What A Goal!

LJ Garner

Feb 14, 2008
Isengard
I'm not sure who it was, but the guy who did the bananna 30 metres out at the boundary...that was freakish, definitely should get a nomination for goal of the year.

I was in like the perfect position to see it, the massive curve...it was heartbreaking (for me) because i was hoping for a 60 point win at that time ( i think it was 58 points up) , but credit to whoever kicked that goal, it really was a great goal.

It was Eddie Betts. Brilliant goal.
It looked very grim, thankfully he kicked it it put a smile on my face for a brief moment.
Will definitely win this rounds goal of the week and should put up a nice fight for goal of the year :thumbsu:

Eddie won Goal of the Year in 2006, looks like a decent chance to win it again. Nice to end another disappointing night on a bit of a high anyway. :thumbsu:

Wow. The little mongrel has skill to burn. Just doesn't cut it at the top level for mine. Still he'll have a couple of nice cars after it's all over.

For his size, Eddie does pretty well in the big time. If he can get 25-30 goals this year, he has more than done his job.

He's got himself three from two games at the moment, he's well on track.

EDDIE!!!!!!:D

I must have looked like a bit of a goose jumping around and celebrating while we were points down:p.

Well worth the celebration EBIAC, fantastic goal from the magician. Also, for mine one of Eddie's better games for the Blues last night. Presented well and was in the game for most of the match. :thumbsu:

I don't think there would be many to agree with you there mate, apart from myself of course!

Let those that disagree EBIAC wallow in their own self pity and negative thoughts, for the rest of us let's just enjoy the wizard weave his magic!! :thumbsu: :)

This goal was the prime example of why Betts isn't good enough. Sure the goal was mercurial, however he should have gathered first time around and chipped to a loose forward in front of goal. But instead fumbled as usual.

Selfish, un-team-orientated, individual football... Gets nobody anywhere. If Ratten is fair dinkum he should bake Betts for that.

betts is a b-grade crumber. If he has a quiet game, then we are effectively 1 man short as there is no other dimension to his game.
He provides the occassional highlight, but if we think he's a good player.....my what have we come to accept as carlton fans....

Eddie will win goal of the year...no problem, that won't be beaten.

Now what sh1ts me is this;
- Eddie won GOTY in 2006 (this current goal was better)
- Lloyd won it in 2007 and if anybody is honest, he shoudn't have, it was GOTY material, somebody like Waite who threaded through the umpire and maxwell along the ground from the boundry was much better

So what i;m saying is, that Carlton good have had 3 GOTY awards in a row.

Eddie will win goal of the year...no problem, that won't be beaten.

Now what sh1ts me is this;
- Eddie won GOTY in 2006 (this current goal was better)
- Lloyd won it in 2007 and if anybody is honest, he shoudn't have, it was GOTY material, somebody like Waite who threaded through the umpire and maxwell along the ground from the boundry was much better

So what i;m saying is, that Carlton good have had 3 GOTY awards in a row.

Agree. Top goal.
Probably the highlight for you blokes.

Agree. LLoyds GOTY was a farce.

Don't agree on the Carlton should have 3 in a row.

Just a question.
What do the majority of Carlton supporters think of the "freo" away strip you are wearing at the moment?

I think it looks crap. But it's your team so?

Agree. Top goal.
Probably the highlight for you blokes.

Agree. LLoyds GOA was a farce.

Don't agree on the Carlton should have 3 in a row.

Just a question.
What do the majority of Carlton supporters think of the "freo" away strip you are wearing at the moment?

I think it looks crap. But it's your team so?

Funny, i think its the best away strip, we don't lose our jumper, its just a colour reverse.

And i must say, at least we actually change our strip...Collingwood widening the strips for mine is nothing but a farce and should be made to change it more than that.

Funny, i think its the best away strip, we don't lose our jumper, its just a colour reverse.

And i must say, at least we actually change our strip...Collingwood widening the strips for mine is nothing but a farce and should be made to change it more than that.

I'm not having a dig. An honest question.
I am a traditionalist.
Carlton running around with predominantly white jumpers just does not look right. (I have been used to hating that navy blue thing for over 40 years so bear with me).
Just wondered how you felt about it.
As to the Pies strip.
I hope they never change it.
Someone has to be the stubborn bastards and I'm happy for it to be Collingwood. There's still a lot to be said for tradition.

I know. Unbelievable. I saw at least 20 goals better last year.
Including the one from Milne i think, he was 40 out, at the boundary line with at least 2 oppositions on him. He tries to kick it to the square, instead it goes in for a goal. Apparently it wasnt eligible for GOTY because he didn't go for the goal.

I'm not having a dig. An honest question.
I am a traditionalist.
Carlton running around with predominantly white jumpers just does not look right. (I have been used to hating that navy blue thing for over 40 years so bear with me).
Just wondered how you felt about it.
As to the Pies strip.
I hope they never change it.
Someone has to be the stubborn bastards and I'm happy for it to be Collingwood. There's still a lot to be said for tradition.

TBH i think good on you guys. I'm disappointed that we ended up with an away guernsey at all, but at the same time i reckon ours looks the best of all the away strips.

I really don't see who we clash with, and i'm pretty sure the whole away strip thing is just a merchandising thing.

"We are the Navy Blues...."

Exactly. I don't understand the negativity surrounding Betts. I really don't.

I think Eddie genuinely tries hard, but kicking freak goals from the boundary when the contest is well and truly over is not what we need from the guy.

Earlier on in the night he was running into the left forward flank and shot a left foot pass to a teammate who was 15 metres clear all by himself dead in front of goal 15 metres out. Eddie's pass missed by 15 metres and instead went straight to a st kilda player. At that point of the game it was still game on. It's that sort of thing that is the reason i don't rate Eddie.

There's more to being a good small fwd than getting your 1.5 goals a game.

What A Goal!