Roast What has happened to our list?

I think our list is ok, we're having alot of injuries to our quicker players which isnt helping the situation.
I think we need to play the better kids abit more to get them up to speed quicker, even if we lose a few more games during the year, we can see now after 2 finals appearances we need abit more class to go any further anyway.

Our list and our year....

Development 9: Lennon, CEllis, Drummond, Menadue, Butler, McKenzie, Short, Castagna, Soldo. 3 selections of 45...<1/9

Expected 7: Griffiths, Astbury, Miles, BEllis, Conca, Vlastuin, McIntosh. 26 selections of 35...5 of 7

Core 8: Cotchin, Delidio, Martin, Edwards, Rance, Reiwoldt, Houli, Grigg. 35 selections of 40...7 of 8

Core But Slowing 3: Maric, Chaplin, Foley. 9 selections of 15...2 of 3

Big Doubts 5: Vickery, Elton, Arnot, McBean, McDonough. 3 selections of 25...<1 of 5

Journeyman 13: Newman, Petterd, Lambert, Knights, Dea, Thomas, Lloyd, Gordon, Hampson, Hunt, Morris, Grimes, Batchelor. 34 selections of 65...7 of 13.

So Lids, Axel, Conca & Astbury would have meant 4 from the 7 journeymen would have not played. However Axel may always be broke, Lids needs management. The Big Doubt 5 has produced bugger all...lol hence big doubt.

Consistently too many journeymen per game. 21 guys playing for their careers over the next 3 years.

I've lost a lot of confidence in our list, I thought it was better than it actually is... based on how we've performed this year.

I think our list development has plateaued rather than stalled.
We were always going to hit a dead patch in terms of team development given the need to draft in middling types to cover the massive role and experience gaps that Dimma inherited in 2010.
I'm expecting us to slip on the ladder this year and next.
Whether we recover our momentum will depend on a variety of factors.
But if Jackson, Hartley and the player development team do their job properly we are a chance to re-emerge as a real threat about 2017.

and he turns into the next Jay Schulz :drunk:
So be it, if we get a Bennell, Matera or McKenzie type in return. Griffiths, McBean still have plenty of improvement in them.

I think the main reason is the lack of quality assistant and development coaches. Get some renowned names (ex gun players would be a start) in and i reckon we would click and develop our draftees for once.

A good start would be to start bringing back richmond people back to the club. I look around and can't see many if any in the coaches boxes so on apart from the water guys and girls And big bad benny.

We've had some sort of fascination with Port coaches and players. Not saying this is such a bad thing but I agree that we need some more Richmond people around. Start with knights.

What has happened top our list?

The same thing that happened under Wallace. 5 year rebuilds dont work.

Supporters buy into the myth that a team needs 5 years to develop and not to expect many wins in the first 3 years. Then when the pressure in on to win games and finals in Years 4 and 5 the team completely folds.

What has happened top our list?

The same thing that happened under Wallace. 5 year rebuilds dont work.

Supporters buy into the myth that a team needs 5 years to develop and not to expect many wins in the first 3 years. Then when the pressure in on to win games and finals in Years 4 and 5 the team completely folds.

Ha ha, your a campaigner!!!;)

We have to have a rebuild to compare rebuilds and we never have had one!!:p

I wouldn't compare this to Wallace.

This is down the track of Frawley with recycle heaven again playing musical chairs.:(:$:mad:

Ha ha, your a campaigner!!!;)

We have to have a rebuild to compare rebuilds and we never have had one!!:p

I wouldn't compare this to Wallace.

This is down the track of Frawley with recycle heaven again playing musical chairs.:(:$:mad:
Agree mate e felt this has taken longer with not even a final win. They just can't see it. Copy what Stkilda did in 01 and now. They may not win it but they will get close. No short cuts. DH BH and Casino are hacks

What do you mean by the private school thing with draftees?

Do you think there is a unnerving bias there like a union boys club mentality interfering with merit?

What do you mean by the private school thing with draftees?

Do you think there is a unnerving bias there like a union boys club mentality interfering with merit?
No guy in our club seems to want to get their hands dirty in stevie I or Bennell types.
How many indigenous kids have we picked up under DH
Seems all clinical to me

No guy in our club seems to want to get their hands dirty in stevie I or Bennell types.
How many indigenous kids have we picked up under DH
Seems all clinical to me

Indigenuous part is a little different. Effective indigenous players typically have niche roles. I would not read to much into that. When Maurice Junior comes along I assume he will be an automatic selection for example.

What is a Stevie I type??

I think some of our guys can do the grunt but I thought you mean't there was an elite private school bias like what you had in Indian cricket at some stage I think or the Rugby union boys possibly over the ages meaning players were not as competitive as they could be.

Indigenuous part is a little different. Effective indigenous players typically have niche roles. I would not read to much into that. When Maurice Junior comes along I assume he will be an automatic selection for example.

What is a Stevie I type??

I think some of our guys can do the grunt but I thought you mean't there was an elite private school bias like what you had in Indian cricket at some stage I think or the Rugby union boys possibly over the ages meaning players were not as competitive as they could be.
Stevie j sorry mate I'm not really coordinated at the moment. The club player recruiting has been looking at guys with similar traits
I went to the pub at half time and had a chat with a few old west Coburg boys and this was the topic being discussed
Too many clean skins and no rough heads
Tucks kingy or Jacko types
Look at CHaplin mate he's a puppet that speaks well , points his finger a lot , but inspires none

Stevie j sorry mate I'm not really coordinated at the moment. The club player recruiting has been looking at guys with similar traits
I went to the pub at half time and had a chat with a few old west Coburg boys and this was the topic being discussed
Too many clean skins and no rough heads
Tucks kingy or Jacko types
Look at CHaplin mate he's a puppet that speaks well , points his finger a lot , but inspires none

Yeah, they seem to fuss over wan...y topics unrelated to footy on the field.

I agree with that:thumbsu:

They seem to take the mind off the ball and not focus on the football played on the field when recruiting!!

Is that because we may have off field staff that cannot relate to/manage real men that get the job done?

Cockatoo went before our pick and despite a few highlights has proven **** all so far. Compare that to the two guys we wanted in Duggan and Ellis and they are outperforming him considerably. Although it is too early to make any serious judgements, just merely pointing out that Cockatoo isn't worth the hype at present.

Garlett isn't a difference maker and whilst a significant upgrade on our current ready made options, he is not a long term option and we should be targeting players in the draft with Micheal Walters potential.

For what's its worth I think Jayden Short has a very good chance of being our option long term.