West Coast looked ok - but I think they will have to be able to lift a notch or two when they play away if they are have a few successes away from Perth - looks like the derby could be interesting - not sure who I'd tip atm.

What would it take this week for Burns to have the effect he had today?

By that I mean he was given a touch up of course, who could be his opponent this week and how would he fare?

West Coast had a real dip in this game, and matched it with Adelaide for the first half.

To win West Coast basically needed Gardiner to be at his best form all day, they needed Matera to fire, and they needed Cousins to play a blinder. Basically Gardiner ran out of steam in the second trying to hold up the ruck against both Biglands & Clarke, Stenglein put a very effective tag on Cousins, but Matera did fire for West Coast.

One & a half out of three wasn't going to get West Coast across the line.

Perhaps West Coast are a fair side this year but perhaps rely a bit too much on just a few very identifiable players.

Originally posted by Leigh
What would it take this week for Burns to have the effect he had today?

By that I mean he was given a touch up of course, who could be his opponent this week and how would he fare?

Port Magpies have a bye this week........

Congrats to your lot...

I thought we played well but Adelaide in Adelaide is just about as tough as Brisbane in Brisbane. But I was happy with us never backing down. We just kept coming and coming but the Crows had the answer every time, which is why they are one of the best sides in the comp.

McLeod and Ricciuto pretty much pushed the Crows to victory, they were awesome in the second half. But im not to disappointed with that result. I feel we are getting closer to our first away win. Once we beat the little brother next weekend then we have Melbourne in Melbourne. That's the one I think we can get.

Anyways congrats Adelaide, too good on the day but you still have to come to the house of pain late in the year so we'll see you then.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
In the end we wanted to win it more:) West Coast are a very good side and like has already been said if they win 3-4 on the road will be top 4 side!!!!! Mcleod was brilliant in the third with his three quick goals, just typical Mcleod brilliance:D :D

Have a question for you all: Bickley and Smart,still very valuable players for the club despite coming towards the end of their careers, I think Bickley had 26 possesions today and Smart had about 18, If they think they are both upto it and are both playing great footy like they are, should they continue playing???? Or should they make way for some new blood????? Thoughts???This I reakon is an interesting one!!!!!! I admire them both they are committed to the club 120% and they play so well:D

I thought just about everyone had a pretty good go today and barring no injuries what changes should be made for next week against the Powder Puffs?????? I though Ronnie was going to have a good one today, he started off well but yeah that was it from him unfortunatley?????Do we persist with him????Also Marsh was ok, but can we afford to play them next week?????

I think if they are both 100% committed and fit - then no doubt they could both play on next season. My gut feeling is that Smarty will play on - I think Bicks has already said this will be his last year. All I know is that I am not looking forward to our last game of the year - I really don't want to let Bicks go! :(

Out: Marsh, Burns
In: Perrie, Massie

Ronnie is a confidence player and I think if he had got that first goal in the opening minutes - the day might have been different for him.

Absolutely no way we can play Marsh this week. We would be better of playing with 21 men than taking him into the game. We will not be able to afford any passengers against Port - no room for Marshy.

See you at the Showdown Marty!

k
xx

Yes I will be there just to rub it in when we beat those hapless yobbo's from Alberton:D :D It's been a looooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnngggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg time between drinks:D :D CARN YOU MIGHTY CROWS!!!!!!!!!!!

Agree with you also Marsh and Burns out Massie and Perrie in!!!!