Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

[/b]

There is no chance in the world altona will play finals next year and i highly doubt it could make final in 2010, they would need to go on a huge recruiting drive.
I know they have some quality kids coming through but you would be lucky to get 6 quality "A" grade players from last years u/18's premiership teams. I hope i'm wrong the more competitive teams, the better for all.

Should have said "likely" instead of "will", but I'll stand by it.

Pace, Attard, Richards and Shiels all come from last years U18 side. All have been in our best for most of the year. So there are 4 of your 6. Taking into account only 8 or so players came up.

As I said initially, we as a club know where we are at and what it is going to take to get to where everyone wants to be. I guess we'll all just have to wait and see what happens over the next 2 years. I'll be happy to eat my words if I am wrong. And let's not forget, I said a finals side, not a Premiership side. There is a distinct difference.

Big call so far out, i mean all altona need is for a couple of top 3 teams to fall foul to the ATO and be declared broke, and then perhaps a few off field mishaps to the next 3 teams and then altona will be looking like top 3 material.
You can never say never, but premierships are rarely won by boys, they are won by men, so the challenge is to keep the kids for 4 or 5 years and then make calls like finals. (see western bulldogs, geelong and hawthorn)

I didn't say anything about Premierships.

Anything could happen. Although the above is unlikely, it could happen. The other factor is, you don't know what Altona have in mind for the next few seasons. No-one other then Altona does.

Spotty won 3 out of four tilts at the Under 18's flag from 2001 onwards. In last year's senior premiership team there were 6 players who played in Under 18's premierships. All of those 18's sides would have beaten the Altona 18's from last year, easily.

The point is that only 6 premiership under 18's players played in the 2007 senior flag. Rock is right when he says Altona need to recruit A grade footballers to bolster their stocks. It's the way it goes with the local leagues. Not all these good kids will play seniors for a number of reasons and even if a lot do, lower teams have to run a race against the bigger clubs to recruit players from elsewhere. A long road ahead.

I'm not saying we will be world beaters, and I have never said that we will win the flag. All I have said is that we know where we are at, we know where we want to go, and we know how much work needs to be done to get there.

Big call so far out, i mean all altona need is for a couple of top 3 teams to fall foul to the ATO and be declared broke, and then perhaps a few off field mishaps to the next 3 teams and then altona will be looking like top 3 material.
You can never say never, but premierships are rarely won by boys, they are won by men, so the challenge is to keep the kids for 4 or 5 years and then make calls like finals. (see western bulldogs, geelong and hawthorn)

Totally agree you will not win big games with just kids you deffinatly need to inject some big bodied, fully developed senior players but that is easier said than done.
On the other hand keeping all the kids together is, they are a very tight bunch of kids down there sure everyone will be staying around. Money wont be an issue they have pride in the jumper and just enjoy playing with all their mates.

Just heard that this will be bigger than texas.
Albion still have to square things up with Sunshine after what happened on ANZAC Day.
The Glenorden/Spotty match will look like a playground fight between two 6 year olds fighting over who gets to have a go on the swing first compared to what is going to occur this Saturday.
Will be interesting to see how many Sunshine players pull a hammy this week at training.
Albion by 10 goals and lets see if the umpires call another game off?

yeah yeah thought it was gonna happen last time they played and there was nothing, just a tactic to get the opposition nervous i think

i personally think it will be a close game sunshine have had 2 big wins in the last 2 weeks and are very much a confidence team, if they can start well they will be a chance the cats are favourites but

Pace, Attard, Richards and Shiels all come from last years U18 side. All have been in our best for most of the year. So there are 4 of your 6. Taking into account only 8 or so players came up.

As I said initially, we as a club know where we are at and what it is going to take to get to where everyone wants to be. I guess we'll all just have to wait and see what happens over the next 2 years. I'll be happy to eat my words if I am wrong. And let's not forget, I said a finals side, not a Premiership side. There is a distinct difference.

I didn't say anything about Premierships.

Anything could happen. Although the above is unlikely, it could happen. The other factor is, you don't know what Altona have in mind for the next few seasons. No-one other then Altona does.

I'm not saying we will be world beaters, and I have never said that we will win the flag. All I have said is that we know where we are at, we know where we want to go, and we know how much work needs to be done to get there.

since your club has come back into A grade you seem to be in control of where you are at and where you eventually want to be and you're definately on the right track the point i think was that this season we all though the vikings would seperate from the bottom 3 and upset a few of the better sides

i didn't think you would play finals yet but might pinch a few wins and help shape the 5 but it doesn't seem like you've improved too much between seasons

like i said you guys know where you're at and obviously you have plans in place and i hope you do climb the ladder it would improve the overall standard of the comp:thumbsu:

i totally agree with what everyone is saying on here with the kids but if they arnt in your best side then they dont get picked, its simple.
there is alot of talk on here about Altonas kids but they are all mid sized players and everyone might think that this is a bias opinion but i think St Albans have the best young blokes in the league, we had 9 players 21 or under on the weekend including 4 under 18 players.
i think alot of people forget that Spooner, Dave Scott and Jenkins are only 20 years old.

Rock, the flag issue is only one of the possible reasons why players come back to a club. It was by no means meant to be a focal point of discussion. Let's say there's a young bloke in the two's who has played very well and deserves a shot. If in the senior side you have a player who's struggling for form, then you have an opportunity to promote the young bloke, regardless if the senior player's past glories. At some clubs, players with experience are favored over the young turks regardless of form. There almost seems to be an over-confidence in the fact that the boy will remain loyal after having his pocket pissed in and nothing to show for it. Well, selection committees make their jobs harder by surrendering to the dominant personality and most of the time, everyone bar the coach is a glorified giver of the two cents worth.

Is this the issue at Spotty or Colts or Hoppers? Don't know because I'm not involved. Does it go right through to the AFL? You bet. With the local leagues, we're not playing for sheep stations so development of a player who deserves a spot outweighs hoping that the fella with experience will come good.

I'm pretty sure people at Hoppers thought that Williams would stick around forever and weren't they wrong. He's a talent and will be a solid performer for years to come. Curse you mongrels for getting a hold of him haha.

Beazer was good on the weekend and don't know why he's come up in this discussion. As far as I know, Beazer's comeback was always on the cards, flag contention or not.

Id like to clear a couple of things up. Firstly, I wasnt going to come home when I did. I wanted to stay there for the footy season as I was on good money and wanted to play footy somewhere so I planned on coming home in September sometime. Basically I came back bcos I wanted to be around family and friends as it is quite lonely up there living by yourself. I didnt think Id be able to stay there for another 3 months and given when clearances close, I did come back now bcos I wanted to play footy. The last thing I wanted to do was come back in a month and miss out on playing footy. It has nothing to do with winning another flag bcos the team I was playing for in Qld are a chance to win it also (they have won the past 2). Secondly, in terms of walking back into the side. This is a load of crap. I did all of pre-season at Spotty and have been training and playing in Qld. Its not as if Ive been on holidays in Fiji and Ive walked in and got a game in the seniors. I did play reserves last week and the coach felt I could offer the senior team something and I felt I did that. Apparently Murat was unlucky to be dropped but Im sure he will get another chance soon.

Beazer. I don't think that anyone was bringing you into the argument. Rock used you as an example to make his point rather than say that you are the issue. Anyway, Murat being dropped was probably a team balance thing.

The term here is 'our best' not 'the best' for the game. Suppose you can argue in that case that they are in the best in an average side to date. The Spotswood boys were included in already good sides that had played finals. But you have to start somewhere and if what you say is true, Altona are on the right track. Good luck to them, we need another side to come up and strengthen the competition.

not only do we have shiels, pace, attard, richards who will in the next 2-3 years be very promising players, we also have hardiman, post, kyrikities on our list who are all vfl listed and havn't played this year. so yes, 2 years we will be finals material and i have said it before! We lost to glenorden, but doesn't everyone slip a few games here and there.

and the comment by brains01, stalbans are no were near the best young talent in the leauge! Stalbans, Sunshine, Albion, Hoppers and Port have no players REALLY. under 21

since your club has come back into A grade you seem to be in control of where you are at and where you eventually want to be and you're definately on the right track the point i think was that this season we all though the vikings would seperate from the bottom 3 and upset a few of the better sides

i didn't think you would play finals yet but might pinch a few wins and help shape the 5 but it doesn't seem like you've improved too much between seasons

like i said you guys know where you're at and obviously you have plans in place and i hope you do climb the ladder it would improve the overall standard of the comp:thumbsu:

100% agree with the bolded ! I think I said previously that we are bound to have setbacks, and losing to Glenorden was one. Getting thumped by Colts, Spotty and Hoppers is another. We have a lot of ground to make up, but we are confident that we can turn it around.

Beazer. I don't think that anyone was bringing you into the argument. Rock used you as an example to make his point rather than say that you are the issue. Anyway, Murat being dropped was probably a team balance thing.

Kids are being left out to favour older guys who have just walked back into the club after being away because they can smell a grand final think that is pretty outrageous..... Some kids have given it away because they are not getting a fair go..... Not sure how long the kids will hang around and put up with that.

It was more of a response to the above post of LeoRules and just to clear up to others why I came back etc bcos Im sure there are others who think the same as him.

The term here is 'our best' not 'the best' for the game. Suppose you can argue in that case that they are in the best in an average side to date. The Spotswood boys were included in already good sides that had played finals. But you have to start somewhere and if what you say is true, Altona are on the right track. Good luck to them, we need another side to come up and strengthen the competition.

I was referring to someones comment about getting 6 players from the U18's if we are lucky. I mentioned these four. Keeping in mind that Pace and Attard are 17, Shiels is 18 and Richards is 19. I'm not saying that they are stars of the comp, but for young kids in their first full year of senior footy, they have displayed many of the skills and qualities that point to being very good WRFL footballers in the future.

not only do we have shiels, pace, attard, richards who will in the next 2-3 years be very promising players, we also have hardiman, post, kyrikities on our list who are all vfl listed and havn't played this year. so yes, 2 years we will be finals material and i have said it before! We lost to glenorden, but doesn't everyone slip a few games here and there.

and the comment by brains01, stalbans are no were near the best young talent in the leauge! Stalbans, Sunshine, Albion, Hoppers and Port have no players REALLY. under 21

How do you think your so called young guns would go in a team such as spotty, i honestly think that they would struggle. There is also no point picking out VFL listed players cause if spotty did that we could pull on at least 5 players who could walk into the spotty side. To say that we have this person and that person at VFL is an unrealistic approach and view!

You are really making things hard for me here !

Kids are being left out to favour older guys who have just walked back into the club after being away because they can smell a grand final think that is pretty outrageous..... Some kids have given it away because they are not getting a fair go..... Not sure how long the kids will hang around and put up with that.

It was more of a response to the above post of LeoRules and just to clear up to others why I came back etc bcos Im sure there are others who think the same as him.

Does Nathan Ablett walking back in at Geelong have the same affect?

What a load of crap. What is wrong with someone coming back into the side after an absence. As long as he puts in as much as the next bloke and if he gets the job done, then who cares.

You are really making things hard for me here !

Mate i think you have an out of control fan who is crazy talking in av07.
How can he say St Albans don't have good kids when they are sitting in the top 5 and so many of there players are 21 or under. A gun junior player does not assure you of being a good senior player.

Given that a lot of discussion over the past 48 hours has been to do with juniors (in particular Under 18s) coming through to Senior ranks I thought the following may be of interest in relation to Spotswood.

Firstly, the Club does recognise the need to encourage under 18s to take the step up to Senior Football the following year and beyond. Boys who have played under 18s at Spotty do not pay membership in their first year of Senior Football (paying that membership is often a deterrent). When they play their first Senior (firsts) game they are presented with a Sports Voucher with which they can afford Boots etc.. This system has been in place for a number of years.

From the current senior list the following players have played at least under 18s or lower at Spotswood. ( * = played firsts). Those in bold have played firsts in at least one of the the past 2 weeks. Those underlined have played in the firsts at some stage this season.

Patak*, Coleman*, Isbister*, Szalay*, Barrett*, Maher*, Pearson*, Langlands*, Puhar*, Salmond*, Fowler*, Noye*, Tobin*, McGhie*, Keenan*, Oates*, Jones*, Porcevina*, Ergunen*, Dean*, Knight, Cassidy, McSween*, Warnock, Bond*, John, Wood, Pope*, Shaw, Browne, Baker, Orchard, Anile.

Add to this list 2 players from last week's firsts who came to Spotty directly from Under 18 football. David Sablich from Willy Juniors where there was no Senior Club and Luke Dennerley who won the Under 18 medal playing for Wyndhamvale and who had that club's blessing to have a go in Division One Football.

Some of these players are getting on a bit but I think you get my drift. I am sure that those who have not played in the firsts and are good enough to do so will get their opportunity.

I am sure that other clubs may be able to come up with a similar list.

Over the past 25 years Spotty have played in all but 2 Division One final's series for 6 Flags from 9 Grand finals and have never been in Division Two. Hard to rival over that length of time so must be doing something right on and off the field under the guidance of numerous senior coaches.

Port Melbourne Colts of course have been super and have an unrivalled record over the past 10 years.

YC in the 5.! two massive wins.
Must win this week at home against Albion who also have come of the biggest win of the season. I can't see any changes for either team going into this match with wins like that, a lot has changed in 2 months and we are ready to take on Albion again! will be a ripper contest and can't wait. this game will be a mini final for us and could set us up for a top3 spot!

Vintage Sunshine...

Worry about making the 5 mate before you talk up a top 3 spot..

If you lose this week, you'd might as well finish down with Glen Orden and Altona.

Albion beat you by 90 points last time.. Only thing to change is that Albion now on top and Sunshine now fighting for 5th spot!

Vintage Sunshine...

Worry about making the 5 mate before you talk up a top 3 spot..

If you lose this week, you'd might as well finish down with Glen Orden and Altona.

Albion beat you by 90 points last time.. Only thing to change is that Albion now on top and Sunshine now fighting for 5th spot!

Sunshine will win this week and will keep pushing for a top 5 spot.
Have a few players back from last week and the confidence is up to knock over Albion at home.

Also Happy Birthday to Wayne Begbee this week. All the best buddy.

I think that you will find Perkin 19 and heffernan 17 are under 21 and with bonnett, masis, brannan, k. williams, all still fairly young the nucleus is there.
We all hope altona kick on but until you do there is no point saying we have this player we have that player just wait til you start winning against quality teams and then the rest will follow, this kyrakydies was also looking at signing with the colts so maybe you need to up the ante to keep hold of him.

I think that you will find Perkin 19 and heffernan 17 are under 21 and with bonnett, masis, brannan, k. williams, all still fairly young the nucleus is there.
We all hope altona kick on but until you do there is no point saying we have this player we have that player just wait til you start winning against quality teams and then the rest will follow, this kyrakydies was also looking at signing with the colts so maybe you need to up the ante to keep hold of him.
i think luke is pretty happy where he is. Thats right untill we put the points on the board the rest is speculation Peformances speak for themselves and no matter what position weve had teams in or what players we dont have we havent had the performances yet. However they will come.

Given that a lot of discussion over the past 48 hours has been to do with juniors (in particular Under 18s) coming through to Senior ranks I thought the following may be of interest in relation to Spotswood.

Firstly, the Club does recognise the need to encourage under 18s to take the step up to Senior Football the following year and beyond. Boys who have played under 18s at Spotty do not pay membership in their first year of Senior Football (paying that membership is often a deterrent). When they play their first Senior (firsts) game they are presented with a Sports Voucher with which they can afford Boots etc.. This system has been in place for a number of years.

From the current senior list the following players have played at least under 18s or lower at Spotswood. ( * = played firsts). Those in bold have played firsts in at least one of the the past 2 weeks. Those underlined have played in the firsts at some stage this season.

Patak*, Coleman*, Isbister*, Szalay*, Barrett*, Maher*, Pearson*, Langlands*, Puhar*, Salmond*, Fowler*, Noye*, Tobin*, McGhie*, Keenan*, Oates*, Jones*, Porcevina*, Ergunen*, Dean*, Knight, Cassidy, McSween*, Warnock, Bond*, John, Wood, Pope*, Shaw, Browne, Baker, Orchard, Anile.

Add to this list 2 players from last week's firsts who came to Spotty directly from Under 18 football. David Sablich from Willy Juniors where there was no Senior Club and Luke Dennerley who won the Under 18 medal playing for Wyndhamvale and who had that club's blessing to have a go in Division One Football.

Some of these players are getting on a bit but I think you get my drift. I am sure that those who have not played in the firsts and are good enough to do so will get their opportunity.

Over the past 25 years Spotty have played in all but 2 Division One final's series for 6 Flags from 9 Grand finals and have never been in Division Two. Hard to rival over that length of time so must be doing something right on and off the field under the guidance of numerous senior coaches.

Port Melbourne Colts of course have been super and have an unrivalled record over the past 10 years.

good post

This is a good post and gives us a look at what players are originally from spotty.
In the weekends game St Albans had 18 out of the 21 played juniors with St Albans which is an amazing stat and that doesnt include Aguis, Pisani and Jenkins who didnt play.

kids like wood and knight have been superb all year need a run and deserve one when you have young blokes like m cassidy not getting a run in the twos things look scary kid will be a gun some old blokes..... need to step aside and push for these kids to be played but some people are to concerned about themself