What happened when you met a famous Pie?

• Thread starter Thread starter Hagla

Have you ever had the opportunity to talk to a famous Collingwood player or club legend only to cease up with nervs? Or does anyone have some really great feelgood stories about meeting club legends and everything going really well?

This happened to me with Beamsy at the Heidleburg Shopping Centre (Warringal?) a few years ago. I was standing out the front having a cigarette when I noticed him coming towards me, I waited till he was walking past me and said "Beamsyyyyy" (in a very confident manner at this point). He looked up and said "hey" like he knew me (with a bit of a wave and bork like he was going to go for a hand shake until he realised I was probably just a fan), followed by an expression on his face like 'do I actually know him? Na I don't think so'.
About 20 minutes later I was in JB HiFi when I noticed he was also in there, I felt like a stalker and was worried he'd think that I'd followed him there. We made eye contact again at this point which seemed to kick Beamsy into gear to start walking over to talk to me. I freaked out and picked up a DVD and sort of stared at it with my head down (probably turning my back to him as well) so he wouldn't talk to me. He sort of just kept walking after I did that and I felt bad, I'm not even 100% sure he was coming to talk to me but his facial expression and body language suggested he was. I b*tched out :(

I also met both Krakouer and Davis during the 2010 offseason (before Krakouer had played a game for us) at the Harp on a Wednesday night. I was very drunk by the time they turned up and they were both very quiet. I remember telling Krakouer he'd be awesome for us and then telling Leon he was already awesome and that he was going to kill it next year (which was true but was also a little awkward at the time considering he'd been dropped for the Grand Final replay). I knew I was too drunk to be talking to them and could tell they were trying to keep to themselves so I wished them luck and moved on.

PS. I got this idea from wednesdaywarrior's post in the Hinesight, Knightsight and Hindsight thread.

SchuPie I have often wanted to have an informal chin wag with Dekka about how it all works. In fact, tragically he is probably ahead of most public figures, stars and celebs in my 'love to have dinner and a chat with' shortlist (but not Miranda Kerr, especially after she donned that Magpie guernsey). I once saw him in the Westpac Centre Cafe a couple of years back and was almost going to approach and 'say g'day' but I just felt I had 'stalker' written all over me.

Saw Warnie on the airport plane in Malaysia one night, he saw me staring at him so said to me "G'day mate", all I could blurt out was "What are you doin ere!?", turns out he was doing some commentary for a super 8 comp.

Early 1990's when Bucks was still a young bloke and the boys had crashed out for the season I was at Bobby McGees when the whole team rocked in. Bucks was being brash and youthful throwing ice across the dance floor before he was escorted out by security. Was in the urinal when Gavin Brown came in and he stood right next to me so I was obliged to make small talk. Was a ripping bloke but I avoided eye contact in a manner befitting bathroom etiquette. My mate nearly got in a punch on with Michael Christian when he accidentally walked between him and some chick he was with or was trying to be with. Good night.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1355637609.253983.jpg

Ran into a few of the boys at a club in park city last night. Beams, swan, Sidey, Clarke, Jolly and Hudson were all there. Swanny was exactly how he comes across in the media, shy and quiet but the rest were all willing to have a chat and were a lot of fun. Jolly is one of the nicest guys I've met. It might be because we are in the US and no one knows who they are but they just came across as normal good guys!

I got to hang out with Sav and Anthony Rocca one night which was lots of fun. Back in 2001, I was living in Marlo in East Gippsland and one night was at the pub with mates when the Rocca boys came in. They owned a place in town and would spend off-seasons there fishing. We got chatting and they ended up coming back to one of our places for brews after the pub closed. We spread the word amongst friends and it turned in to an impromtu party.

Sav especially was a top bloke. Anthony was pretty reserved and several times told Sav that they should get going but Sav was having fun and wanted to stay. Anthony was trying to crack on to one of the chicks who wasn't interested so I think that's why he wanted to take off. I don't remember much about what we talked about, but remember Sav being a freak at everything. We played darts and he dominated, and we even pulled out the hackey sack, which he'd apparently never done before and he was better than most of us. Good times.

Never really ran into any.

Close I have been was after the 2009 Intra-Club Match. The Game was playing in 40 + degree heat and I went to Lexus Center(Was Called that Back Then) and I sat down and Bucks came in and I said Hi Bucks and He said Hi Mate Back. Seemed a Great Bloke

Close I have been was after the 2009 Intra-Club Match. The Game was playing in 40 + degree heat and I went to Lexus Center(Was Called that Back Then) and I sat down and Bucks came in and I said Hi Bucks and He said Hi Mate Back. Seemed a Great Bloke then.
Gold! You're quite the conversationalist, Dave.

Close I have been was after the 2009 Intra-Club Match. The Game was playing in 40 + degree heat and I went to Lexus Center(Was Called that Back Then) and I sat down and Bucks came in and I said Hi Bucks and He said Hi Mate Back. Seemed a Great Bloke then.

Nathan Buckley has always been very obliging when it comes to the fans. Always happy to sign an autograph and great with the kids. Very easy to talk to and loves talking kids in particular.

It's pretty rare those superstars are so obliging. I heard many stories about James Hird who was never so good with Essendon fans who wanted his autograph. Never had the time for them which is a shame for Bombers fans back in his playing days.

Also Eddie Mcguire is excellent with all fans. Takes an interest in you and makes you feel like the most important person there. One of the better people you can meet in person.

Nice one Hagla. Don't feel bad I've bumped into a few over the years & nearly always embarass myself.

Came across Burnsey in Dublin in '97 while backpacking, yelled a sucky 'g'day' to my one time idol Daics in Oakleigh, he didn't look too impressed, used to live outisde Vic Park in those apartments they built for a couple of years and would often see players. Some mornings on my way out the door to work would run into Mick parking his black Beamer in front of my flat. He was always very friendly.

Pete McKenna and Tuddy at a book launch. Terrific blokes, really funny and good natured. The older players often are less guarded.

Harry O'Brien came round to our house and played with my kids (through a mutual friend).

I also stood behind Beamsey at the chemist one night. The pharmacist didn't know him and was asking him for some identification for something. I imagined myself stepping in and saying "Sir, I can vouch for this young man's identity, he is none other than Collingwood half-forward flanker Dayne Beams. A quick inspection of his right arm will confirm my assertion. Shame on you sir. He is a nominated Rising Star of Norwich, his numbers are sublime and he plays for Collingwood. Good God man, what planet do you live on?"

Bumped into Fraser, Lonie and a few players around 10 years ago at a pub in Ballarat. Talked to them for a bit but left them to their own devices.

One of the best nights was on the Gold Coast also around 10 years back in the off-season when my mates and I bumped into Shane Crawford and Rayden Tallis at Shooters nightclub. Top blokes, ended up drinking with them the whole night and had a ball. Also tagged along as a Hawthorn "rookie player" which paid dividends for me. :D

Nathan Buckley has always been very obliging when it comes to the fans. Always happy to sign an autograph and great with the kids. Very easy to talk to and loves talking kids in particular.

It's pretty rare those superstars are so obliging. I heard many stories about James Hird who was never so good with Essendon fans who wanted his autograph. Never had the time for them which is a shame for Bombers fans back in his playing days.

Also Eddie Mcguire is excellent with all fans. Takes an interest in you and makes you feel like the most important person there. One of the better people you can meet in person.

Could not agree more. Buck's is completely professional and responsible with fans. He always gives his time, is always polite and respectful and just exhausts himself meeting their needs. I've seen him do this 2 or 3 times. One of the most admirable and exemplary footballers of the current era. The other one I would put on the same pedestal is Drew Petrie (though not a Pie) absolutely first rate bloke.

I met the players from the '70's on the ground when you could get on the ground. They were all fantastic, but it was much more a working man's game then.

I live near Mick and Nanette Malthouse, and see them often. In the week before the first (drawn) Grand Final in 2010, I opened my door to go to work one morning, and Mick was walking past. He glanced at my verandah, which was decorated with a Pies garden gnome and a Pies scarf, and he smiled. I nearly died of happiness, which is an indication of how pathetic I am. I also took it as an omen for the flag that year (but I'll take pretty much anything as an omen). Now, when I see him, I feel nauseous. I have never spoken to him, and prefer to leave public figures alone, even when they are gods (i.e. Collingwood footballers).

The Depot in Richmond which is now called the Precinct was the place I ran into a lot of players , it was after the black and white ball , they played at VicPark that day ( one of the last games there ) Bucks was a top bloke , had a genuine interest in what I did for a living and how I was traveling in life , at the end of the night he called me out from the other side of the pub to say catch ya later have a good one , that did a lot for me . Anyway that same night Paul Williams was a rude prick and Gavin Crosisca bought me and my mates a few rounds , top bloke .

I met the players from the '70's on the ground when you could get on the ground. They were all fantastic, but it was much more a working man's game then.
My old man used to tell me you'd have a beer with the players in the social club after games , how times have changed.

The Depot in Richmond which is now called the Precinct was the place I ran into a lot of players , it was after the black and white ball , they played at VicPark that day ( one of the last games there ) Bucks was a top bloke , had a genuine interest in what I did for a living and how I was traveling in life , at the end of the night he called me out from the other side of the pub to say catch ya later have a good one , that did a lot for me . Anyway that same night Paul Williams was a rude prick and Gavin Crosisca bought me and my mates a few rounds , top bloke .

Yes! My brother and I spoke with 'Cisca' at Vic Park in the early 90's, really nice fella to us as well. Sorry to hear about the trials he's had. Sort of interesting to compare notes. Also a lot of older Pies and my Mum tell me about that era when you could have a drink with players in the Social Club. Would have been a great atmosphere that's for sure. I was in the SC during the time just before and after they moved to the MCG. They were keeping most of the players under wraps by then but it was still a great vibe in the bar after games. It had a bit of that local footy club feeling that has really gone missing in the corporate era. Used to love it.

View attachment 8542

Ran into a few of the boys at a club in park city last night. Beams, swan, Sidey, Clarke, Jolly and Hudson were all there. Swanny was exactly how he comes across in the media, shy and quiet but the rest were all willing to have a chat and were a lot of fun. Jolly is one of the nicest guys I've met. It might be because we are in the US and no one knows who they are but they just came across as normal good guys!

Seems theres more to this story than your letting on o_O:p

utahg.jpg

Gold C4E... i might be the couple of homebrews i've had tobight, but you had me for a few seconfds then

My old man used to tell me you'd have a beer with the players in the social club after games , how times have changed.
Shit yeah Snake, in the 30's and 40's some of the players used to work in the local shoe factories in Abbottsford and Clifton Hill in the morning before playing footy in the arvo, then after the game slope of down to the local and sink the odd few lagers lol.

Things have just got gradually more 'professional' as the decades have passed, now of course we aren't allowed anywhere near our boys at the game and I think the game is a little poorer because of it, but hell you can't imagine any of the players off the 60's or 70's even attempting some of the physical feats or the skilful feats today's players are capable of.

That's the price we pay for our modern super athletes - they are elite and treated as such.

I do regret my son and his children will never experience the thrill of rubbing shoulders with the players ON THEIR HOME TURF as I did but times have changed and our boys do us proud nevertheless.

I have met a few collingwood players / staff over the years:

Eddie: I ended up fixing his hands free kit for his Nokia mobile, in turn he invited me to his office in Richmond and gave me tickets to Richmond v Pies game and took me on a 15 mins.tour of channel 9.
Crossica: not a good bloke, was pissed pies let him go.

Gavin Brown: Sold him a juicer for his young bloke, whom he rates as a potential FSON

Ran into the whole team in Qantas Club after the 2008 Port Game in Adelaide. Spoke to Toovey a bit, he was really down on his performance (this was the time he really was the whipping boy by some supposed Collingwood supporters) am always happy to see the bloke do well, he was a nice guy to talk to

When the Pies were at the Sunny Coast in Qld in 2004, ran into Tarkyn Lockyer. Luckily had my Burley ball with me and asked him to sign it. He was like "Sure thing mate. Where do you want me to sign it? Here? Ok, nice to see someone have a burley, good Western Australian ball." A bit of a gentleman I think, really nice guy. Also met Bucks that week, but was loss for words (as you don't get to see the Pies in Qld much, let alone at the Sunshine Coast). Must have thought I was an idiot ahaha. He signed the ball and made a bit of convo, like we were good mates, really nice guy!! Still got that ball mounted on my bookcase.

What an hilarious thread, some great stories and good to know I'm not the only one who has lost their shit speaking to a Pie.

Billy Picken: My mum states he chatted her up at the German butchers on Mountain Hwy, Bayswater. Good source.

Harry O'Brien: My ex works for a charitable foundation (Wheeler Foundation) and they used to give money to the Burnett Institute which Harry was an ambassador for. I absolutely shat my dacks about meeting him, but a bloke called Mike Toole literally dragged me across the floor, in full and embarrassing view of Harold, toward him to meet him. I then proceeded to speak some shit for several minutes. None of which I remember. PTSD.

Shane Obree: Saw him walking down Brunswick Street one Saturday night when going to meet a mate at a pub. Twitch fibres were as far as I got.

Paul Licuria: Well, it was family day, but when I went to take a picture with my eldest daughter, she freaked out and started blubbering. But like the prince he is, he was very accommodating. I bring this up mainly because I saw in Lica the true Pie spirit that day. People swarming around for his signature and there was one woman who might have been the butt of many a peoples joke, but was treated with the dignity she and every person deserves. He took the time not only to give a signature, but to ask how she was etc. Like I said, the man's a prince.

Nathan Buckley: Me, Quicky and Shawthing09 were at the Westpac Centre one day chewing some fat when Bucks wondered by. He looked at us in a benevolent light.

Case closed.

Nick Maxwell: I write for him and on meeting him he puts you right at ease, which is why he's el capitan. A very organised cat who is very personable. Full of good gossip which I unfortunately cannot disclose to you upon pain of death.

Oh, and when I was working at a furnintue factory, Gary Moorcroft came in to get a cubby. He was a bit of a wankbag.