Family & Relationships What does your partner stop you from doing?

• Thread starter Thread starter bresker

Cmon spill the beans.

Who amongst us is pussy/c**k whipped by their partners?

I'm single at the moment, but with regard to my ex-wife:

I like the outdoors life. Camping, exploring, taking the scenic route, that sort of thing.

We used to live in Melbourne but my ex's dad used to live up on the Murray. I used to want to take different routes up there, maybe over the mountains, have a night's camping on the way. But she always insisted on taking that boring route up the highway. She said she hated camping.

Now she has a new boyfriend and she does go camping and take the scenic route! I'm not bitter or anything.

'Takinng the scenic route' isn't a euphemism BTW.

So what does your partner stop you from doing?

Oh, my ex used to sulk a bit sometimes when I went to the footy & came home pissed. But I did it anyway. Some things are worth more than a happy wife.

nothing...hence why ill never get married

i look around at some of my married mates and how flipping miserable they are

while the rest of us are partying in Thailand, Brazil etc etc...going on short trips here and there and they aren't allowed to go...

having said that you have to do what makes you happy and some people enjoy being at home with their partners paying the mortgage for the next 40 years and the company makes them happy. Everybody's different.

My wife would hate it if I had sex with other women !!!

Seriously, despite my wife being a very strong woman and someone not to be messed with, she is very understanding about me needing time out.

I often catch up with mates for coffee or beers after work. I go to see bands with other people or even alone if she is not interested in going. I went to Melbourne last year for a week with my brothers while she was home with our baby too.

We try to keep Saturday nights for us to spend together, but she is going to her friends birthday party this Saturday as we are clean out of babysitting credits so I am staying home with our little boy. I think that is the key. Both of us understand that we need our own space.

Different story with my first wife. We became very insular and it was not good for either of us.

i look around at some of my married mates and how flipping miserable they are

I don't get that. Why do people let themselves get into that state?

Not married myself, but have a gf. She has never stood in my way nor I in hers. I go drinking whenever I want, go to the football/soccer/cricket/motor sports, play golf, go fishing with mates, etc, and i'm not required to give her notice or ask for permission. And she's the same. She has girls nights, i delibrately refuse to go to some concerts with her so she can go with just her friends (she always invites me).

Those mates of yours sound like they either enjoy that sort of relationship or they shouldn't be married to their current wives.

As far as I know, I dont stop my bf from doing anything.. I even offered to go camping with him (when I go on holidays, I am a strictly a hotel gal, lol)... anyways, he starts cracking the shits (half jokingly) saying "-bitch moan- no im not going camping with you, you'll just whinge" and so forth.

I even looked up a website to buy a tent ffs!!!!!

Lol, to cut a long story short we're planning on going camping on one of the long weekends.

Anyway, its all about compromise (and trust), imo. Movies for instance are traded each time (ie. his choice, then my choice)... i have girls nights out, im happy enough when he gets together with his mates... if we ever turned into one of "those" married couples hating each other i'd reckon i'd shoot myself. (and/or him :D)

I don't get that. Why do people let themselves get into that state?

Not married myself, but have a gf. She has never stood in my way nor I in hers. I go drinking whenever I want, go to the football/soccer/cricket/motor sports, play golf, go fishing with mates, etc, and i'm not required to give her notice or ask for permission. And she's the same. She has girls nights, i delibrately refuse to go to some concerts with her so she can go with just her friends (she always invites me).

Those mates of yours sound like they either enjoy that sort of relationship or they shouldn't be married to their current wives.

mate you have a good wife sounds good...

well u can just tell they arent attracted to their wives anymore, there is no spark and the whole monotony and groundhog day of going to work, paying bills, paying the mortgage and knowing they are gona be doing the same shit for 50 years drives them crazy.

kids keep them together and live for their kids...

My ex-gf was not a big fan of me playing poker... Though I still did it a little bit when we were together, but now that we're not together, there's nothing stopping me from becoming the World Champion.

Yes there is...

Me.

mate you have a good wife sounds good...

well u can just tell they arent attracted to their wives anymore, there is no spark and the whole monotony and groundhog day of going to work, paying bills, paying the mortgage and knowing they are gona be doing the same shit for 50 years drives them crazy.

kids keep them together and live for their kids...

Over the past year or so we've been in the situation where we could buy a house and start family. We'd be working the same jobs and life for the next 20-30 years would be fairly predictable. We decided to bite the bullet and try something new so we're moving to Vancouver in a few weeks. My wife is Canadian but not from Vancouver so it will be an adventure for both of us. Hopefully the house and kids will come soon anyway.

We've been married 4 years and been together for 9. It would be easy to get into a routine so you have to live life and mix things up to keep the spark going.

Oh, and I'm very lucky. I can't think of much that she stops me from doing. I can occasionally have too much to drink and she hates that I smoke when I drink but doesn't get on my case about it. Some of my best friends are female and there is no jealousy or anything. Got to try new things, give each other space and marry your best friend I think :thumbsu:

Over the past year or so we've been in the situation where we could buy a house and start family. We'd be working the same jobs and life for the next 20-30 years would be fairly predictable. We decided to bite the bullet and try something new so we're moving to Vancouver in a few weeks. My wife is Canadian but not from Vancouver so it will be an adventure for both of us. Hopefully the house and kids will come soon anyway.

We've been married 4 years and been together for 9. It would be easy to get into a routine so you have to live life and mix things up to keep the spark going.

Oh, and I'm very lucky. I can't think of much that she stops me from doing. I can occasionally have too much to drink and she hates that I smoke when I drink but doesn't get on my case about it. Some of my best friends are female and there is no jealousy or anything. Got to try new things, give each other space and marry your best friend I think :thumbsu:

Great post. :thumbsu:

The only deal breaker there for me would be the smoking... cant STAND any form of smoking whatsoever (plus gives me asthma), so thankfully my bf doesnt smoke at all.. nor even drinks that much either (we're both not big drinkers anyway).

Good luck with the move to Canada! Sounds awesome.. my mate has been travelling/working for over 3 years (alot of that time was spent in Canada), so now I have the travel bug back. We have been talking about maybe going over there sometime in the future, but not for "good" or anything , maybe a year.

Just wait till you get married, there'll be no poking at all. :p

Great post. :thumbsu:

The only deal breaker there for me would be the smoking... cant STAND any form of smoking whatsoever (plus gives me asthma), so thankfully my bf doesnt smoke at all.. nor even drinks that much either (we're both not big drinkers anyway).

Good luck with the move to Canada! Sounds awesome.. my mate has been travelling/working for over 3 years (alot of that time was spent in Canada), so now I have the travel bug back. We have been talking about maybe going over there sometime in the future, but not for "good" or anything , maybe a year.

Thanks! It's daunting but exciting at the same time. That's how I met my wife. I was just working there for a year after Uni. Oh, and I'm not a drunk who smokes constantly or anything. Just enjoy a drink occasionally and usually that leads to having a smoke :o

Lol, yeah dw I know what you meant. :thumbsu:

Hahaha, just realised what team you go for.. yeah good time to be gettin away I'm sure. ;)

When I was OS, we finshed like 11th and 13th on the ladder, lol.

Lol, yeah dw I know what you meant. :thumbsu:

Hahaha, just realised what team you go for.. yeah good time to be gettin away I'm sure. ;)

When I was OS, we finshed like 11th and 13th on the ladder, lol.

Yep, I'll be playing the Grand Final DVD's to friends over there. Already converted a few to the game and to the Cats ;)

I've never had a girlfriend who wasn't a complete bitch or I could tolerate for more then a couple of months.

I see merit in mail order brides because of this

Nothing.
I've done very well in the misses stakes. Not sure what I have done to do so well but she is a top bird with looks to match.

I play footy and catch up the the boys reguarly. I camp when I want to and she has no issues when I go out. I guess I dont abuse it and I still spend time with her a lot so its give and take.

You so got this thread of hamish and andy the other night

Actually I got it from Tony Livesy on Radio 5 Live here in the UK...

So are Hamish & Andy ripping off UK radio?

Smoking and growing a beard! :mad:

She wont go as far as saying "it's either me or the beard/cigarettes" but she nags to the point that I relent and shave or put on a patch.

Other than that, she's ok :o

My girlfriend doesn't like it when I play video games whilst she is at my place. I figure it’s kind of fair enough, it would be like her reading a book when I go around to her place.

Other than that its fair game. I go on footy trips, see strippers, have boys night outs all the time.

I am not the possessive/jealous type at all and I think she appreciates that as well, she can go out with her girlfriends to clubs and pubs all she likes, doesn’t bother me.

It’s all about respecting people’s needs and personal space.