clucas91

Brisbane
Will they ever become a great cricketing nation again?
They seem to have a lack of young talent as people in the Caribbean seem to be playing basketball now.

Personally, I want them back to their best.
As an Aussie, I naturally want to see my country win, but I feel sad when I see a once great cricketing machine breaking down.

Originally posted by The Hippie
Don't you mean 'cool, mon'? ;)

The batteries went flat in my walkmon, mon!! :D;):D

I thunk the New Zullend eccent us much better to take the puss out of!! Un fect, ut's fentestuc for e few guggles!! :D:D:D

Cheers!! :cool:
SeinDude

Well, I guess all nations go through slumps. Australia has had them before and will have them again.

I really miss the Windies having a really competitive side, but hopefully this is one of those phases that all nations go through and not something more serious.

How many top-line NBA players are from the Carribean? I would have thought that baseball would be the sport that the West Indies would lose players to.....

Also, I reckon the one thing that they should push over there is the opportunity to represent you country instead of playing for an American team. They used to have so much pride the West Indies sides.

Originally posted by Briedis
Well, I guess all nations go through slumps. Australia has had them before and will have them again.

I really miss the Windies having a really competitive side, but hopefully this is one of those phases that all nations go through and not something more serious.

How many top-line NBA players are from the Carribean? I would have thought that baseball would be the sport that the West Indies would lose players to.....

Also, I reckon the one thing that they should push over there is the opportunity to represent you country instead of playing for an American team. They used to have so much pride the West Indies sides.

Exactly,

They used to have that pride, now it is fading. They have not had a real quality fast bowler since Walsh and Ambrose called it a day. Walsh at age 37 was better than some of the West Indians frontline bowlers currently.

Even crowd attendances and even crowd ENTHUSIASM (which was one of their strongest means of culture) are down.

Originally posted by clucas91

Exactly,

They used to have that pride, now it is fading. They have not had a real quality fast bowler since Walsh and Ambrose called it a day. Walsh at age 37 was better than some of the West Indians frontline bowlers currently.

Even crowd attendances and even crowd ENTHUSIASM (which was one of their strongest means of culture) are down.

There is still a lot of support. There's heaps of passionate people on their message board, but I guess it is not worth going to the games anymore....

It's a shame that not as many people go to support them these days as the atmosphere at matches in the Carribean used to be fantastic with the drums and music going, and the people singing and dancing in the crowd.

Cheers!! :cool:
SeinDude

I miss the West Indies teams. They were the best I've ever seen. I honestly reckon that they would wipe the floor with this current Australian lot. Only my opinion, don't be too harsh on me!

No worries, I reckon they would too, they were an amazing side and had THE most intimidating pace attack ever. The only thing they lacked was a quality spin bowler.

Originally posted by clucas91

No worries, I reckon they would too, they were an amazing side and had THE most intimidating pace attack ever. The only thing they lacked was a quality spin bowler.

That is true. No spinner, perhaps that could be the difference. They had a quality spinner in the late 60s from memory ... can't think of his name right now ... I think he was one of the 3 'W's.

What a batting line up though. I used to be enthralled with the Viv/Lillee battles when I was a youngster. Anyone remember the MCG test where Kim Hughes carved out a really gutsy ton and Lillee BOWLED Viv on the last ball of the day? One of the great test matches IMO. I think it was 81 or 82....

That is true. No spinner, perhaps that could be the difference. They had a quality spinner in the late 60s from memory ... can't think of his name right now ... I think he was one of the 3 'W's.

Weren't they all batsmen, with one who kept as well?

Originally posted by Fat Red

Weren't they all batsmen, with one who kept as well?

Weekes (Batsman)

Worrell (Batsman, almost an allrounder!)

and

Walcott (Batsman and Keeper)

Not bad Fat Red!

Lance Gibbs was the off-spinner they had in the late 60's. Took 309 wickets.

Are they staging the 2007 World Cup in the West Indies? Hopefully that will generate some interest back in the game for them.

I can still remember the 1992 series where C. Ambrose ripped through Australia at the WACA on a very dodgy pitch. Very sad to see the 2000 team in Australia, a total shadow of the past.

Originally posted by GoEagles
Very sad to see the 2000 team in Australia, a total shadow of the past.

That saddened me also, as a Cricket fan, I like to see all countries play well, not just Australia.

Anyone remember the MCG test where Kim Hughes carved out a really gutsy ton and Lillee BOWLED Viv on the last ball of the day? One of the great test matches IMO. I think it was 81 or 82....

Strooth! That was a marvellous test match at the MCG. The great Dennis Lillie bowled Vivian Richards with a super delivery that sent the MCG crowd into tremendous excitement at the end of that day's play.

Originally posted by Richie Benaud

Strooth! That was a marvellous test match at the MCG. The great Dennis Lillie bowled Vivian Richards with a super delivery that sent the MCG crowd into tremendous excitement at the end of that day's play.

I actually have highlights of that test on video! Might go and watch it now....

Lance Gibbs was the off-spinner they had in the late 60's. Took 309 wickets.

There was another just before him, Sonny Ramadhan (sp?) had reasonable success, and Sobers bowled a bit of spin as well.

G'Day Hippie! How's the beautiful Riverina? I hope Leeton are working their way up the table. Are Ardlethan still on top?

Not bad, mate. Still need rain bad (sound like an old cockie, hey)

Ardlethan are level top with Collingullie (Temora 4th and climbing, go Roos)
Leeton, I'm sorry to tell you, are struggling. 6th, a win out of the 5.

I reckon most of that would be the bad luck they have brought on themselves by changing to that horrible strip! ;)

Are you going to the next Roos Canberra game? I am DEFINATELY going this time.

Ramadhin and Valentine were a pair of spinners who had a great deal of success...in the 50s and 60s I think but wouldn't swear to it.

Late 50's, early 60's Red. All 3 toured with the 60/61 WI side, it was early in Gibbs' career, the other 2 were coming to the end of theirs.

Are you going to the next Roos Canberra game? I am DEFINATELY going this time.

Sure you don't have a cricket presentation on the night before? :D
Yeah, I'll be making the trip again.